Tools and Resources
Take a look at an example predatory publisher e-mail:
The following sites can be used to further investigate the legitimacy of journals.
- Think, Check, Submit!A great tool to use to help you with your investigation. It includes questions to think about, criteria to look at, checking with colleagues and other criteria, to finally submit your work.
- Principles of Transparency and Best Practice in Scholarly PublishingOpen Access Scholarly Publishers Association's Committee on Publication Ethics has developed this document compiling the best practices in publication ethics.
- DOAJ.orgThe Directory of Open Access Journals is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent. All funding is via donations, 50% of which comes from sponsors and 50% from members and publisher members. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available.
- Ulrichsweb: Global Serials Directory This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Lists publication details for more than 300,000 worldwide periodicals (journals, magazines, newspapers). Includes information on which databases index specific journals and online availability of periodicals. - Journal Citation Reports (JCR) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from scholarly and technical journals worldwide. Coverage is both multidisciplinary and international, and incorporates journals from over 3,000 international publishers.
