Paula Vogel

Print edition

Contains a copy of The Baltimore Waltz.

Set on a chilly Christmas Eve during the latter days of the Civil War, Paula Vogel's pageant play for all seasons weaves a tapestry of both fictional and historical characters, such as President and Mrs. Lincoln--together with holiday music, hymns and spirituals of the period--to tell a story of companionship and communal hope arising from one of our nation's darkest hours. This volume also features a conversation between the author and the noted historian Doris Kearns Goodwin.

Desdemona is included in this collected volume.

Contains a copy of Desdemona, by Paula Vogel.

Contains a complete copy of Desdemona, by Paula Vogel.

Contains a copy of Desdemona, by Paula Vogel.

A Marine returns home from war and discovers that his lover is missing. Searching for her, he embarks on a surrealistic tour through the streets and history of Philadelphia. By corrupting linear time and blending scenes between settings, Don Juan Comes Home from Iraq not only challenges perceptions of reality, but also perceptions of individual morality and of war itself. Paula Vogel based her searing new drama on Odon von Horvath's 1936 play Don Juan Comes Back from the War, and developed it through extensive collaboration with the director and actors of the original production, as well as years of conversation and writing workshops with recent military veterans.

Take Charlene, a suburban mother who writes erotic screenplays for women in order to support her children; add Clyde, her funny, dangerously obsessive and estranged husband; toss in hormonally overcharged teenagers; and layer it all with a screenplay on a deadline that Charlene desperately tries to write.

Hot 'N' Throbbing is included in this collected volume.

Winner of the Pulitzer Prize for Drama, Paula Vogel's How I Learned to Drive is widely recognized as a masterpiece of contemporary drama. It is published here for the first time as a stand-alone edition.

Print edition. The Mammary Plays are mirror-image investigations of coming of age in the '60s: How I Learned To Drive, a deceptively delicate tale of sexual awakening in desperate if not criminal circumstances, and The Mineola Twins, an outrageous political satire. Both plays are receiving multiple productions throughout the U.S., and How I Learned To Drive, one of the most acclaimed plays of 1997, has won 13 major awards, including the Pulitzer Prize, Obies, Lucille Lortel, Drama Desk, NY Drama Critics Circle and Outer Critics Circle awards and the coveted Susan Smith Blackburn Prize.

When Sholem Asch wrote God of Vengeance in 1907, he didn't imagine the height of controversy the play would eventually reach. Performing at first in Yiddish and German, the play's subject matter wasn't deemed contentious until it was produced in English, when the American audiences were scandalized by the onstage depiction of an amorous affair between two women. Paula Vogel's newest work traces the trajectory of the show's success through its tour in Europe to its abrupt and explosive demise on Broadway in 1923--including the arrest of the entire production''s cast and crew. Content: Holocaust/Shoah, violence

When Sholem Asch wrote God of Vengeance in 1907, he didn't imagine the height of controversy the play would eventually reach. Performing at first in Yiddish and German, the play's subject matter wasn't deemed contentious until it was produced in English, when the American audiences were scandalized by the onstage depiction of an amorous affair between two women. Paula Vogel's newest work traces the trajectory of the show's success through its tour in Europe to its abrupt and explosive demise on Broadway in 1923.

Print edition. Past and present collide on a snowy Christmas Eve for a troubled family of five. Humorous and heart-wrenching, this beautifully written play proves that magic can be found in the simplest breaths of life. Combining the elements of No theatre and Bunraku with contemporary Western sensibilities, Vogel's Ride is a mesmerizing homage to the works of Thornton Wilder, including Our Town. A moving and memorable study of the American family careening near the edge of oblivion.

3m, 2f / Based on the life of Margaret More Roper. The political and ruthless male hierarchies of Henry VIII and the Church are offstage forces imprisoning Meg, a unique woman isolated from her time and environment through the gift and curse of her developed intellect.

Myrna and Myra, almost identical twins, battle each other through the Eisenhower, Nixon and Reagan/Bush years over virginity, Vietnam and Family Values.

Print edition. The Mammary Plays are mirror-image investigations of coming of age in the '60s: How I Learned To Drive, a deceptively delicate tale of sexual awakening in desperate if not criminal circumstances, and The Mineola Twins, an outrageous political satire. Both plays are receiving multiple productions throughout the U.S., and How I Learned To Drive, one of the most acclaimed plays of 1997, has won 13 major awards, including the Pulitzer Prize, Obies, Lucille Lortel, Drama Desk, NY Drama Critics Circle and Outer Critics Circle awards and the coveted Susan Smith Blackburn Prize.

The Oldest Profession is included in this edited volume.

Contains monologue from Don Juan Comes Home From Iraq.

Contains a monologue from Mineola Twins.

Contains monologue from The Baltimore Waltz.

Contains a selection from The Baltimore Waltz.

Contains a monologue from How I Learned to Drive.