Library Catalog
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
Book Search Tips
A quick introduction to finding books at UCLA and other UC campuses using UC Library Search:
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
This quick tutorial and the accompanying handout (PDF) offer step-by-step instructions for finding and accessing thousands of e-Books.
The Library's online subscription resources can always be accessed from computers and wireless networks on campus. However, off-campus access is restricted to current UCLA, students, faculty, and staff who have set up their computer using one of the following methods.
VPN on Mac with Natalie
"I chose VPN for my mac because I need to be able to access the full text of articles on different browsers." - Natalie, Environmental ScienceDownload a UCLA VPN
VPN on Windows with Michael
"I chose VPN because I like the security it provides and the control it gives me as a user to manually enable or disable it when I'm browsing online." - Michael, Public AffairsDownload a UCLA VPN
Additional Platforms
For more information:
- Bruin OnLine Proxy ServerA browser setting which will automatically divert you to a UCLA logon page when you first access a restricted site.
- Virtual Private Networking (VPN)A program you can download and install, or use the built-in version on many computers or mobile devices. VPN software must be logged on manually before you access a restricted site, but works for all programs on your computer.
E-book Collections
Search for "Computer Science" e-Books available through UCLA Library.
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A repository of fully searchable engineering content. Includes the latest editions of classics such as Marks; Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Roark Formulas for Stress and Strain, and many more.
- ACM BooksACM Books is a new series of books being published for the computer science community, managed by an editorial board that represents all major subject areas of computer science.
- Cambridge eBooks
- This link opens in a new window
This collection includes most science and engineering titles from 2014 to present. - Elsevier (ScienceDirect) eBooks 2013-present
- This link opens in a new window
This collection covers science, technology, and health sciences disciplines (excluding specialty medical titles). After searching, limit to Book Chapters. - IEEE-Wiley E-Books 1974-2010
- This link opens in a new window
(Use Wiley Online Library for 2011-present IEEE-Wiley books.)
IEEE Xplore E-books provides Web access to more than over 1,000 E-books from the fields of electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. Individual chapters can be downloaded as a PDF. - IET eBooks (2010-2013)IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) books cover engineering and technology. The available series are: Circuits, devices and systems; Control engineering; Electrical technology; Electromagnetic waves; History of technology; Management of technology; Manufacturing; Power and energy; Professional applications of computing; Radar, sonar, navigation and avionics; Renewable energy; Telecommunications
- MIT Press eBooks Library: The Computing & Engineering CollectionThe collection includes more than 450 titles from 1943 to the present in the fields of computer science and engineering technologies, including artificial intelligence, information theory, computer programming, information technology, and electrical engineering.
- O'Reilly for Higher Education (OHE)Programming and information technology e-books, many up-to-date titles.
- Springer E-books 2005-present
- This link opens in a new window
Nearly every Springer e-book (~120,000 titles) published in English and German from 2005 to present, across many disciplines. - Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer ScienceContains many 50- to 100-page "Lectures", or self-contained e-books that synthesize a research or development topic, authored by an expert.
- Taylor & Francis E-books This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
E-books from Routledge, Psychology Press, and Focal Press, mostly in the humanities, social sciences, and behavioral sciences. UCLA subscribes to only a small number of the available titles. Also includes the scientific, technical, and medical reference books formerly contained in CRCnetBASE. UCLA subscribes to only a small number of titles beyond the former CRC collection.
- Wiley E-books 2011-presentIncludes 2011-present IEEE-Wiley books.
Reference Sources
- A Dictionary of ComputingCovers computer terms in industry, school, work, education, and the home, including the Internet, multimedia, networks and databases, and security subjects.
- AccessScience This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full access to thousands of articles, dictionary terms, illustrations and graphics, bibliographies containing literature citations, and hundreds of Research Updates in all areas of science and technology. Updated daily. Also includes biographies of more than 2,000 well-known scientists from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography. Includes the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.
- Dictionary of Computer Science, Engineering, and TechnologyA complete lexicon of technical information, the Dictionary of Computer Science, Engineering, and Technology provides workable definitions, practical information, and enhances general computer science and engineering literacy. It spans various disciplines and industry sectors such as: telecommunications, information theory, and software and hardware systems.
- Digital Library of Mathematical FunctionsDigital handbook of mathematical functions with formulas, graphs, and mathematical tables. Managed by the National Institute of Standards and Technology.
- Encyclopedia of Algorithms
- This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopedia of Algorithms provides a comprehensive set of solutions to important algorithmic problems for students and researchers, including high-impact solutions from the most recent decade.