Selected Images
Researching UCLA Campus Buildings
Most architecture books are not dedicated to a single building. The building you are researching may be discussed in books about the building's:
- architect(s) or firm(s)
- geographic location (including books about architecture in Los Angeles or general books about the history of the UCLA campus)
- building type (e.g. 'Sports facilities')
Search the UCLA Library Catalog to locate books and other materials.
Searching Tips:
- If you know the name of the architect or firm that designed the building, use Keyword searching in the Library Catalog for books under these names. Once you have the book in hand, refer to its index or table of contents to determine whether or not your building is mentioned.
- If the architect or firm is unknown, use one of the recommended sources listed below to identify the building's architect or try searching for books about that building type (i.e.: Auditoriums--California--Los Angeles.)
- Building names and occupants can change over time. E.g. the Broad Art Center was previously the Dickson Art Center. You will need to search under both names to locate relevant information. Another example: Perloff Hall once housed the Art Department; later it housed the Graduate School of Architecture and Urban Planning; currently it houses the Department of Architecture and Urban Design.
- Buildings can undergo renovation. Plans and other illustrations of buildings prior to their renovation can sometimes be included in descriptions of renovation projects.
To locate articles on your building, you will need to search an index that specializes in architectural subjects. The Avery Index is the most comprehensive index of this kind. Click on the Article Indexes and Databases tab above to locate this and other indexes.
TIP: Also try searching Google Books for the name of your building, then search the UCLA Library Catalog for the titles of the books retrieved.
-
American Arcadia
by
Call Number: F861 .H693 2016 Arts Library; YRLISBN: 9780190256517Date: (includes Royce Hall; provides context for early campus development) -
An Architectural Guidebook to Los Angeles
by
Call Number: NA735.L55 G44 2018 Arts Library ReferenceISBN: 1626400555Date: (6th edition); See pages 231-237 for UCLA campus and buildings. (Also, pages 238-245 for Westwood) -
UCLA.
by
Call Number: LD794.5 .U25 1980 Arts Library Reference, Arts Library, Powell Library Main Reading Room Reference -
UCLA : an interpretation considering architecture and site.
by
Call Number: LD791.9.E22 N989 Arts Library Reference Desk, Powell Library Main Reading Room Reference, YRL Reference Core Collection, SRLFIncludes a 'Campus Buildings Alphabetical Data List' (listing buildings built by 1968 and their architects)
-
UCLA on the move, during fifty golden years, 1919-1969
by
Call Number: * LD793 .H18u Arts Library Reference, Powell Library, Powell Library Main Reading Room Reference, YRL Reference Core Collection, YRL, SRLF -
UCLA : The First Century
by
Call Number: * LD781.L72 D86 2011 Arts Library Reference, Powell Library, Powell Library Main Reading Room Reference, YRL Reference Core CollectionISBN: 9781906507374 -
University Planning and Architecture : the search for perfection
by
Call Number: NA6600 .C68 2011 Arts Library ReferenceISBN: 0415571103 -
Westwood
by
Call Number: F869.W52 W36 2010 Arts Library Reference, Powqell LibraryISBN: 9780738569109
-
Royce Hall* LD795.R69 K52 1985 Arts Library Reference, Arts Library Oversize*, Powell Library Main Reading Room Reference, SRLF, Music Library Reference Collection, YRL Reference Core Collection
-
University of California Los Angeles, Powell Library, Westwood, Los Angeles, Los Angeles County, CARecords from the Historic American Buildings Survey, including photographs & historical and descriptive data.
-
Meier : Richard Meier & Partners: complete works 1963-2008* NA737.M44 J645 2008 Arts Library Reference Oversize; SRLF
Includes detailed information & plans for the Broad Art Center -
The Franklin D. Murphy Sculpture Garden at UCLA / Cynthia Burlingham ; with essays by Victoria Steele, Marc Treib ; and contributions by Claudine Dixon, Allegra Pesenti.NB197 .B87 2007 Arts Library Reference; Powell Library
-
The Benjamin and Gladys Thomas Air Photo Archives, 1918-1971 -Oblique photographs of California. Originals are housed in the UCLA Department of Geography.
-
Calisphere This link opens in a new windowOver one million photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more from the collections digitized and contributed by all ten campuses of the University of California and other important libraries, archives, and museums throughout the state.
-
Hoover Collection : images of UCLA, 1927-1964A collection of images of UCLA, including construction images of several major buildings designed by George W. Kelham, aerial views of the Westwood campus, and faculty and students during the 1930's.
-
UCLA Centennial 2019 Story MapAn interactive story presenting 100 years of the UCLA Campus. Most maps presented in this story are part of the UCLA Henry J. Bruman Map Collection.
-
UCLA Historic Photographs - Hoover (Thelner B.) and Hoover (Louise E. B.) photographic collectionThelner Barton Hoover's images of the UCLA buildings and academic community provide a thorough pictorial history of the UCLA Westwood campus. The almost 1,600 images range from the State Normal School in 1925 through the Alumni Association Awards in 1982.
-
UCLA Image LibraryDesigned to support UCLA branding, for campus communications and to help to tell the UCLA story. Only registered users may download images. (Site managed by UCLA Marketing & Special Events)
-
UCLA PhotographyUCLA Photography specializes in Event, Sports, Product, Architectural and Portrait photography. They also house an archive of UCLA photographs dating back to the 1940's.
-
UCLA Public Art CollectionImages of artwork located in public spaces across the UCLA campus (in ARTstor, via JSTOR Forum). Does not include work under the curatorial purview of the Fowler Museum, the Hammer Museum, or the Medical Center Art Collection.
-
University Archives Photographic FilesCollection contains photographic prints, photographic negatives, and slides of buildings, events, and organizations affiliated with: the Los Angeles State Normal School (LASNS), 1881-1919; the University of California, Southern Branch, 1919-1926; and the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA), 1927-current.
-
The Visual History of UCLA as Told Through 10,000+ ImagesFeatures photographic prints from the University Archives Photographic Reference collection.
-
UCLA University Archives (searched through the Online Archive of California)Includes records for UCLA's academic and administrative units, such as Capital Programs, Planning Office, Campus Architects and Engineers, and more.
Note that access to some records is RESTRICTED and may require prior permission of the UCLA Capital Programs office before access is granted.
Consider searching the UCLA Library Catalog under the following Subject Headings:
- University of California, Los Angeles--Buildings.
- University of California, Los Angeles--Description and travel--Views.
- University of California, Los Angeles--History.
- University of California, Los Angeles--Planning.
- [Name of building (Los Angeles, Calif.)]--Designs and Plans (e.g.: Myra Hershey Hall (Los Angeles, Calif.)--Designs and plans.)
- College buildings--California--Los Angeles.
- Campus planning--California--Los Angeles.