Online Encyclopedias and Other Resources
- Encyclopedia of the MindA unique feature of the encyclopedia is its coverage of computational perspectives on the mind.
- Encyclopedia of Life SciencesOnline encyclopedia. A quick way to get basic information about a concept.
- MIT CogNet This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable electronic texts in cognitive and brain sciences. Contains work from both from the MIT Press, as well as links to resources from other publishers, professional associations, institutions, and individuals. - AccessScience This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full access to thousands of articles, dictionary terms, illustrations and graphics, bibliographies containing literature citations, and hundreds of Research Updates in all areas of science and technology. Updated daily. Also includes biographies of more than 2,000 well-known scientists from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography. Includes the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.
- The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Health, Illness, Behavior, and SocietyFeaturing more than 700 entries across 20 sub-disciplines, this encyclopedia offers the first comprehensive, interdisciplinary, and international reference work on all aspects of the social scientific study of health and illness.
Reference Databases in English
The Charles E. Young Research Library holds a large selection of print and electronic reference resources for literary research, including encyclopedias, historical and biographical dictionaries, bibliographies, online databases, and more.
- Gale E-Books (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedias, dictionaries, and specialized reference sources, primarily in the social sciences and humanities.
- Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains access to a wide range of literary criticism including biographical and bibliographic information on authors and their works. - Literature Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mainly a source for full-text literature, this database also includes reference works including bibliographies, encyclopedias, etc. - Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multi-purpose electronic resource that provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. - Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A good place to start, but note that it is an index, so it does not provide full-text articles. Instead, it will connect you to our catalog so you know where to find the appropriate encyclopedia, dictionary, or other reference work. - World Folklore and Folklife This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of reference and primary source materials pertaining to folklore.
DSM-5
Access to the DSM-5 is provided by the UCLA Library.
The DSM Library includes:
- DSM-5 (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th Edition)
- DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis
- DSM-5 Clinical Cases
- American Journal of Psychiatry
- Plus, a collection of other psychiatric references, including books, textbooks, journals, and self-assessment tools.
Previous versions of the DSM can be found HERE.
Dictionaries
The UCLA Library has dictionaries of all kinds, ranging from the familiar look-up-a-word type like the Oxford English Dictionary or Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary to very specialized dictionaries for particular fields. You can find these dictionaries in UC Library Search. Here is a brief list of general dictionaries for literary research.
If there is a particular dictionary you would like me to add here, let me know.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete text of the Oxford English Dictionary, 2nd ed. plus quarterly updates of new and revised entries. Trace the origin and history of words and their meanings in this etymological dictionary.
- Oxford Companion to English Literature
- This link opens in a new window
Online reference source, 7th edition - Oxford Companion to American LiteratureOnline reference resource, 6th edition
Readers & Collections
The Edinburgh Companion to the Critical Medical Humanities by ISBN: 9781474400046Date: 2016-07-01Original critical engagements at the intersection of the biomedical sciences, arts, humanities and social sciences In this landmark Companion, expert contributors from around the world map out the field of the critical medical humanities. This is the first volume to comprehensively introduce the ways in which interdisciplinary thinking across the humanities and social sciences might contribute to, critique and develop medical understanding of the human individually and collectively.
Health Disparities in the United States by ISBN: 9781421414751Date: 2014-10-30The health care system in the United States has been called the best in the world. Yet wide health disparities persist between different social groups, and many Americans suffer from poorer health than people in other developed countries. Donald A. Barr's Health Disparities in the United States explores how socioeconomic status, race, and ethnicity interact with socioeconomic inequality to create and perpetuate these health disparities. Examining the significance of this gulf for the medical community, cultural subsets, and society at large, Barr offers potential policy- and physician-based solutions for reducing health inequity in the long term.
The Pharmaceutical Studies Reader by ISBN: 9781118488836Date: 2015-05-11The Pharmaceutical Studies Reader is an engaging survey of the field that brings together provocative, multi-disciplinary scholarship examining the interplay of medical science, clinical practice, consumerism, and the healthcare marketplace. Draws on anthropological, historical, and sociological approaches to explore the social life of pharmaceuticals with special emphasis on their production, circulation, and consumption Covers topics such as the role of drugs in shaping taxonomies of disease, the evolution of prescribing habits, ethical dimensions of pharmaceuticals, clinical trials, and drug research and marketing in the age of globalization Offers a compelling, contextually-rich treatment of the topic that exposes readers to a variety of approaches, ideas, and frameworks Provides an accessible introduction for readers with no previous background in this area
The Routledge Handbook of Medical Anthropology by ISBN: 9781138015630Date: 2016-05-17The Routledge Handbook of Medical Anthropology provides a contemporary overview of the key themes in medical anthropology. In this exciting departure from conventional handbooks, compendia and encyclopedias, the three editors have written the core chapters of the volume, and in so doing, invite the reader to reflect on the ethnographic richness and theoretical contributions of research on the clinic and the field, bioscience and medical research, infectious and non-communicable diseases, biomedicine, complementary and alternative modalities, structural violence and vulnerability, gender and ageing, reproduction and sexuality.
The Blackwell Companion to Social Inequalities by ISBN: 0631231544Date: 2005-10-07The Blackwell Companion to Social Inequalities is afirst-rate collection of social science scholarship oninequalities, emphasizing race, ethnicity, class, gender,sexuality, age, and nationality. Highlights themes that represent the scope and range oftheoretical orientations, contemporary emphases, and emergingtopics in the field of social inequalities. Gives special attention to debates in the field, developingtrends and directions, and interdisciplinary influences in thestudy of social inequalities. Includes an editorial introduction and suggestions for furtherreading.
Sociology of Health and Illness by ISBN: 9781429255271Date: 2012-07-23The Sociology of Health and Illness: Critical Perspectives is an essential resource for anyone interested in health and health care. The new Ninth Edition tackles some of the most timely health issues of our day with coverage of eating disorders, the effects of inequality on health, how race, class, and gender affect health outcomes, the health politics of asthma and more. Further, new sections explore the effects of health care reform, the pharmaceutical industry, and the internet on health.
Medical Sociology by ISBN: 9781405188685Date: 2009-12-14An authoritative, topical, and comprehensive reference to the key concepts and most important traditional and contemporary issues in medical sociology. Contains 35 chapters by recognized experts in the field, both established and rising young scholars Covers standard topics in the field as well as new and engaging issues such as bioterrorism, bioethics, and infectious disease Chapters are thematically arranged to cover the major issues of the sub-discipline Global range of contributors and an international perspective
Disability Studies Today by ISBN: 0745626564Date: 2002Topics covered include: the history of the development of disability studies in Britain and America, key ideas, issues and thinkers, the role of the body, divisions and hierarchies, history, power and identity, work, politics and the disabled peoples' movement, globalization, human rights, research and the role of the academy.
Routledge Handbook of Disability Studies by ISBN: 9780203144114Date: 2013-03-01The Routledge Handbook of Disability Studies takes a multidisciplinary approach to disability and provides an authoritative and up-to-date overview of the main issues in the field around the world today. Adopting an international perspective and consisting entirely of newly commissioned chapters arranged thematically, it surveys the state of the discipline, examining emerging and cutting edge areas as well as core areas of contention.
