Ukrainian History and Culture

A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers.

The Donetsk and Luhansk Newspaper Collection incorporates 10 rare newspapers from the self-proclaimed Donetsk and Luhansk (Lugansk, in local spelling) republics of Ukraine. Coverage includes the period of military hostilities between the unrecognized states and the government of Ukraine (2013-2015).

INTEGRUM™ Profi is the largest archive of mass-media sources from Russia and countries of the former Soviet Union with analytical tools. The archive contains Moscow and Russian regional newspapers and magazines, on-line, TV and radio sources as well as media sources from the CIS and some other countries with the archive of some of them back to the late 1980s - early 1990s.
TO ACCESS: Click the link, select interface (English interface windows-1251 encoding is selected by default), and click the grey "Enter (no registration)" button.

Izvestiia was founded in March 1917 and during the Soviet period was the official organ of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR.

Pravda Ukrainy (originally Sovetskaia Ukraina) was a Russian-language Soviet Ukrainian daily and a newspaper of record, serving as the official organ of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of Ukraine and Supreme Soviet of the Ukrainian SSR. Covers 1938-2014.

Contains an extensive range of both rare and well-known wartime publications for soldiers serving in major theatres around the world. Publications are included from many key nations involved in the conflict, such as the US, Canada, New Zealand, India, and the countries of Europe, Africa and the Middle East.

This resource provides access to Kulʹtura (Culture), a Russian weekly newspaper previously published under the titles: Rabochiĭ i iskusstvo (1929-1930), Sovetskoe iskusstvo (1931-1941), Literatura i iskusstvo (1942-1944), Sovetskoe iskusstvo (1944-1952) and Sovetskai︠a︡ kulʹtura (1953-1991). Throughout the years the newspaper articles reviewed major events in Russian cultural life, in literature, theater, cinematography and arts.

In Kyiv, Sovetskaia Ukraina (later Pravda Ukrainy) was a Russian-language Soviet Ukrainian daily and a newspaper of record, serving as the official organ of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of Ukraine and Supreme Soviet of the Ukrainian SSR. The newspaper was the Ukrainian Communist Party’s leading print media agent in the dissemination of the party’s opinions about politics, culture, economics and other issues.

Important periodicals published in European nations which used to be part of the Soviet Union. The sources are in mostly in Russian.

Translated and English language news compiled from foreign media sources. Coverage includes political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events from 1995 through 31 December 2013. Includes FBIS Reports from 2002-2005.

A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers.

Hundreds of encyclopedia entries and peer-reviewed articles of transnational and global historical perspectives on topics of World War I. This collection includes Brill’s Encyclopedia of the First World War.

Interdisciplinary bibliography of Europe, North Africa and the Near East for the period 300-1500. Comprehensive current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide.

Full text back issues of core scholarly journals, browsable and searchable across multiple disciplines. Coverage starts with first issue, with moving wall for most recent 3-5 years. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books only. JSTOR also includes primary source collections, including images from Artstor.

Krasnyi Arkhiv was published in Moscow from 1922 till June 1941 first by the Central Archives of the USSR and later by the Central Archival Administration. The proclaimed goal of this journal was to reveal the secrets of diplomatic documents hidden in the archives of Tsarist Russia and to regularly publish important archival papers “for the education of the proletariat”.

Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.

More than 80,000 declassified documents in collections such as Afghanistan, Berlin Crisis, China and the US, Cuban Missile Crisis, El Salvador, Iran-Contra Affair, Intelligence Community, Iran Revolution, Iraqgate, Japan and the US, Military Uses of Space, Nicaragua, Nuclear Non-Proliferation, Philippines, Presidential Directives, obtained through of the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).

The Stalin Digital Archive contains a selection of documents from Fond 558, which covers Stalin's personal biography, his work in government, and his conduct of foreign affairs.The SDA is a result of collaboration between the Russian State Archive of Social and Political History (RGASPI) and Yale University Press (YUP) to create an electronic database of finding aids, to digitize documents and images, and to publish in different forms and media materials from the recently declassified Stalin archive in the holdings of RGASPI.

Online news magazine that covers political, social, cultural, and economic issues in the former communist countries of Europe and Central Asia.

Published by the Russian Academy of Sciences, Voprosy istorii (Issues of History) has offered scholarly perspectives on events in Russia and the world since 1926. First published under the title Istorik-Marksist (Marxist Historian, 1926-1941), then Istoricheskii zhurnal (History Journal, 1937-1945) and finally under the title Voprosy Istorii since 1945. This archive covers 1924 - present.

Current country, company, industry, economic, and legal information for over 80 emerging markets in Asia, Australia, Central, Eastern, Southeastern Europe, and the Middle East/North Africa. Country profiles; macroeconomic statistics, forecasts, analysis, reports on financial markets, companies and industries; exchange rates; analyst reports; legal information; and business news. Documents from more than 13,000 local and global providers. Dates of coverage vary; updates are daily.

Online edition of a three volume set, covering the Americas, Europe, and Africa, Asia, and Oceania.