Skip to Main Content
Latin America in general
- John Edward Davis's Log of H.M.S. Samarang, 1831-1834 170/336: Illustrated log records the travels of H.M.S. Samarang, that was engaged in surveying coastal areas of Brazil, Uruguay, Chile, Panama, and Mexicofrom 1831-1834.
- Roland Dennis Hussey Papers, 1920-1959 (Collection 691): Research material for writings on Latin America
- Cuban Revolution Collection, 1959-1965 (Collection 1136): Transcripts of radio broadcasts made by Fidel Castro, Carlos Rafael, and other Cuban leaders (1963-64), Cuban, Russian and Brazilian newspapers and pamphlets related to the Cuban Revolution, as well as some Cuban exile literature.
- Blase Bonpane Papers, 1948-1989 (Collection 1590): Executive director of the Office of the Americas and the author of many books and articles, chiefly on Central America
- Henry Raup Wagner Papers, ca. 1940-1956 (Collection 505): Collected books and made contributions to the history and bibliography of Latin America as well as the American West.
- Henry J. Bruman papers, circa 1935-2005 (Collection 1665): Specialized in Latin American cultural-historical geography, plant geography and land use in the American West.
- E. Bradford Burns Papers (Collection 497): UCLA history professor and author of 150+ books on Latin America. Specialized in Brazil and Nicaragua
- J. Evan Miller collection of Cinerama Theater Plans, 1938- (Collection 1546): Plans for Cinerama theaters in Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela
- Personal Narrative by Dr. Leo Leonidas Stanley about the Los Angeles Steamship Company cruise to Central and South America, 1928 (Collection 1912)
- Harry S. Lassen Papers, ca. 1930-1955 (Collection 398): Travel slides, including many from South America
- Peruvian Manuscripts collection, 1619-1824 (Collection 1070): Three volumes of Royal Decrees, especially on Bourbon military reforms and mining
- Mario Alberto Jiménez Costa Rica Collection, 1800-1958 (Collection 326): 19th and 20th century Costa Rican documents, correspondence, pamphlets, photographs, and post cards
- Gabriela Mistral collection, 1924-1948 (Collection 311): Artwork, certificates, diplomas, newspaper issues and photographs relating to the Chilean writer and poet Gabriela Mistral
- Manuel Pedro González Papers, 1930-1969 (Collection 1271): Professor of Spanish American Language and Literature at UCLA / correspondence from over 250 Latin American authors and intellectuals.
- Collection of printed material about José de San Martín, 1901-1968 (Collection 1081): A collection of printed works regarding the life of José de San Martín (c. 1778-1850), the first president of Peru and a leader in South America's struggle for independence from Spain.
- Collection of Material About Teatro Experimental and El Teatro Ensayo de la Universidad Católica de Chile, ca. 1900-1964 (Collection 845)
- Collection of Reproduced Chilean Electoral Records, 1958-1964 (Collection 1086)
- Roque Sáenz Peña Scrapbooks, ca. 1910-1914 (Collection 1413): Scrapbooks relate to Peña's candidacy (1909-10) and presidency of Argentina (1910-13).
- Collection of Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century Correspondence and Documents from Peru, 1720-1870 (Collection 478): Correspondence includes letters from important figures in Peruvian history, including presidents Ramón Castilla, Juan Antonio Pezet, and Manuel Pardo. Also includes a letter from Bolivian president Jose Balivian, and documents concerning the importation of Chinese laborers to Peru.