Skip to main content

Performing Arts Materials in Library Special Collections

This guide provides resources and general information about UCLA Library Special Collections Performing Arts.

Digital Services Specialist

Caroline Cubé's picture
Caroline Cubé

Television

television

 

The UCLA Library Special Collections holds a large amount of primary source materials pertaining to television. This guide is intended as a starting place to point researchers to these materials and also serves as a basic orientation on using Library Special Collections holdings. If you have questions or comments about the guide, please contact the Performing Arts Curator, Peggy Alexander.

Television Show Titles

The following is a list of television show titles that are represented in Library Special Collections's holdings. The list is in process and will be updated periodically.

Once you have identified a show title in this list, search for that title (in quotes) in the Online Archive of California to locate the specific collection holding those materials. The list indicates if multiple collections hold certain materials, for example, "scripts (2 collections)."

If you don't see the title you are looking for, don't hesitate to ask a Library Special Collections staff member.

Television Movies, Mini-Series & TV Specials Titles

The following is a list of television movies and mini-series titles that are found in Library Special Collections's holdings. The list is in process and will be updated periodically.

Once you have identified a show title, search for that title (in quotes) in the Online Archive of California to locate the specific collection(s) holding those materials.

If you don't see the title you are looking for, don't hesitate to ask a Library Special Collections staff member.

Television Show Collections

These select collections contain materials pertaining to a specific television program. For complete holdings information, consult the Online Archive of California and a Library Special Collections staff member.

Collection consists of original "Star Trek" scripts. Scripts include production materials such as shooting schedules, cast lists, title sheets, special photographic effects lists, and credits. Most of the scripts have Justman's name or initials on the front cover and minor annotations or lines in the text.

Script Collections

These selec collections consist of scripts for assorted television programs. For collections of consisting of scripts to a particular television program, see "Television Show Collections" in the box above; consult the Online Archive of California, and Library Special Collections staff.

Collection consists of original "Star Trek" scripts. Scripts include production materials such as shooting schedules, cast lists, title sheets, special photographic effects lists, and credits. Most of the scripts have Justman's name or initials on the front cover and minor annotations or lines in the text.

Actors' Collections

Over the course of her career, actress and singer Diahann Carroll has been involved in a number of stage, motion picture, and television projects as well a business and philanthropic activities. The bulk of the collection includes musical arrangements, clippings, and photographs documenting assorted stage, motion picture, and television projects. Additionally there is a small amount correspondence, scrapbooks, awards, and ephemera. 

As an actor, he appeared in motion pictures and television series. Collection consists of motion picture and television scripts including the Kung Fu and produced and unproduced motion picture pictures such as Conquest of the Planet of the Apes and Frasier, the Lovable Lion among others.

Susan Clark was a motion picture and television actress. She may be best known for her role as Katherine on the television series Webster. The bulk of the collection consists of scripts from the television series Webster. Additionally there are scripts representing her work on television movies such as The Dark Tower (released as Night Moves) and Skullduggery as well guest appearances on popular television series such as Columbo and Marcus Welby, M.D.

This collection includes business papers, correspondence, sheet music, media, and memorabilia from the private collection of comedian and actress Phyllis Diller. Diller broke ground as one of the first and most prominent woman comedians through her stand-up act, films, television appearances, books, and records. Post-retirement in 2002, Diller wrote an autobiography titled Like a Lampshade in a Whorehouse: My Life in Comedy (2005), turned her hobby of drawing and painting into another career, and has continued to make appearances on television and in film. 

This collection contains a vast array of materials related to the life and career of actor Howard Duff. The majority of the collection consists of film and television scripts. Also included are photographs, both personal and professional, radio sound recordings, correspondence, legal records, theater ephemera, military service materials, and sketches by Duff. Of particular interest are oral history transcripts, Duff's personal items including a wallet, make-up kit, passport, and eyeglasses, as well as materials related to Duff's first marriage to actress Ida Lupino.

Julia Duffy is a television, motion picture, and stage actress who is best known for her portrayal of Stephanie Vanderkellen on the television show Newhart. The collection consists of various draft scripts for television and motion picture projects in which Duffy was involved. Absent from the collection is material pertaining to Duffy's stage career. 

Character actor Lou Frizzell appeared in numerous stage productions, television shows, and motion pictures between the 1930s-1970s. The collection consists of scripts, photographs, scrapbooks, printed materials, and music related to his career.

Paul Hartman (1910-1973) was born in San Francisco, California. He was a dancer, actor, magician and singer appearing in vaudeville, the theater, film and television. The collection contains correspondence, scrapbooks, photographs, diaries, clippings, programs, sheet music, books, pamphlets, and memorabilia of Paul Hartman and family members.

Actress Carolyn Jones was best known for her role as the ghoulish Morticia in the television series The Addams Family. The collection consists of scripts and scrapbooks related to her acting career. 

Actress and singer Shirley Jones has appeared in movies like Oklahoma!The Music Man, and Carousel, and is well known for her role as Shirley Partridge on the television show, The Partridge Family. The collection consists of television scripts, screenplays for produced and unproduced motion pictures, and stage plays related to Jones's career.

Versatile character actor Allyn Joslyn's acting career spanned from the 1920's to the1970's. The collection documents Joslyn's professional accomplishments as an actor and entertainer, and includes scripts for motion pictures, television, radio, and stage; press clippings focused on Joslyn's career; photographs (mainly stills) from various film, television, and stage productions; and a small amount of correspondence and ephemera.

Steven Keats was born in New York, 1945. He graduated from Manhattan's High School for the Performing Arts and then served in Viet Nam (1965-1966) before attending the Yale School of Drama and Montclair State College. Keats made his Broadway debut in the second cast of Oh! Calcutta (1970). His film roles include Hester Street, Death Wish, and Black Sunday. His television roles include The Awakening Land and The Executioner's Song. Keats died May 1994 of an apparent suicide.

Nancy Malone began her career at the age of six, modeling and appearing on live radio and television programs. She went on to become an accomplished actor, director and producer and was a co-founder of Women in Film, the nonprofit organization dedicated to supporting women's roles within the entertainment industry. The collection consists of material representing Malones' involvement in various projects as actress, director and producer, her association with Women in Film, her contributions to the advancement of the entertainment community and her various achievements outside of the industry.

There is little information available about Todd Mason. During his career, he worked as an actor, did voice overs, and was a newspaper writer. From 1968-1975 Mason was an associate of Mike Connors and worked for the television series Mannix. The collection consists of writings, photographs, correspondence, and audio cassette recordings related related to his career.

Jay Riley was an African American actor who started his career in 1932. He appeared in Broadway productions and also found roles in motion pictures and television. The collection consists of script material, photographs and a small amount of biographical information, press clippings, ephemera, books, and audiovisual materials related to Riley’s career.

The collection consists of material related to the career of actress Ann Sothern. Includes scripts, business records, and production material for The Ann Sothern Show , along with correspondence, proposals for television series and pilots, production records for summer stock and night club acts, handwritten scores, and sheet music. Also includes a small number of audio recordings, photographs, and one scrapbook.

George Spaulding (1881-1959) was a screen, stage, radio, and television actor, as well as a stage producer and playwright. The collection consists of theater programs, mementos, and a scrapbook relating to the Spaulding's acting career.

Television Producer's Collections

Collections listed here pertain to the papers of specific television producers.

Television Writer Collections

Network Collections

Television Music Collections

Visual Effects, Art Director, Production Designer Collections

Dan Curry, born Daniel F. Curry, is an Emmy Award-winning fine artist and filmmaker. He is best known --- and has won seven Emmy awards for --- his work as Visual Effects Producer of Star Trek: The Next GenerationStar Trek: Deep Space NineStar Trek: Voyager, and Star Trek: Enterprise. This collection documents Curry’s work as visual effects producer of these series, as well as his work on other motion picture and television projects. The bulk of the collection dates from 1987 to 1992, and includes collected screenplays, montage storyboards, memos, recorded material, and Curry’s personal notes and hand-drawn illustrations.

Collection consists of materials related to the professional career of production designer and art director George Jenkins. Includes research material, sketches, and floor plans. Research materials consist of location photographs, scripts, schedules, notes, color samples, and budget records. Sketches include original drawings in pencil, charcoal, and watercolor of scenes and sets. Floor plans include blueprints of stage sets built for film or television productions, or map out existing buildings including furniture details, elevations, and continuity sketches. Includes materials for productions such as "1776" (1972), "All the President's Men" (1976), "Best Years of Our Lives" (1946), "Funny Lady" (1975), "Music with Mary Martin" (TV, 1959), and "The New Revue" (TV, 1953-54).

Collection consists of various drafts of television scripts related to the career of art director Sydney Z. Litwack. The bulk of the scripts are for the television series Lou Grant (1977-78). Additionally there are teleplays, occassional art direction notes, and production information.

The collection consists of material related to the career of art director and production designer Robert Emmet (Bob) Smith. Included are original artist's blueprints and sketches, location photographs and stills, and scripts primarily for motion picture projects along with materials representing television projects, and a small amount of items from unproduced and unidentified projects. Among the motion titles represented areA Big Hand for the Little Lady (1966), The Flim Flam Man (1967), Fool Killer (1965), Hombre (1967),Operation Petticoat (1959), and Skidoo (1968), among others.

In the Robert Emmet Smith Papers, is also a small amount of papers related to Smith's father, art director Edward (Ted) Smith. Included are scripts, what appear to research photographs, set stills, and photocopies and reproductions of storyboards. Among the projects represented are Action in the North AtlanticCaptains for the Clouds, and Gentleman Jim

Television Materials in Other Collections

  • Terrence O'Flaherty Papers: Terrence O'Flaherty worked as television critic for the San Francisco Chronicle from 1952-1986. The bulk of the collection consists of television stills and promotional material collected by O'Flaherty during the course of his 37-year journalistic career. Additionally included are scrapbooks documenting his newspaper columns, subject files containing research materials, and a small amount of correspondence and other writings by O'Flaherty. Included in the collection are: materials for TV awards programs, news programs, sporting events, Academy Awards, network press releases, CBS Reports scripts, film and television periodicals, reports on topics related to film and television (i.e. violence in television), program schedules.