Skip to main content

Contemporary Arts of Africa

This guide provides an overview of research strategies to help find information on contemporary African art and artists.

New Books: Art, Art History, and Photography

Loading ...

Visual Arts Librarian

Robert Gore's picture
Robert Gore
Contact:
(310) 206-5426

Access to Print Resources (as of 3/20/20)

 

As part of UCLA's transition to remote instruction, and the Library's necessary decision to close all Library locations, access to print resources and special collections is not available. Please take advantage of electronic resources such as ebooks and article databases. The UCLA community can connect to these online resources off-campus via the VPN or proxy server. Interlibrary loan is still available for electronic journal articles; however, ebooks cannot be borrowed on interlibrary loan. You can also temporarily access digitized print books via HathiTrust, although you cannot download or print these books--only do screenshots.

The library is also extending access to our print collection beyond what's available in HathiTrust through the Pilot Emergency Temporary Digititzation on Request Service (PETDOR). Please review the PETDOR FAQ for guidance on using this service. 

For help with any of our resources, please schedule an appointment with a librarian (audio/video Zoom appointments available), contact your subject librarian directly, or use our 24/7 chat service.    

    

Finding Books

There are a number of library catalogs available to UCLA researchers. The best place to start is with the UCLA Library catalog.

If you would like to find a survey or exhibition catalog on an individual country, you can search the library catalog by selecting the basic search option. Once you have the basic search screen in front of you, click on the dropdown box where you see the word keyword and select the "Subject List" option.

You can search countries by using examples like these:

art ghanaian

art south african

art surinamese

or, if you want to see if we have an exhibition catalog that covers the work of a particular artist, type in the artist's last name and first name:

e.g. Shonibare Yinka

Once you find a book you want to look at, note down the call number and go to look for it in the book stacks. This is what a call number looks like:
N 6498 I56 L66 2010.

If you are uncertain as to which floor the book is on, ask someone at the reference or circulation desk for help. 

If you are interested in browsing the shelves, the section between N 7380 and N 7399 includes many books that survey contemporary art in Africa. This section is on the 5th floor. The same section on the 2nd floor contains oversize books (large exhibition catalogs, etc.).

Connect from Off-Campus

UCLA students, faculty, and staff can access Library subscription databases from off-campus using either of the following options.

Connecting from Off-Campus: VPN & Proxy Tutorials

The Library's online subscription resources can always be accessed from computers and wireless networks on campus. However, off-campus access is restricted to current UCLA, students, faculty, and staff who have set up their computer using one of the methods below. Click on the other tabs to see how four Bruins got their computers set up and ready to go for remote access!

VPN on Mac with Natalie
"I chose VPN for my mac because I need to be able to access the full text of articles on different browsers." - Natalie, Environmental Science
Download a UCLA VPN
VPN on Windows with Michael
"I chose VPN because I like the security it provides and the control it gives me as a user to manually enable or disable it when I'm browsing online." - Michael, Public Affairs
Download a UCLA VPN
Proxy on Mac with Kate
"I chose Proxy because I prefer logging in through a web browser without having to download any software on my computer." - Kate, Ethnic Studies
Proxy Server
Proxy on Windows
Coming soon!