Skip to Main Content

Sheet Music Consortium Guide

A guide to the use of the Sheet Music Consortium

Quick Links

About the UCLA Library
Appropriate Use of Licensed Electronic Resources
Connect from Off-Campus (VPN or Proxy Server)
UCLA Library Course Reserves
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Instructions for making an interlibrary loan request for materials not located at UCLA.
Research Help
Suggest a Purchase

Matthew Vest

Email Me

Subjects: Music & Dance

Bibliography

2018

Hawkins, Donald T. "Don's Conference Notes -- The Impact of Open Access Models: An NFAIS Workshop." Against the Grain 28, no. 1 (2018). https://doi.org/10.7771/2380-176X.7289.
Sauceda, Jonathan. "Arranging "The Library of Babel": Special Collections, Undergraduate Research and Librarian Engagement." Portal: Libraries and the Academy 18, no. 2 (April 2018): 391-408.

2017

Mathieu, Jane. "Midtown, 1906: The Case for an Alternative Tin Pan Alley." American Music 35, no. 2 (2017): 197-236.
O'Leary James and Danielle Ward-Griffin. "Digging in Your Own Backyard: Archives in the Music History Classroom." Journal of Music History Pedagogy 7, no. 2 (2017): 1-18. http://www.ams-net.org/ojs/index.php/jmhp/article/view/199.
Turner, Kristen M. "Review: Historic American Sheet Music." Journal of the American Musicological Society 70, no. 2 (Summer 2017): 565-575. https://doi.org/10.1525/jams.2017.70.2.565.
Urberg, Michelle. "Pasts and Futures of Digital Humanities in Musicology: Moving Towards a “Bigger Tent”." Music Reference Services Quarterly 20, no. 3-4 (2017): 134-150.

2016

2014

Coates, Midge. "Because You’re You: factors influencing item selection in a digital sheet music collection." The Electronic Library 32, no. 6 (2014): 884-897. https://doi.org/10.1108/EL-09-2012-0116.
Doi, Carolyn. "The White Sheet Music Collection and the International Music Score Library Project: Session F Report from CAML 2014." CAML Review/Revue de l'ACBM 42, no. 2 (2014).
Hughes, Brianna. "Digitizing the Joseph M. Bruccoli Great War Sheet Music Collection." CONTENTdm Users Group Meeting, Paper 10 (May 2014). https://scholarcommons.sc.edu/cdmusers/cdmusersMay2014/May2014/10.
Jin, Sunyoung. "Evaluating Existing Digital Libraries as a prototype with the Suggested Criteria: Content, Usability, and Performance Evaluation Criteria." (2014).
Ward, Jennifer A. "American Musical Settings of 'In Flanders Fields' and the Great War." Journal of Musicological Research 33, no. 1-3 (2014): 96-129.
Wills, Deborah. "From Open Access to Sheet Music: Selected Session Reports from Congress and CAML 2014." CAML Review/Revue de l'ACBM 42, no. 2 (2014).

2013

Bair, Sheila. "Linked Data - The Right Time?" Journal of Library Metadata 13 (2013): 75-79.
Davison, Stephen, Yukari Sugiyama, Elizabeth McAulay, and Claudia Horning. "Enhancing an OAI-PMH Service Using Linked Data: A Report from the Sheet Music Consortium." Journal of Library Metadata 13, no. 2-3 (2013): 141-162. https://doi.org/10.1080/

2012

Green, Alan, and Michael J. Duffy IV. Basic Music Reference: A Guide for Non-specialist Librarians, Library Assistants, and Student Employees. AR Editions, Inc., 2012.
VanderBerg, Robert. "Converging libraries, archives and museums: overcoming distinctions, but for what gain?" Archives and Manuscripts 40, no. 3, (2012): 136-146. https://doi.org/10.1080/01576895.2012.735826.

2011

2010

Dubnjakovic, Ana, and Patrick Tomlin. A Practical Guide to Electronic Resources in the Humanities. Elsevier, 2010.
Durman, Chris H.L. and Grover Baker. "Music Reference: Just the Basics." Tennessee Libraries 60, no. 3 (2010).

2009

Encelle, Benoit, Nadine Jessel, Josiane Mothe, Bachelin Ralalason and Javier Asensio. "BMML: Braille Music Markup Language." The Open Information Systems Journal 3 (2009): 123-135. https://hal.archives-ouvertes.fr/hal-01437643.
Ponte, Lucille. "Preserving Creativity from Endless Digital Exploitation: Has the Time Come for a New Concept of Copyright Dilution?" Boston University Journal of Science and Technology Law 15, no.1 (2009): 34-101.

2008

Bullen, Andrew H. "Bringing Sheet Music to Life: My Experience with OMR." Code4Lib 3, no. 6 (June 2008).
Marcum, Deanna B. "Response to On the record: report of the Library of Congress Working Group on the Future of Bibliographic Control." Library of Congress, (2008).
Schreibman, Susan, Jennifer O’Brien Roper, Gretchen Gueguen. "Cross-collection Searching: A Pandora's Box or the Holy Grail?" Literary and Linguistic Computing 23, no. 1 (April 2008): 13-25, https://doi.org/10.1093/llc/fqm039.

2007

2006

Brancolini, Kristine R., Stacy Kowalcyzk, Jenn Riley. "IN Harmony: Sheet Music from Indiana." First Monday 11, no. 8 (August 2006). https://doi.org/10.5210/fm.v11i8.1383
Mattison, David. "Music to soothe the savage searcher classical music databases and web resources." Searcher 14, no. 7 (2006).
Shreeves, Sarah L., Jenn Riley, and Liz Milewicz. "Moving towards shareable metadata" First Monday 11, no. 8 (2006).
Perrault, Anna H. "Digital Dilemmas: The Transformation of Scholarly Discourse in the Humanities." International Journal of the Humanities (2006): 1755. http://scholarcommons.usf.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1023&context=si_facpub.

2005

Shreeves, Sarah L., Thomas G. Habing, Kat Hagedorn, and Jeffery Young. "Current developments and future trends for the OAI Protocol for Metadata Harvesting." Library Trends 53, no. 4 (2005): 576-589. http://hdl.handle.net/2142/609.
Dougan, Kirstin. "Online Sheet Music Projects and Metadata from a Public Service Perspective." Music Reference Services Quarterly 9, no. 1 (October 2005): 1-11. https://doi.org/10.1300/J116v09n01_01.
Enger, Magnus. "The concept of 'overlay' in relation to the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH)." Master's Thesis, University of Tromsø, 2005.

2004

Cronin, Charles. "Virtual Music Scores, Copyright and the Promotion of a Marginalized Technology." The Columbia Journal of Law and the Arts 28, no. 1 (2004): 1-40. https://heinonline.org/HOL/Page?handle=hein.journals/cjla28&id=11&collection=journal
Holmes, Robyn, and Marie-Louise Ayres. "MusicAustralia: towards a national music information infrastructure." In ISMIR. (2004).
Lutz, Marilyn. "The Maine music box: a pilot project to create a digital music library." Library Hi Tech 22, no. 3 (2004): 283-294. https://doi.org/10.1108/07378830410560080.

2003

Brogan, Martha L. "A Survey of Digital Library Aggregation Services." Digital Library Federation (2003).
Davison, Stephen, Cynthia Requardt, and Kristine Brancolini. "A Specialized Open Archives Initiative Harvester for Sheet Music: A Project Report and Examination of Issues." in ISMIR (2003). http://jhir.library.jhu.edu/handle/1774.2/34
McRobbie, Michael A. "The Library and Education: Integrating Information Landscapes," In Emerging Visions for Access in the Twenty-first Century Library. (Washington, DC: Council on Library and Information Resources, 2003), 44-55.
Sampsel, Laurie. "The Hymn Tune Index, and: Hymntune Index and Related Hymn Materials." Notes. 59, no. 3 (2003): 713-715. https://doi.org/10.1353/not.2003.0035.

Last Updated: Oct 22, 2024 12:31 PM
URL: https://guides.library.ucla.edu/sheetmusicconsortium
Print Page

Subjects: Music & Dance