Approaching the Search
A systematic review aims to capture as many relevant studies as possible as well as to minimize the bias, which can only be done by searching more than one database. According to the Cochrane Handbook: "A search in Medline alone is not considered adequate."
At the very minimum, at least the three databases listed below in "Recommended Databases" should be used.
A systematic review is predicated on a systematic search of the literature. Documenting your search strategy will be required in order to accurately construct the methodology of your study. In order to achieve, transparency and reproducibility of your research, the team must document which databases were searched on which specific platforms and include the full search strategies used. Including a librarian on your systematic review team will more easily facilitate this goal.
Recommended Databases
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A collection of six databases designed to inform healthcare decision-making: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA), and NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED). It is an important resource for systematic reviews.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Also searches NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system. Note: This link uses a special address which turns on Get it at UC. Without that, PubMed does not link to UCLA's online subscriptions.
- EMBASE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Embase provides essential biomedical evidence from evidence-based content, along with deep biomedical indexing and search forms to assist in building search strategies.
Subject Specific Databases: Based on your topic, you may want to search subject specific databases
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and dissertations relevant to students, researchers, and professionals working in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
- JBI Database of Systematic Reviews and Implementation ReportsJoanna Briggs Institute to promote and support evidence-based practice in healthcare. Access to evidence based resources and tools relating to all the health professions - medicine, nursing and allied health - as well as health policy makers, planners and executives. Articles from 2012 - 2019 are available within this database.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text for more than 1,300 English-language nursing and allied health journals and publications back to 1937. Includes access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, Evidence-Based Care Sheets, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.