Databases
These databases are good places to start searching for articles and reference sources. Keep in mind, however, that they are a small fraction of all available databases. A full list of databases provided by UCLA can be found here.
All of these are subscription resources from the Library, so you will need to make sure your computer is configured for off-campus access if you are researching from home.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. - American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Published between 1741 and 1900, these periodicals include special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children and women magazines, and many other historically significant periodicals. - Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of more than 600 journals and 220 books on "a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design." It wholly incorporates and significantly expands on the coverage and contents of the Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases. Indexes illustrations. Coverage: late 1920s-present. - Associated Press Collections Online (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized archives of the Associated Press, including news features, internal communications, U.S. City bureaus, Middle East and European bureaus, and some images. - Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
From the Confidential Print series, issued by the British government's Foreign and Colonial Offices since c. 1820, This collection consists of the Confidential Print for the countries of the Levant and the Arabian peninsula, Iran, Turkey, Egypt and Sudan. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts for articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life) published since 1955. - Human Rights Studies Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. Includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types. Topics include Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books. - Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Spans 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias. UC subscription allows limited simultaneous users, so if you can't connect try again later. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles. - ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to doctoral dissertations from 1637 to the present, with abstracts since 1980. A number of master's theses are also indexed, with abstracts since 1988. Many are available for download in pdf format. UCLA has access to all full text dissertations in the database. Non-UCLA users may use Dissertations Express to purchase digital or print copies of individual dissertations. - Universal Database of Central Asia and Caucasus (UDB-CAC) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals and newspapers from former Soviet republics. The database consists of titles from Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tadjikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan. - Turkey: Records of the U.S. Department of State 1802-1949 (Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Modern Turkey, from its late Ottoman roots in the early 19th-century to its emergence as a republic following the First World War, is traced here. Correspondences from U.S. Consults in Alexandretta, Ezerum, Harput, Siva, and Smyrna are included. This archive is sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State. - Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international literature in political science, international relations, law, and public policy.
Interlibrary loan
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
UC Library Search can also be used to request materials from other libraries. The interlibrary loan service enables UC students, faculty, and staff to borrow materials not available in UCLA libraries. You don't have to specify a location, UCLA will automatically search for availability in other libraries, both in this country and abroad. More information on Interlibrary Loans can be found here.
Book collections
These collections represent endowments or donations by individuals. For more information on searching with SPAC codes, see Finding library and special collections materials in the Using the Library section.
Armenian books from the estate of Lucina Agbabian Hubbard
These books can be located through the library catalog by doing an advanced search with the following Special Collections and Archives Code (SPAC): AGBABIAN
Friends of UCLA Armenian Language and Culture Studies Collection Endowment
The Friends of UCLA Armenian Language and Culture Studies Collection Endowment was established to support the acquisition, preservation, and processing of materials related to Armenian language and culture in the UCLA Library.
These books can be located through the library catalog by doing an advanced search with the following Special Collections and Archives Code (SPAC): FUA
Khantamour Collection
These books can be located through the library catalog by doing an advanced search with the following Special Collections and Archives Code (SPAC): KHN
Mardiros Koushakian Collection
These books can be located through the library catalog by doing an advanced search with the following Special Collections and Archives Code (SPAC): KOUSH
Periodicals
The UCLA Library provides access to dozens of print and online journals, magazines, newspapers, and other periodicals about Armenia and Armenian topics. Start by searching for "Armenia", "Armenian", or related keywords under Journal Title in the library catalog.
Here are a few examples:
AGBU (Armenian General Benevolent Union)
AIM: Armenian International Magazine
E-books
- Internet Archive: eBooks and TextsScanned public domain books from numerous research libraries, including some from the UC system.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A repository of scanned books contributed from academic institutions across the United States, including UCLA. Books still in copyright are scanned and searchable, but the full text scans will not become available online until their copyright expires.
Bibliographies
Bibliographies are lists of the books of a specific author or publisher, or on a specific subject. Most of these bibliographies are freely accessible, but some will require a UCLA login.
Catalogs of Armenian manuscripts
Below is a short list of print catalogs and indexes of Armenian manuscripts at various institutions around the world. All of these titles are held by the UCLA Library and can be searched through the library catalog.
Adjarian, Hratchia. Catalog der armenischen handschriften in der bibliothek des Sanassarian-institutes zu Erzerum.
Adjarian, Hratchia. Katalog der armenischen handschriften in Täbris.
Avedikian, Father Paren. An Armenian treasury in Michigan : exhibition catalogue.
Baronian, Sukias and F. C. Conybeare. Catalogue of the Armenian manuscripts in the Bodleian Library.
Clark, Kenneth Willis. Checklist of manuscripts in the libraries of the Greek and Armenian Patriarchates in Jerusalem.
Conybeare, Frederick Cornwallis. A catalogue of the Armenian manuscripts in the British museum.
Cowe, S. Peter. Catalogue of the Armenian manuscripts in the Cambridge University Library.
Der Nersessian, Sirarpie. Armenian manuscripts in the Walters Art Gallery.
Der Nersessian, Sirarpie. Armenian Manuscripts in the Freer Gallery of Art.
Der Nersessian, Sirarpie and Arpag Mekhitarian. Armenian miniatures from Isfahan.
Der Nersessian, Sirarpie. The Chester Beatty library : a catalogue of the Armenian manuscripts.
Eganyan, Kazmetsin O. et al. Tsʻutsʻak dzeṛagratsʻ Mashtotsʻi anvan Matenadarani.
Kévorkian, Raymond H. and Armèn Ter-Stépanian. Manuscrits arméniens de la Bibliothèque nationale de France.
Oskean, H. Hamazasp. Tsʻutsʻak hayerēn dzeṛagratsʻ Mkhitʻarean Matenadaranin i Vienna.
Sanjian, Avedis K. A catalogue of medieval Armenian manuscripts in the United States.
Sanjian, Avedis K. Medieval Armenian Manuscripts at the University of California, Los Angeles.