Filmographic Information
Find basic info like alternative titles, date of release, and occasional reviews.
- Film Index International This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth indexing of international films from the silent period to the present, with selected biographical information, searchable plot summaries, and full cast and crew lists. Based on the Summary of Film and Television database maintained by the British Film Institute.
- IMDb: Internet Movie DatabaseFreely available vast database with filmographic information, links to reviews, and some box office data.
Online Reference Tools
Use these reference books to provide an overview of your topic, define terms, and list recommended readings. If connecting from home, make sure your computer is configured for off-campus access.
- Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film
- This link opens in a new window
Online via Gale Ebooks. The print volumes of this set are also available at the Arts Library. Good for coverage of national cinemas and major genres. - Encyclopedia of Latin American History and CultureProvides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
- Gale E-Books (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text online of several interdisciplinary reference books that are cross-searchable
- Notable Twentieth-Century Latin American Women: A Biographical Dictionary
- This link opens in a new window
- International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers
- This link opens in a new window
Online via Gale Ebooks. Search by film title or name of director, actor, or designer. Print editions (including earlier ones with different coverage) are available in the Arts Library.
- Latino American Experience This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference portal that includes biographies and interdisciplinary information on a range of topics.