Art in Library Special Collections

Collection consists of individual artist exhibition announcements by commercial galleries and art museums. Announcements are for predominantly US artists and contain primarily visual information and occasional biographical data.

The collection consists of photographs of musicians and fine artists taken by the cellist, James Arkatov. The photographs are in the process of being digitized. The finding aid will continue to be updated as the digital files become available.

The collection contains drafts, correspondence, notes, course materials, and research aids pertaining to the academic career of art historian and professor Albert Boime. Materials in the collection span Boime's graduate studies and lengthy career, including seminal research on Vincent Van Gogh, Impressionism and the French Commune, and a 6-volume History of Modern Art written from a social history perspective. Though best known for his work on 18th and 19th century European art, Boime's papers cover a broad range of traditional and avant-garde Art History topics approached from a social history theoretical framework.

The collection contains the records of the administration of Los Angeles Mayor Tom Bradley, whose tenure in office covered an unprecedented five terms. Although the bulk of the collection spans Bradley's years as mayor (1973-1993), the collection also contains some material from Bradley's service in the Los Angeles Police Department, as an LA City Councilman (1963-1973) as well as materials related to his candidacy for Governor of CA in 1983 and 1986. The collection covers a variety of subjects pertinent to Los Angeles, including transportation, water conservation, offshore oil drilling, education, the 1984 Olympic Games, the Los Angeles Convention Center LA Produce and Flower Markets, and the riots in 1992. The records are in a variety of formats, including correspondence, photographs, reports, publications, architectural drawings, cassette recordings, video tapes, and memorabilia.

The Charles M. Carton Print Collection consists of American and European Antiquarian and Natural History prints. It includes botanical prints, nature prints, ornithological prints, architectural prints, satirical prints, and miscellaneous loose prints from the 17th to 19th century with several interesting 20th century images.

Newspaper political and popular cartoons dating from 1913-1984 collected by Frank A. Chapman. The majority of the collection derives from the Los Angeles Times and the Los Angeles Herald-Examiner. The collection contains the work of nationally syndicated cartoonists as well as Los Angeles-based cartoonists, including several Pulitzer Prize winners. Interspersed throughout the collection are occasional newspaper articles and magazine cartoons.

The Craft and Folk Art Museum has been an extraordinarily active institution both in its first incarnation as the commercial folk art and crafts gallery, The Egg and The Eye (1965-1975), and then as the nonprofit museum (1975-1997) that carried on the gallery's interest in contemporary crafts and international folk art, and in the eighties added product design and vernacular architecture to its program. The collection consists of papers, publications, photographs, press clippings and media releases, slides, audiotapes, videotapes, films, memorabilia, and objects.

The collection contains 28 engravings of theaters and stage set designs of the 17th and 18th centuries. Artists include Giacomo Torelli, Caspar Amort, Melchior and Matthäus Küsell, and Daniel Pomerade.

This collection is comprised of eighteen portraits of Beat Generation luminaries and seven poets, writers, and artists photographed by Christopher Felver between the years 1980 and 2001. The portraits are presented as silver gelatin prints and include such subjects as: Allen Ginsberg, Lawrence Ferlinghetti, Gregory Corso, William S. Burroughs, Susan Sontag, Amiri Baraka, and Edward Kienholz.

Record Series 5 contains the event files of the UCLA Committee on Fine Arts Productions from 1959-1980.

Collection consists of autographs, letters, manuscripts, drawings, visiting cards, and other material in French from artists, poets, writers, politicians, and musicians. Autographs include: Adolphe Adam, Benjamin-Constant, Hector Berlioz, Chateaubriand, Alphonse Daudet, Alexandre Dumas (fils), Georges Feydeau, Edmond de Goncourt, Victor Hugo, Lafayette, Jules Massenet, Meyerbeer, Auguste Rodin, Camille Saint-Säens, George Sand, Jules Verne, and Emile Zola.

Lukman Glasgow (1935-1987) was the director of the Los Angeles County Cultural Arts Center (1976-77), executive director of the Contemporary Crafts Gallery in Portland, Oregon (1978-79), and director of the Downey Museum of Art (1979- ). Boxes 47-59 include files, printed and photographic materials.

Record Series 776 contains exhibition files created by the curators of the Armand Hammer Museum of Art and Cultural Center (Hammer Museum) and the Frederic S. Wight Art Gallery (Wight Gallery). Included are materials documenting exhibitions held at the Armand Hammer Museum of Art and Cultural Center and the Frederic S. Wight Art Gallery; exhibitions organized by the Armand Hammer Museum and the Grunwald Center for the Graphic Arts (Grunwald Center); and traveling exhibits developed by other institutions.

Martin Hardie (1875-1952) studied etching with Sir Frank Short of the Royal College of Art, and exhibited his own etchings and water colors at the Royal Academy by 1908. He wrote many books, including (1906), (1921), and a three-volume history of British water color painting. The collection consists of about 3500 pieces of correspondence, written mostly by English artists to Martin Hardie, while an artist and Keeper of the Paintings and head of the department of engraving, illustration and design in the Victoria and Albert Museum, London.

Judith Hoffberg was an art librarian and curator who was a major influence in the emergence of books as an artist's medium. The collection consists of ephemera related to artists and mail art including gallery exhibition announcements, lists of art works, press releases, clippings, photographs, resumes and biographies, a small amount of correspondence, and posters. Also included is a small amount of original works, mainly of mail artist Guglielmo Achille Cavellini and publicity releases for the New York Gallery Franklin Furnace.

The records, including tapes of performances, of the Institute for Dance and Experimental Art (I.D.E.A.).

Collection consists of printed material about William S. Burroughs, Allen Ginsberg, and Michael McClure.

This collection documents the history and administration of the League of Allied Arts, one of the oldest existing Black women's non-profit arts organizations in Los Angeles. Founded in 1939 by Dorothy Vena Johnson and Juanita Miller, the League was established to promote and support the arts in Los Angeles by providing cultural enrichment programs for the community, honoring the creative accomplishments of Black artists, and awarding scholarships to talented students from Los Angeles pursuing scholarly studies in the arts. The collection consists of administrative documents such as meeting minutes and agendas, financial reports, ephemera from various arts programs and events, correspondence, newspaper clippings, photographs, and media.

http://www.oac.cdlib.org/findaid/ark:/13030/kt1s2033wm?query=artist

In addition to the photo inventory checklist leaf, album includes all 126 numbered photographs listed of Greek and Roman sculpture in what was then referred to as the Vatican Museum, as well as 6 interior views, lettered A-F: Braccio Nuovo, Chiaramonte, Hall of the Animals, Hall of Statues, Hall of the Greek Cross, and the Hall of the Candelabra.

Martha Padve was involved in the Southern California art community as a trustee of the Pasadena Art Museum (1967-74), co-chairman for the building fund for the Norton Simon Museum of Art (1968-70), chairman of the Pasadena Planning Commission (1973-81), developer of the education program at the Museum of Contemporary Art (1984-86), funding chairman for the Southern California Fellows of Contemporary Art (1976-78) and a member of the advisory committee for the University of Southern California Art Galleries (1976-82). The collection consists of personal papers related to Padve's involvement in the Pasadena Art Museum and the local Southern California art community.

Collection consists of an assemblage of posters, primarily 20th century American and European. Includes travel posters, exhibit posters, and war posters from World War I France, and American posters from World War I and World War II.

The Rex Evans Gallery opened as a partnership by Rex Evans and Jim Weatherford in Los Angeles (1960). The gallery primarily featured works in smaller media of drawings and water-colors. The gallery closed in 1972. The collection documents the La Cienega art scene and the artists whose work was featured at the Rex Evans Gallery. The collection consists of more than 650 photographs and negatives of works sold or shown at the gallery, printed announcements of shows, clippings of reviews, and correspondence with various galleries, scholars, and patrons related to the identification, authentication, and pricing of art.

E. Roscoe Shrader (1879-1960) was a illustrator for Harper's, Century, and Scribner's, and a landscape painter. He was an original faculty member at Otis Art Institute (1918- ), and served as dean from 1928-48. The collection consists of Shrader's correspondence, manuscripts, photographs, a sketch book, and related printed material with subjects including art in Los Angeles, the Otis Art Institute, and the Stacey Foundation.

Records of the contemporary craft organization, Southern California Designer Crafts (SCDC), from its founding in 1957 through 1982. A nonprofit organization, SCDC supported cooperation, networking, and critical dialog among craftspeople; the professional development of craft artists; and education about craft art. The collection includes SCDC's administrative documents pertaining to its affiliation with craft and trade organizations, juries and standards, exhibitions, publicity, membership, meetings, governance, and financial documents.

Founded in 1978, the Tobey C. Moss gallery presents the work of Southern California artists, including Lorser Feitelson (1898-1978) and Helen Lundeberg (1908-1999). The contents of this collection have been generated as a result of this representation and the gallery’s subsequent acquisition of material related to the careers of both artists. In addition to representation, Tobey Moss was involved with the Feitelson Art Foundation and provided appraisals of its collections. This collection contains primary materials related to these activities, reproductions of materials predating Moss’s involvement, and some primary materials belonging to Feitelson and Lundeberg, largely in the form of correspondence and photographs and photographic reproductions across formats.

The collection consists of reproductions of engravings, etchings, and other artwork published by Trianon Press, a publishing house started by Arnold Fawcus who was well known for producing high quality facsimiles.

Record Series 665 contains the exhibition files of the Wight Art Gallery, created between 1941 and 1998.

The Woman's Building was a feminist community space that served as an educational facility and central icon in the feminist art and larger political movements. During its eighteen year lifespan, it housed conferences, performances, exhibitions and community events in downtown Los Angeles. This collection contains materials produced at the Woman's Building, exhibition catalogs, newsletters and calendars as well as information about different internal and external affiliated groups.

Edward Ardizzone (1900-1979) was born in Haiphong, French Indochina. He was a painter and graphic artist. He wrote and illustrated (1936) and illustrated more than 100 books, the most famous of which was The collection consists of original watercolors, manuscripts, and printed material by Ardizzone.

Mae Babitz (1911-2003) illustrated architectural landmarks of Los Angeles from 1940 to 1970 and was instrumental in saving Simon Rodia's Watts Towers from destruction. The collection includes artwork as well as personal correspondence and correspondence with the City of Los Angeles with respect to exhibitions, acquisitions and saving the Towers.

Hugo Ballin (1879-1956) was born in New York City. He began his Hollywood career creating motion picture sets for Samuel Goldwyn and later worked as a director and producer. He ultimately gave up his film career to focus on art and writing. The collection consists of original paintings and drawings by Ballin, correspondence, literary manuscripts, books, clippings, and photographs.

Frank Beck (1893-1962) was an artist who created the cartoon strips (1920-36), (1926-37), (1935-62), and (1940-56). The collection consists of Beck's cartoon strips, original ink drawings, proof sheets, clippings, printed ephemera, correspondence and photographs.

Original artwork and prints created by (or related to) caricaturist, author and artist Max Beerbohm. The items in this collection were a donation from the estate of UCLA Professor Majl Ewing.

Frank Chapman was an artist who worked on film and television projects such as the television series and the motion pictures . The collection consists of scripts, photographs, and production material related to his career in the entertainment industry.

Charles Conder (1868-1909) was born in London. He studied painting in Sydney, Melbourne and Paris. He specialized in portrait and landscape painting. The collection consists of letters to Conder and to his wife from English and French personnages of the art world illustrating tastes and aesthetic values of their social class during the early 20th century when art nouveau was in vogue.

Joseph Crawhall was an illustrator, making colored woodblocks for books such as (1864) and (1883)He also illustrated (1864), (1873), and Border Notes & Mixty-Maxty (1880). The collection consists of proof copies, scrapbooks, and limited editions of Crawhall's works and clippings concerning Northumberland and Newcastle-upon-Tyne around the time Crawhall was mayor. There is also biographical material on Charles Keene, artist-cartoonist for , and letters from other artists and original drawings by Joseph Crawhall, Jr. (1861-1913), a well-known animal painter.

Arthur Wesley Dow (1857-1922) was a artist and author. He taught at the Pratt Institute (1895-1904), the Art Students' League in New York (1897-1903), and Teachers College, Columbia University (1904- ). The collection consists of prints done by Arthur Wesley Dow and work of students at UCLA.

Marian Elizabeth Engelke served as a staff artist at UCLA (1964-84). The collection consists of signs, brochures, and pamphlets designed and printed by Engelke during her career as a staff artist at UCLA. The collection also contains material designed and printed by Steve Kunishima and other successors in what was later called Graphic Arts Service.

Sandra Maureen Fisher was an American artist born on May 6, 1947 in New York City to Ethel and Gene Fisher. She received her art degree from the Chouinard Art School, California Institute of the Arts, Los Angeles in 1968. In 1970, Fisher worked for director and printmaker Kenneth Tyler at Gemini G.E.L. in Los Angeles. Shortly after moving to London in 1971, Fisher began a long-term relationship with her future husband, Jewish-American artist R.B. Kitaj. Sandra Fisher's work was featured in a number of group exhibitions and four solo exhibitions at London galleries: Coracle Press Gallery, 1982; Victoria Miro, 1987; Odette Gilbert, 1989; and Lefevre Gallery, 1993. Sandra Fisher also enjoyed a great deal of success for her paintings commissioned by London Transport and Heineken brewers. Her collaborations with the poet Thomas Meyer produced three publications: Sappho (1982), Sonnets & Tableaux (1987), Monotypes & Tracings (1994). The work of Sandra Fisher is included in several private and public collections including the British Museum, London; London Transport Museum; National Academy of Design, New York; Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York. In 1994, Sandra Fisher died unexpectedly of a brain aneurysm.

Walter Gabrielson (1935-2008) was a southern California painter, sculptor, professor, and arts writer. He served as professor at California State University Northridge (1966-1981) and helped form the Los Angeles Institute of Contemporary Art (1973-1988). The collection consists of professional records and writings as well as preparatory drawings, visual reference materials and documentation of his artwork.

J. Duncan Gleason (1881-1959) was born in Los Angeles. He worked as an illustrator for the Union Engraving Company and later for New York magazines, including . He also painted impressionist style landscapes and worked as a studio artist for Warner Brothers and MGM. He became interested in yachting, and was active in the U.S. Power Association; wrote (1950) and (1958). The collection consists of scrapbooks including photographs and studies of his work, three guest books, original manuscripts of two proposed books, two additional scrapbooks on the conservative art fight and about 50 letters of his ancestors, dating from the 1840s.

Walter W.J. Gores (1894- ) was a graphic artist and author of Manual of the Visual Arts (1940). The collection consists of ephemera and artwork relating to Gores's career as a graphic artist.

Antocz Franciszek Groszewski (1884-1974) was born in Kelbasice, Poland and came to the U.S., 1909. His film career began in 1913 when he was hired by the Lubin Company to paint and design sets. He relocated to Los Angeles in 1922. He worked on a variety of films and was nominated for 5 Academy Awards. The collection consists of materials related to Grot's career as a motion picture set designer and art director. Includes original sketches in pencil, charcoal, and water color as well as photographs of completed sets and sketches.

D.J. (Debra Jane) Hall is a southern California representational, figurative painter, best known for her portraits of women by poolside. Papers record her personal life and artistic career, including family records, teaching materials, research materials for projects and artwork, documentations of artwork, exhibitions and interviews, as well as original prints and artwork.

This collection consists of correspondence, exhibition catalogs, a scrapbook, sketches, watercolors, drawings, oil paintings, and monotype prints by Issei artist Matsusaburo Hibi. Many of these materials relate to the time Hibi spent in the Tanforan Assembly Center (California) and the Central Utah Relocation Center in Topaz, Utah, during World War II. The collection also contains a portfolio of 50 scenes of the Central Utah Relocation Center drawn by Henry Fukuhara. There are English and Japanese materials in this collection.

Holling Clancy Holling (1900-1973) was an instructor, freelance designer, advertising artist, and book illustrator. He and his wife Lucille Webster Holling collaborated on many books, including (1935) and (1936). He later wrote and illustrated fiction, combining nature and history themes, including (1941). The collection consists of materials relating to books written and illustrated by Holling and Lucille.

Estelle (Peck) Ishigo (1899- ) was born in Oakland, California. She attended Otis Art Institute where she met and married San Franciscan Nisei, Arthur Ishigo (ca. 1929). Following Pearl Harbor, both were fired from their jobs and Arthur was ordered to a concentration camp. Estelle voluntarily accompanied him, and they were eventually assigned to Heart Mountain concentration camp in Wyoming. Estelle documented life at the camp through her artwork. The collection consists of documents, records, correspondence, photographs, paintings, pencil drawings and sketches, and watercolor sketches related to Estelle Ishigo's life in the Pomona Assembly Center, California and the Heart Mountain Relocation Center, Wyoming. There is also material related to the Ishigo's postwar resettlement in Southern California.

R.B. Kitaj was an influential and controversial American artist who lived in London for much of his life. He is the creator of many major works including; The Ohio Gang (1964), The Autumn of Central Paris (after Walter Benjamin) 1972-3; If Not, Not (1975-76) and Cecil Court, London W.C.2. (The Refugees) (1983-4). Throughout his artistic career, Kitaj drew inspiration from history, literature and his personal life. His circle of friends included philosophers, writers, poets, filmmakers, and other artists, many of whom he painted. Kitaj also received a number of honorary doctorates and awards including the Golden Lion for Painting at the XLVI Venice Biennale (1995). He was inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Letters (1982) and the Royal Academy of Arts (1985). He is the author of two books, The First Diasporist Manifesto (1989) and Second Diasporist Manifesto (2007). Kitaj's works are in the permanent collections of over 50 museums internationally.

Judy Kleinberg is an artist that appears to be mostly involved in the mail art scene. The collection consists of subject files and files pertaining to The 20 ANSWERS Mail Art Collaboration created by Kleinberg and Harry Warschauer in the early 1980s.

Collection consists of materials related to the career of cartoon animator, Walter Lantz. Includes production files, subject files, cels, drawings, backgrounds, exposure sheets, and comic books and posters. Production files contain writer's and director's materials used in pre-and early production. Subject files contain correspondence, clippings, photographs and personal material. Comic books consist largely of foreign language publications from the 1960s, 70s, and early 80s including El Pajaro Loco, Haccke Hackspett, Nakke Nakuttaja, O Pica-Pau, Picchiarello, Pico, and Soren Spaette, and English language comics published from the 1940s-50s including Andy Panda, Chilly Willy, Woody Woodpecker, Oswald the Lucky Rabbit, and New Funnies.

Stephen Longstreet (1907- ) was a painter, writer, art critic, lecturer on art, and professor of modern writing at the University of Southern California (1975-80). The collection consists of literary manuscripts, drawings and collages by Stephen Longstreet.

Barry Moser (1940- )was a graphic artist and printmaker who worked in ink and wood. The collection consists of wood engraving blocks, pencil sketches, incipient drawings and illustrations for books he illustrated including Frankenstein, The Hunting of the Snark, The California Dante, The Inferno, Purgatorio and Paradiso.

Barry Moser (b.1940) is a graphic artist and printmaker. He has illustrated several books, including (1977), (1977), (1978), (1980), and (1982). The collection consists of 25 wood engraving blocks by Moser for (1985).

The Murman collection consists of 495 original watercolors and 26 photographs of California native plants, representing 85 different families and ca. 460 species. The paintings are scientifically accurate as well as artistic, each showing details of a branch and enlarged paintings of the flowers, fruit, and other diagnostic parts. Murman, originally a Russian banker, trained as a commercial artist after his emigration to the U.S. in 1905 and became a furniture designer in Los Angeles in 1906. After his retirement, he began traveling throughout California making preliminary sketches, color notes, and photographs of plants and collecting dried specimens; using these, Murman produced his body of watercolors in his home studio. Each series in the Container List represents a plant family. Each entry represents one plate, listing the scientific and common name, date & place of specimen collection, plus notes.

Collection consists of correspondence, memorabilia, genealogical material, clippings, manuscript material, and photographs of the paintings of Los Angeles artist Myron Nutting. Manuscripts include lectures, speeches, and notes by Nutting, holograph notes about him made by Edward Gordon Craig, and notes and personal observations made by his wife Muriel Nutting of James Joyce during the 1920s.

Susan Due Pearcy is an internationally known artist and printmaker working in the tradition of the transcendentalists. This collection consists of sixteen of her linoleum and woodcut block prints depicting scenes of the migrant field work from her time volunteering with the United Farm Workers in 1972 and 1973.

Don Louis Perceval grew up in California and studied at Chouinard Art Institute, London's Royal College of Art and the Heatherley Art School. In addition to his work as a commercial artist, he also served on the faculty of Chouinard Art Institute and the Art Department of Pomona College. The collection consists of illustrations, books, and ephemera related to Don Louis Perceval and his work as an artist.

Sir William Rothenstein (1872-1945) was the official artist of the British and Canadian armies during World War I. Later, he published artwork and biographies. The collection consists of original drawings of the portraits of men and women of letters by Sir William Rothenstein. Some of the drawings have been published in various books by Rothenstein.

Bruce Alexander Russell (1903-1963) was a UCLA alumnus. He worked as a cartoonist for the (1925-26), and a staff artist (1927-34) and political cartoonist (1934-63) for the . He won a Pulitzer Prize for cartoons in 1946, was named The Edward A. Dickson UCLA Alumnus of the Year for 1951, served as a member of President Eisenhower's Cartoonists Committee, and was the president of the American Association of Editorial Cartoonists (1960-61). The collection consists of editorial cartoons by Russell published in the Los Angeles Times.

Robert (Bob) Smith was an art director and production designer. The collection consists of original artist's blueprints and sketches, location photographs and stills, and scripts for motion picture projects; materials representing television projects; and a small maount of material related to Smith's father, art director Edward (Ted) Smith.

Ralph Steadman (1936- ) was a sketch artist and cartoonist whose work appeared in newspapers and magazines including , and . He also illustrated books including Daisy Ashford's (1965), Richard Ingrams' (1966), and Lewis Carroll's (1967). The collection consists of materials by or about Steadman, including books, literary magazines, and postcards written or illustrated by him.

Collection consists of proof prints, wood engravings or resingrave engravings, by Barry Moser. The majority of the prints were designed for the publications , and . Barry Moser (b. 1940) is an award winning artist who has illustrated over 300 books.

Edgar Dorsey Taylor (1904-1978) was an artist who worked in the black and white woodcut medium. The collection consists of 240 woodblocks, 255 woodblock prints, correspondence, diaries, sketches, and printing tools related to Taylor and his work.

Simon Toparovsky is a designer and sculptor whose work has been exhibited internationally. The collection consists of printed material, exhibition brochures and catalogs, artwork, and clippings in English and Italian.

Tyger-Womon was a writer, artist, and Native American shaman. Also known as V.L. Adams, very little information can be found on Tyger-Womon before or after the two year period reflected in this collection. These materials include poetry collections, correpondence, essays, photography collages and collaborative art projects with Hanh Thi Pham. Also included are recorded transcripts of interviews and conversations between Tyger-Womon and Hanh Thi Pham.

June Claire Wayne was born on March 7, 1918 in Chicago, Illinois, where at the age of 15 she dropped out of high school to pursue her career as an artist. In addition to her work in lithography, which revitalized the art of printmaking in America, Wayne is well-known for her tapestries and visual explorations of optics and scientific themes. The collection consists of correspondence, manuscripts, ephemera, and photographs related to the creation and exhibition of Wayne's work, including the production of The Dorothy Series lithographs and film about the artist, Matsumi (Mike) Kanemitsu.

This collection primarily consists of prints by Pepi Weixlgärtner-Neutra, an Austrian artist.

Gordon Wagner was born on April 13, 1915 in Redondo Beach, California, and died in Long Beach, California, on December 4, 1987. From a young age Wagner was interested in mechanical designs as well as expressing his artistic vision through painting, poetry, and assemblage creations. The collection consists of correspondence, manuscripts, ephemera, realia, and photographs related to the creation and exhibition of Wagner's work.

Harold Bell Wright (1872-1944) was a painter and decorator (1887-92) and a landscape painter (1892-97) before becoming a pastor serving the midwest and Redlands, California (1897-08). He retired from the ministry in 1908 and became a novelist. His published works include (1903), (1907), (1910), (1911), (1925), and (1942). The collection consists of manuscripts of Wright's first 9 novels, some correspondence, clippings, other ephemera, a large group of photographs, reproductions of illustrations to some of his books, and original ink drawings.