Russian Literature and Culture

Site that posts events, seminars, or lectures relating to music and art. Films are recommended. A history of the Ballet Russes’s dance, music, and visual arts is offered.

“The Moscow State Academy of Choreography, commonly known as The Bolshoi Ballet Academy, is one of the oldest and most prestigious schools of ballet in the world, located in Moscow.” Youtube Channel.

“It is one of the oldest theatres in the country, and it has remained a major musical centre during its history.” Site offers many videos, archival material, and historical material.

Famous ballet school founded in 1977. Youtube Channel.

This virtual exhibit shows more than 200 original documents and art works drawn from the holdings of Houghton Library’s Harvard Theatre Collection. “It is intended that this exhibition should narrate—however episodically—the history of Serge Diaghilev’s Ballets Russes, the creation of the individual ballets, and the life of Diaghilev.”

Concise timeline from 1850-1929 describing how Serge Diaghilev progressed with his work in ballet.

The first Russian School of Theatrical Dance, founded in 1738. Known at first as the Imperial Theatre School, and now known as the Vaganova Academy after alum and masterful teacher Agrippina Vaganova, the Academy has produced distinguished dancers and choreographers. The site offers a video gallery dating back to 2016 (also found on their Youtube), a video series titled “Dialogues about the School”, links to the School’s press appearances, and PDF links to the “Directory’s Diary” for 2016 and 2018.

This center is "about providing free resources and opportunities for Russians who want to communicate better in English, study in the U.S., learn more about American history and culture, and participate in exchange programs that enhance their skills."

Informative statements written from the Russian perspective about U.S. and Russian political relations, their trade economic cooperation, and their cultural connections.

This embassy is located in Washington DC. This link offers links to articles and reports on the website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation.

113,000 items across 17 collections including books, diaries, drawings, illustrations, leaflets, letters, periodicals, photographs, postcards, posters, state-issued documents, and video testimonies related to Soviet history, World War I, World War II, and Jewish culture.

From the collections of the State Public Historical Library of Russia (ГПИБ), e-copies of ephemera from various elections and referendum campaigns in the Soviet Union and Russian Federation beginning in 1989.

An online collection of digitized Soviet and post-Soviet postcards. Grouped by category (i.e., Childrens’ Museum Postcards, Collection of X Artist).

“The RIA Novosti Photo Service is Russia's most comprehensive photo resource, and is the largest such archive in any former Soviet country [which] includes historical photographs from the 19th century [and an] unrivaled collection of images by world famous photographers" (Harvard). The main page has tab categories of archives, calendar dates and events, collections, images from reports of events, infrographics, international exhibit forums, "Official Russia", sports, and videos.

Over 2000 digital images of ephemera from the collections of various Russian libraries, dating from 1852 to 1945, ranging from book publishing in Russia, fine materials, Russian periodicals and magazines, Slavic-Russian handwritten materials, Western European manuscripts, etc.

Historical photos, postcards, posters, and prints from the Russian history collections.

Digitized copies of modern and archived (early 20th century) books, journals, newspapers, etc. related to children's pedagogy.

An extremely accessible, intriguing, and interactive collection of artistic statements, biographies, and works of female artists from Central and Eastern Europe from the 1960s through present.

Helpful introductory guide to Russian cuisine. Includes more resources about Russian lifestyle and travel.

Curated by Dr. Sasha Razor, this exhibit brings together the protest art of twelve women artists from Belarus, uniting such movements as craftivism and cyberfeminism alongside traditional textile arts.

Museum showcasing the work of Peter Carl Fabergé (or Karl Gustavovich Fabergé), who was a Russian goldsmith and jeweller. He is famous for creating Fabergé eggs made in the style of genuine Easter eggs, using precious metals and gemstones instead of more mundane material. Site offers collection highlights.

One of the most famous museums in Russia, the Hermitage is an art and culture museum located in St.Petersburg. Its website offers thousands of images filtered under several categories.

Museum in Massachusetts: “We are the center for icon studies in the U.S., offering access to the country’s largest collection of icons and Eastern Christian art, as well as research resources and programs for scholars”.

The only surviving Tatar fortress in Russia and an important place of pilgrimage. Offers glimpses of past and current exhibits as well as scholarly research resources such as publications, conferences, seminars, etc.

Museum in Moscow.

Offers collections, virtual tours, and research sources.

Museum in Minneapolis.

Not as interactive as a typical museum site but offers several scholarly resources.

The Russian Cultural Center (RCC) serves as one of the major sites for holding different cultural and public events. Its main goals include familiarizing local audiences with the history and culture of Russia’s peoples, supporting teaching and studying of the Russian language, and sponsoring science, education, sports and tourism activities. The RCC is also an official exam center for Russian Language Proficiency Testing. An important goal of the RCC’s work is developing cooperation with the Russian compatriots living in the USA by supporting various projects aimed at maintaining their cultural and ethnic identity and their connection with Russia.

Museum in New York.

Also one of the most famous landmarks in Russia, as it houses Catherine the Great’s Palace.

Located in St. Petersburg, this is a large architectural landmark cathedral that currently functions as a museum with occasional church services. Offers exhibitions and scholarly research resources.

Located in St.Petersburg. Extremely interactive and offers extensive resources: online exhibitions, publications, collections, projects, archives, etc.

Numerous art pieces online from the Tretyakov Gallery in Moscow.

A quick overview of Russian theater during the Russian Empire, the USSR period, and Modern Russia.

According the website’s description (in Russian only), “This magazine, addressed to connoisseurs and theater lovers, was published for 8 years (1991-1998), and it would not be an exaggeration to say that it has entered the history of Russian theatrical culture.” PDFs are available for every single issue over these 8 years.

Online videos of classic Soviet and Russian films, including English subtitles.

The largest center in Siberia for aesthetic and spiritual education of children and youth, open to all areas of creative activity. This link leads to its projects archives.

The Tovstonogov Bolshoi Drama Theater (BDT) is located in St. Petersburg and is considered one of the best Russian theaters. This link leads to previous archival spectacles and its corresponding descriptions. The theater’s YouTube Channel can be found here.

The Russian Institute of Theatre Arts is the largest and oldest independent theatrical arts school in Russia. It is “the only higher educational institution in Russia where students receive education in all theatrical specialties and training levels in eight departments: acting, choreography, directing, musical theater, new trends of performing arts, production, set design and theater studies.”

The first free musical note and sheet collection on the Russian Internet. Compositions of famous composers available for download.

Site offers links to archives to conferences and seminars, the library’s projects, their publications, and virtual and mobile exhibits.

Part of the Harvard Theater Collection, which holds one of the world’s largest collections of stage designs by Russian artists. This link comprises artwork for ballets, early films, operas, and plays most dating from 1890 to 1930, hundreds of set and costume designs, portraits, and program covers. At its core is a significant collection of original art commissioned by impresario Serge Diaghilev for the Ballets Russes.

“Some libraries useful for theater researchers.”

Website offers instructions on how to use the catalog, which offers entire books either in a “read online” (with a table of contents to help navigate) or a downloadable format (RAR or PDF). Tabs include General Catalog, Reading Room for the Современная драматургия (“Modern Dramaturgy”) journal, Personas, Search, and Different Digital Libraries.

A collection of digitized books, serials, images and archives related to Russian performing arts. The following categories are: Archival Documents, Books, Costume Sketches, Dramaturgy, Illustrations, Periodical Publications,, Playwright Manuscripts, Publications, Reference, Theater Decor, Theater Library, and War/Blockade/Memory. Within each category exist corresponding materials.

“Modern and classical plays, books, textbooks and literature on theatrical subjects are presented. The works of Russian playwrights and translations of foreign dramaturgy into Russian, etc. are posted.” A search bar with filters, downloadable play manuscripts, and Современная драматургия (“Modern Dramaturgy”) journal issues back until 2010 are offered.