English Composition 131C: Medical Narratives

The California Adolescent Health Data Set is a collection of California‐wide and county‐specific data, from multiple sources, about the health status of adolescents. The compiled data is contained in a single Excel spreadsheet, making it easy to access data on over 50 adolescent health indicators, such as physical, sexual/reproductive, or mental health.

This is a brief fact sheet on children’s health offered by FastStats. For more in-depth health statistics, see the sections on “Summary Health Statistics for U.S. Children: National Health Interview Survey” and “America’s Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being 2001.”

Offered by the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics, this site provides demographic and health statistics on a national and international level.

A service of the Annie E. Casey Foundation, this site provides access to a number of different statistical sources. Try using the links for “More Data Books” and “More Census Products.”

Developed by the March of Dimes Perinatal Data Center, the PeriStats web site provides free access to U.S., state, county, and city maternal and infant health data. The site can be used to create graphs and maps, as well as to find quick facts and state summaries.

UNICEF measures the situation of children and women and tracks progress through data collection and analysis.

Developed by staff of the division of Health Promotion Statistics of the National Center for Health Statistics, it contains the most recent monitoring data for Tracking Healthy People 2010. Includes data by population group.

The Division of Program Statistics offers access to IHS publications such as the "Regional Differences in Indian Health" and "Trends in Indian Health" series, as well as documents on special health topics.

Part of the National Library of Medicine, this index page provides access to information, including statistics, on a variety of population groups.

Although this database, sponsored by The Indian Health Service and the University of New Mexico Health Sciences Library and Informatics Center, does not provide statistics directly, many of the research articles provide statistical information.

Part of the Office of Minority Health site, this page provides links to outside statistical information and publication of the OMH.

Publications on minority health from the CDC.

The AGing Integrated Database (AGID) is an on-line query system based on Administration for Community Living-related data files and surveys, and includes population characteristics from the Census Bureau for comparison purposes.

Website of the Federal Interagency Forum on Aging-Related Statistics. The Federal Interagency Forum on Aging-Related Statistics (Forum) was initially established in 1986, with the goal of bringing together Federal agencies that share a common interest in improving aging-related data.

The Longitudinal Studies of Aging (LSOAs) is a collaborative project of National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) and the National Institute on Aging (NIA).

This page provides links to US Census publications. Use the Population > Age filter to limit to age-related publications.

Developed by staff of the division of Health Promotion Statistics of the National Center for Health Statistics, it contains the most recent monitoring data for Tracking Healthy People 2010. Includes data by population group.

The Gateway to Global Aging Data is a platform for population survey data on aging around the world. This site offers a digital library of survey questions, a search engine for finding comparable questions across surveys, and identically defined variables for cross-country analysis.

This page is part of the National Center for Health Statistics site and provides health statistics for older Americans on a number of topics, such as hearing and dental health.

Provided by the Administration on Aging, this page provides a summary of demographic and health information.

Offered by the California Department of Aging, this page provides quick demographic information on the state, as well as links to more indepth tables on California seniors.