Find Articles
Search these library databases for articles in scholarly journals, newspapers, and popular publications.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Also searches NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system. Note: This link uses a special address which turns on Get it at UC. Without that, PubMed does not link to UCLA's online subscriptions.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text back issues of core scholarly journals, browsable and searchable across multiple disciplines. Coverage starts with first issue, with moving wall for most recent 3-5 years. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books only. JSTOR also includes primary source collections, including images from Artstor.
-
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and dissertations relevant to students, researchers, and professionals working in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
-
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1,800+ serials publications; also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage from 1952-present.
-
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowContains records from Anthropological Literature and Anthropological Index for journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, ethnography, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Covers the late 19th century to the present.
-
History of Science, Technology and Medicine This link opens in a new windowThis database integrates four bibliographies: the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology, the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza, and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine.
Finding Personal Narratives
-
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference WorksProvides full text transcripts of actual therapy sessions, client narratives, and reference works. Includes diaries, letters, autobiographies, oral histories, and personal memoirs along with the full text of therapy and counseling sessions themselves.
-
JAMA & Archives (1883-present) This link opens in a new windowJAMA has 12 journals with several types of articles. To hone in on specific narrative-type articles, do the following:
1. Enter search term in search bar.
2. In the "Journal" menu, check all the journal boxes.
3. In "Article Type", check "Case Reports" and/or "Humanities" -
PubMed This link opens in a new windowTo find narratives, do the following:
1. Run your search.
2. On the left-hand menu, click "Customize" beneath Article Types.
3. Choose "Personal Narratives" and/or "Case Reports" scroll to the bottom, and click "Show".
4. Click on "Personal Narratives" and/or "Case Reports" to narrow your search.
Journals
-
Social Science & MedicineSocial Science & Medicine is a peer-reviewed academic journal covering social science research on health, including anthropology, economics, geography, psychology, social epidemiology, social policy, sociology, medicine and health care practice, policy, and organization.
-
Social Studies of ScienceSince 1970, Social Studies of Science has been a central journal for the field of Science and Technology Studies, serving as a venue for the articulation and development of key ideas and findings in the field from its early years to the current day. The journal is multi-disciplinary, welcoming contributions that advance our understanding of science, technology and medicine as social and material activities.
-
Culture, Medicine, and PsychiatryCulture, Medicine and Psychiatry is an international and interdisciplinary forum for the publication of work in the fields of medical and psychiatric anthropology, cross-cultural psychiatry, and associated cross-societal and clinical epidemiological studies.
-
Culture, Health, and SexualityCulture, Health & Sexuality is a peer-reviewed, scholarly journal that publishes multi-disciplinary articles analyzing culture and health, health beliefs and systems, social structures and divisions, and the implications of these for sexual health, and individual, collective, and community wellbeing.
-
CatalystCatalyst: Feminism, Theory, and Technoscience serves the expanding interdisciplinary field of feminist science and technology studies (STS) by supporting theoretically inventive and methodologically creative scholarship incorporating approaches from critical public health, disability studies, sci-art, technology and digital media studies, history and philosophy of science and medicine, and more.
-
BioSocietiesBioSocieties is a quarterly peer-reviewed scientific journal covering the scholarly exploration of the crucial social, ethical and policy implications of developments in the life sciences and biomedicine.
-
Medical Anthropology QuarterlyMedical Anthropology Quarterly is an international peer-reviewed academic journal published for the Society for Medical Anthropology, a section of the American Anthropological Association, by Wiley-Blackwell. It publishes research and theory about human health and disease from all areas of medical anthropology.
-
Medical AnthropologyMedical Anthropology provides a global forum for scholarly articles on the social patterns of ill-health and disease transmission, and experiences of and knowledge about health, illness and wellbeing
-
Anthropology and MedicineAnthropology & Medicine is dedicated to publishing papers that examine medicine, health and illness in an anthropological context. This broad field reflects the journal’s commitment to interdisciplinary research on the interrelationship between culture and health.
-
Annual Review of AnthropologyThe Annual Review of Anthropology, in publication since 1972, covers significant developments in the subfields of anthropology, including archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics and communicative practices, regional studies and international anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology.
-
Sociology of Health & IllnessSociology of Health & Illness is a peer-reviewed academic journal which covers the sociological aspects of health, illness, medicine, and health care. It is published by Wiley-Blackwell on behalf of the Foundation for the Sociology of Health and Illness.
-
Journal of Health & Social BehaviorThe Journal of Health and Social Behavior is a medical sociology journal that publishes empirical and theoretical articles that apply sociological concepts and methods to the understanding of health and illness and the organization of medicine and health care.
-
American Sociological ReviewThe American Sociological Review is a bi-monthly peer-reviewed academic journal covering all aspects of sociology. It is published by SAGE Publications on behalf of the American Sociological Association.
-
American Journal of Public HealthThe American Journal of Public Health is a monthly peer-reviewed public health journal published by the American Public Health Association covering health policy and public health.
-
Journal of Public Health PolicyThe Journal of Public Health Policy is a peer-reviewed medical journal established in 1980 by Milton Terris. It covers the field of public health and is the official journal of the National Association for Public Health Policy.
-
Critical Public HealthCritical Public Health ( CPH ) is devoted to the dissemination of critically-engaged research in public health, health promotion and related fields. It brings together international scholarship from social scientists and health researchers to provide critical analyses of theory and practice and to explore new ways of thinking about public health.
-
Journal of Community HealthThe Journal of Community Health is a peer-reviewed public health journal covering community health which appears every two months.
-
Health Education & BehaviorHealth Education & Behavior is a bimonthly peer-reviewed healthcare journal covering applied behavioral and social science in public health published by SAGE Publications. It is an official journal of the Society for Public Health Education.
-
JAMA: Journal of the American Medical AssociationJAMA: The Journal of the American Medical Association is a peer-reviewed medical journal published 48 times a year by the American Medical Association. It publishes original research, reviews, and editorials covering all aspects of biomedicine.
-
The LancetThe Lancet is an independent, international weekly general medical journal founded in 1823 by Thomas Wakley. Since its first issue (October 5, 1823), the journal has strived to make science widely available so that medicine can serve, and transform society, and positively impact the lives of people. The Lancet is committed to applying scientific knowledge to improve health and advance human progress. In our weekly issues, and online first content, we publish some of the best science from the best scientists worldwide, providing an unparalleled global reach and impact on health.
-
Annals of Internal MedicineEstablished in 1927 by the American College of Physicians (ACP), Annals of Internal Medicine is the premier internal medicine journal. Annals of Internal Medicine’s mission is to promote excellence in medicine, enable physicians and other health care professionals to be well informed members of the medical community and society, advance standards in the conduct and reporting of medical research, and contribute to improving the health of people worldwide.
-
The BMJ: British Medical JournalThe BMJ is an advocate of evidence-based medicine. It publishes research as well as clinical reviews, recent medical advances, editorial perspectives, among others.
-
PLoS Medicine: Public Library of SciencePLOS Medicine publishes articles relevant to clinicians, policymakers, and researchers across a range of settings that address the major biological, environmental, social, and political determinants of health. The editors make decisions on submissions based upon their potential to directly and substantially inform clinical practice or health policy, and their relevance to our international audience.
-
Medical HumanitiesMedical Humanities presents the international conversation around medicine and its engagement with the humanities and arts, social sciences, health policy, medical education, patient experience and the public at large. Led by Dr Brandy Schillace, the journal publishes scholarly and critical articles on a broad range of topics. These include history of medicine, cultures of medicine, disability studies, gender and the body, communities in crisis, bioethics, and public health.
-
Journal of Medical HumanitiesPublishes original interdisciplinary studies of medicine and medical education. Research findings emerge from three areas of investigation: medical humanities, cultural studies, and pedagogy.
-
Research & Humanities in Medical EducationResearch and Humanities in Medical Education is an open-access peer-reviewed academic journal published by the Medical Humanities Group at the University College of Medical Sciences and Guru Teg Bahadur Hospital, Delhi.
-
Disability Studies QuarterlyDisability Studies Quarterly (DSQ) is the journal of the Society for Disability Studies (SDS). It is a multidisciplinary and international journal of interest to social scientists, scholars in the humanities, disability rights advocates, creative writers, and others concerned with the issues of people with disabilities.
-
Disability & SocietyDisability & Society is an international journal providing a focus for debate about such issues as human rights, discrimination, definitions, policy and practices. It appears against a background of change in the ways in which disability is viewed and responded to.
-
Journal of Literary & Cultural Disability StudiesFocusing on representations of disability, the Journal of Literary & Cultural Disability Studies (JLCDS) publishes a wide variety of textual analyses that are informed by disability theory and, by extension, experiences of disability.
-
Journal of Disability Policy StudiesThe Journal of Disability Policy Studies is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal that covers the field of disability studies, including issues in ethics, public policy, and the law related to individuals with disabilities.