Country Information
The Basics
In addition to The World Factbook from Central Intelligence Agency, Background Notes from State Department, Country Study from Library of Congress, you may want to consult these other sources to identify possible positions your country may take for historical, political, economic or other reasons.
-
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to the complete 250-plus volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic, and social history, philosophy, and literature of selected countries and subjects. Continually updated with new volumes taken from the print series as soon as they become available.
-
country information from international organizationsIncludes links to country specific information from many international organizations. Compile by Librarians at the University of Colorado at Boulder.
-
State Department, Foreign Affairs Office and their equivalent in other countries
-
Political Risk YearbookAdd your country to the search, you can limited by Geographic Terms in the second drop down box.
-
CountryWatchPrimarily focus on economic and business outlook.
Add your country to the search, you can limited by Geographic Terms in the second drop down box.
-
Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Europa World Year Book and Europa Publications' nine-volume Regional Surveys of the World series, which cover political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories and provide information on a variety of international organizations.
Scholar Analysis (Geographic/Cultural Regions)
-
Africa-Wide Information This link opens in a new windowMaterial on Africa from the 19th century to the present. Sources include books, journal and magazine articles, radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, pamphlets, maps, reports, theses, and music recordings.
-
American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies (ABSEEES) This link opens in a new windowCovers North American and some European scholarship since the late 1980s on East-Central Europe, Russia, the former Soviet Union and former Soviet republics. Indexes journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government publications.
-
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new windowIndex of western-language monographs, articles, and book chapters on all parts of Asia and Asian Studies (East Asia, Southeast Asia, South Asia, Indian Ocean) published since 1971.
-
FRANCIS This link opens in a new windowAn index to European journal articles in the humanities and social sciences. Multiple languages, 1972 to 2015. FRANCIS is no longer being updated.
-
Hawaii Pacific Journal Index This link opens in a new windowAn index to journals published in or about Hawaii and the Pacific.
-
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS Web) This link opens in a new windowCitations for books, journal articles, conference papers, and websites that pertain to the disciplines covered by HLAS. Humanities coverage includes: art, history, literature, music, and philosophy. Social Sciences coverage includes archeology, ethnology, economics, geography, government and politics, international relations, political economy, and sociology.
-
Area Studies Research GuidesFor additional scholarly sources, see individual regional/area studies resource guides. Alternatively, you can also browse online sources by subject.
Culture and Customs
Not all articles are available in databases that UCLA subscribes to. The Los Angeles Public Library (LAPL) has a number of databases available to anyone with an LAPL library card. You can get an ECARD online-no need to go to a library.
- CultureGrams is a helpful source for concise information on countries of the world that is available from LAPL.
-
Daily Life through History (Academic) This link opens in a new windowIncludes reference books, images, time lines and primary documents on a range of topics related to world history, folklore, and culture depicting essential activities of daily life across the globe and throughout history.