Top Picks
Here are some of the most used resources for questions related to population medicine, care delivery systems, and policy/ethics/legal topics.
- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)Web portal for links to U.S. Department of Health and Human Services evidence based practice.
- CDC Data and Statistics (Epidemiology-focused)A centralized place for various CDC statistics databases organized by topics, tools, and resources.
- CDC WONDERWONDER online databases utilize a rich ad-hoc query system for the analysis of public health data.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowBiomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Population Medicine
- CDC Data and Statistics (Epidemiology-focused)A centralized place for various CDC statistics databases organized by topics, tools, and resources.
- CDC WONDERWONDER online databases utilize a rich ad-hoc query system for the analysis of public health data.
- GIDEON - Global Infectious Disease and Epidemiology Network This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Information about tropical and infectious diseases, epidemiology, microbiology and antimicrobial chemotherapy.
- Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)MMWR is the CDC's primary vehicle for scientific publication of timely, authoritative, accurate, and useful public health information.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowFind journal articles relating to population medicine using keyword searching within PubMed.
- WHO's Health TopicsGlobal health topics from the World Health Organization.
Care Delivery Systems
- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)Web portal for links to U.S. Department of Health and Human Services evidence based practice.
- California Health Care AlmanacInformation on health care costs, coverage, quality, and delivery supports effective decision-making. The Almanac provides data and analysis on California's health care system.
- CDC WONDERWONDER online databases utilize a rich ad-hoc query system for the analysis of public health data.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of six databases designed to inform healthcare decision-making: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA), and NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED). It is an important resource for systematic reviews. - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Lay press such as The New York Times and other newspapers/periodicals.
- Health Services/Technology Assessment Texts (HSTAT)Evidence reports, protocols, preventive medicine, consensus reports, and methods curated by the National Library of Medicine.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowFind journal articles relating to care delivery systems using keyword searching within PubMed.
- Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Research focused on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Resources from Healthcare Foundations
These foundations focus upon providing information and resources related to the betterment of healthcare: Commonwealth Fund, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF), California Health Care Foundation, and Kaiser Family Foundation.
Policy, Ethics, Legal
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Lay press such as The New York Times and other newspapers/periodicals.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Research in the social and behavioral sciences from journals, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
News (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Psychological, social, behavioral, and health research in journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and dissertations. - PubMed This link opens in a new windowYou can search for articles related to your questions. There is a subject filter called "bioethics" - you must add the subject filter by clicking "Show additional filters" and then choose "Bioethics."