UCLA Dissertations
Search the Library Catalog for UCLA dissertations by author, title, or subject. Dissertations also have the form subject heading: Dissertations, academic — UCLA — department.
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
Dissertations at UCLA and Beyond
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Index to doctoral dissertations from 1637 to the present, with abstracts since 1980. A number of master's theses are also indexed, with abstracts since 1988. Many are available for download in pdf format. UCLA has access to all full text dissertations in the database. Non-UCLA users may use Dissertations Express to purchase digital or print copies of individual dissertations.
- Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Foreign DissertationsSearch the CRL Catalog for dissertations already held at the Center. If a foreign dissertation is not at CRL, UCLA's Interlibrary Loan Service will request that CRL acquire it for your use. This special issue of Focus on Global Resources describes CRL's extensive collection of foreign dissertations.
- WorldCat Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 5 million dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries. Many theses are available electronically, at no charge, directly from the publishing institution. UCLA students, faculty, and staff can request non-UCLA dissertations via interlibrary loan.
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and DissertationsThis international organization promotes the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic analogues to traditional paper-based theses and dissertations in order to more effectively share knowledge.
Spanish and Portuguese Dissertations
- TESEODatabase of dissertations from Spanish universities.
- Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes Tesis doctoralesProvides an electronic catalog of theses from Spanish universities. Arranged alphabetically by university. Some full-text available.
- Repositórios Científicos de Acesso Aberto de Portugal (RCAAP)RCAAP constitutes a single entry point for searching, discovery and recall of thousands of scientific and scholarly publications, namely journal articles, conference papers, thesis and dissertations, distributed by several Portuguese repositories. It includes theses and dissertations.
Latin American Dissertations
Many electronic theses and dissertations (EDT) databases contain full text content.
- Biblioteca Digital Brasileira de Teses e Dissertações (BDTD)A portal to Brazilian theses and dissertations coordinated by IBICT. Contains more than 130,000 records to theses and dissertations of 92 Brazilian institutions. Links to full text may be restricted.
- TESIUNAMDatabase of masters and doctoral theses of the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México since 1986. Full-text PDFs available for most.
Borrowing Dissertations
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)Instructions for making an interlibrary loan request for materials not located at UCLA.
- Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Foreign DissertationsSearch the CRL Catalog for dissertations already held at the Center. If a foreign dissertation is not at CRL, UCLA's Interlibrary Loan Service will request that CRL acquire it for your use. This special issue of Focus on Global Resources describes CRL's extensive collection of foreign dissertations.