Architecture and Landscape Architecture in Library Special Collections

Portfolio of ten mounted photographs by an unidentified photographer of streets, neighborhoods, churches and civic buildings of old Augsburg, probably dating from around 1900.

John Corneby Wilson Austin (1870-1963) was a 20th century Los Angeles architect. He designed and supervised the construction of the Shrine Auditorium, Los Angeles Chamber of Commerce, California State Building, St. Vincent's Hospital, Griffith Observatory, and St. Paul's Church. In conjunction with two other firms, Austin helped design and supervise the building of Los Angeles City Hall. The collection consists of correspondence, photographs, memorabilia, and printed material.

Ernest Born was born in 1898. He studied architecture under John Galen Howard at the University of California, Berkeley and then went to work in Europe. After the war Born returned to architectural practice in San Francisco. He also became professor of architecture at the University of California, Berkeley, during which time he designed additions and alterations to the William Randolph Hearst Theater on the Berkeley campus, and began his association with Walter Horn. The collection consists of 2128 photographs in 27 photograph albums. Most are silver prints, with a few albumen prints as well. The majority of the photographs are by the Alinari Company, but there are smaller but significant groups of photographs by Brogi, Anderson and others.

Collection consists primarily of photographic research for Cecil B. De Mille motion picture productions (1956), (1949), and (1947). Includes photographic reproductions from books and magazines for period costumes, objects, architecture, and ephemera, proof sheets, negatives, and transparencies. Also contains photostats of costume sketches by Cecil Lawton for Unconquered.

Scrapbooks, ephemera, photographs, and correspondence related to architect Robert D. Farquhar and his work, particularly buildings commissioned by William Andrews Clark, Jr.

N.J. "Bud" Goldstone was a professional engineer and member of the Committee for Simon Rodia's Towers in Watts, Inc. In 1959, he designed and executed an engineering test that proved the Towers' structural safety. The bulk of the collection consists of Goldstone's detailed photographs and negatives of the Towers, documenting a restoration project completed between 1994 and 2002. The collection also includes the original 1959 structural integrity report and test plan, a set of microfiche from the City of Los Angeles Cultural Affairs Department, and additional photographic materials.

Welton Davis Becket (1902- ) was a Los Angeles based architect with Becket, Wurdeman, and Plummer (later renamed Welton Becket and Associates) - one of the largest firms in Los Angeles with building credits throughout the world. He also served as the Master Planner and Supervising Architect for UCLA from 1949 to 1969. After Becket's death, the firm continued under the same name, directed by his nephew, MacDonald Becket. Around 1985, the firm was acquired by Ellerbe Incorporated to become Ellerbe Becket. The collection consists of photographs related to the work of the Welton Becket & Associates architectural firm. Most of the photographs represent projects in and around the Los Angeles area and include examples of both residential and commercial buildings with interior and exterior views.

This collection contains photographs of both persons and places and is intended as a supplement to other collections in Library Special Collections.

Photographs by Giacomo Brogi of the art, architecture, and antiquities of Italy and France, probably created between 1870 and 1880.

Albert R. Walker (1881-1958) was a architect who collaborated with Percy A. Eisen to design the Ardmore Apartments in Los Angeles, the Hollywood Plaza Hotel, the Beverly Wilshire Hotel in Beverly Hills, the El Mirador Hotel in Palm Springs, the Edwards and Wildey Building and the Fine Arts Building (Signal Oil Building) in Los Angeles, the Bay Cities Guaranty Building in Santa Monica, and the Texaco Building in Los Angeles. The collection consists of photographs, newspaper articles and scrapbooks of buildings designed by Walker.

Photograph album containing photos of domestic architecture, dated 1925-1932, of the estate in Coldwater Canyon, Beverly Hills, known as "Green Gates," possibly located at 9606 Heather Road.

Album of photographs, possibly taken in June 1906, recording a trip west to California from Chicago, Illinois. Includes photographs of domestic architecture.

Photograph album containing of houses in the West Park Tract of Los Angeles, now the Vermont Harbor neighborhood, probably dating from the years 1908-1910. Photographs contain images of domestic and landscape architecture.

Early photographs of castles and country houses, landscapes, and portraits in England, Gibraltar, and Ireland, taken between 1850 and 1856 taken by Alfred Capel Cure.

Album belonging to Mrs. A.S.C. Forbes of Los Angeles, containing 87 black & white photographs documenting the early history and development of the city of Los Angeles.

Photograph album of architectural, landscape, and streetscape photographs by various 19th-century European photographers, featuring views of antiquities, cathedrals, castles, harbors, and street scenes in cities throughout France, Egypt, Greece, and Italy.

Collection of photographs by various photographers, dated 1885-1905, documenting the architecture and landscape of Great Britain, Ireland, and the Channel Islands.

Album, compiled by G.W. Hazard, containing 989 photographs of early Los Angeles and surrounding cities.

Modern album, probably from the 1950s, of mounted 19th-century steel-engraved plates of manor houses, churches, and landscapes of Leicestershire, England. |b Twelve of the plates are described in v. 1 of William Upcott's Bibliographical account of the principal works relating to English topography, including engravings of manor houses such as Gumbley [Gumley] Hall, Preswold Hall, Carlton Hall, Osbarston [Osbaston] Hall, Leesthorp Hall, and Stoughton Hall. Other engravings include Appleby Church, Lilbourn Church in Round Hill, Glenfield Church, Earl's Shilton Church, and Kibworth Church. Five of the illustrations appeared in issues of Gentlemen's magazine between 1812 and 1825. Plates represent the work of artists such as John Throsby, John Glover, and Jacob Schnebbelie, and engravers such as James Basire, Barak Longmate, William Walker, and F. Cary.

Photographs of the architecture and landscapes of Naples and nearby towns and islands, probably produced between 1890 and 1909 by Edizioni Brogi, the photography studio directed by Carlo Brogi and his uncle, Alfredo Brogi.

Photographs by Giacomo Brogi of the art, architecture, and antiquities of Italy and France, probably created between 1870 and 1880.

Album of photographs of Egypt by W. Hammerschmidt, bearing binder's date of 1862. Includes photographs of Islamic architecture.

Architectural views from 1855-1870, by photographers Carlo Ponti and Carlo Naya, of churches, palaces, and piazzas in Venice, Murano, Padova, and Pisa.

Album of photographs (19.3 x 25 cm) from 1923-1929, showcasing homes in Hollywoodland, a 500-acre subdivision at the top of Beachwood Canyon in Los Angeles, California.

Album of 92 photographs (19.3 x 25 cm) from 1923-1929, documenting the development of Hollywoodland, a 500-acre subdivision at the top of Beachwood Canyon in Los Angeles, California.

Album of 30 photographs (19.3 x 25 cm), including four duplicate, relating to the real estate developments by S.H. Woodruff in Hollywoodland (Los Angeles), and Dana Point, California between 1923 and 1929.