Writing the Other
How do you write from the perspective of someone who has very different life experiences than you? How can writers avoid accidentally perpetuating racist or sexist tropes in their work? These resources will help you navigate this often uncomfortable territory.
Helpful articles
Not sure where to start? These articles provide helpful tips on writing from the perspective of others.
Campus Collections
Stop by any of these libraries on campus to browse materials or get help from a librarian.
Databases
These databases provide access to marginalized voices and media. This list isn't exhaustive, though. If you can't find what you're looking for, browse our subject databases or ask a librarian!
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish. - GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across multiple subject areas. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and more. - LGBTQ+ Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains indexing and abstracts for LGBTQ-specific core periodicals, core books and reference works. In addition, other source-types such as grey literature, including newsletters, case studies, speeches, etc. are represented. Former database title: LGBT Life. - Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases, including International Index to Black Periodicals, Black Literature Index and Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience (interdisciplinary essays written by leading scholars on the Black Experience). - Black Studies Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes both scholarly and popular press journals, newspapers, and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean. Coverage is international in scope and multidisciplinary, including cultural, economic, historical, religious, social, and political issues. Formerly titled International Index to Black Periodicals (IIPA). - American Indian Experience This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text digital collection exploring the histories and contemporary cultures of the indigenous peoples of the United States. Contains more than 150 volumes of scholarship and reference content, hundreds of primary documents, and thousands of images from pre-contact to the present day. - Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes books, essays, journal articles, US and Canadian government documents, and other publications concerning the history, life, and culture of native North Americans from the 16th century to the present. Contains the citations from the eight volumes of the Ethnographic Bibliography of North America as well as additional new citations. - Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic materials on Mexican-American topics 1967 to the present. Scope expanded in 1992 to include the broader Latinx experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. Includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database. - Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Articles are drawn from more than 500 key social science and humanities journals. Produced by the UCLA Latin American Center. - Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of western-language monographs, articles, and book chapters on all parts of Asia and Asian Studies (East Asia, Southeast Asia, South Asia, Indian Ocean) published since 1971.
