News Sources
This is only a selected list of sources. Many also include transcripts of radio and television news programs. We also have access to other news sources/archives from different countries and in different languages.
- Access World News — Historical and Current This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from over 4,756 US and international blogs, journals, newspapers, newswires, videos, and web sources. Date coverage varies with individual newspapers. Formerly called America's Newspapers or NewsBank.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowFull-text business and general news content covering thousands of sources from more than 200 countries in 26 languages. Includes US and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, web sites, photographs, and trade and industry publications. Also: company and industry profiles; company-to-company/company-to-industry financial comparisons; stock price data; and stock charting.
NOTE: Text mining of Factiva is strictly prohibited.
- U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text dating back to the 1980s for five of the nation’s major newspapers, including the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.
- Keesing's Worldwide Online This link opens in a new windowDigest of political, social, and economic events for all countries of the world from 1931 to the present. Includes over 175,000 full text reports.
- Facts on File World News Digest This link opens in a new windowWorld news digest for 1940-present. Includes stories on people, stats, and world events from the top news stories for each decade.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports This link opens in a new window
The United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence, including transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news translated into English. Translations of print and broadcast news, Foreign Broadcast Information Service Publications 1996-2004, are available on CD-Rom. Years 1941-1996 are online in Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports.
- Online News Guide class="linkdesc">An online guide with more details on finding information from leading print, electronic, and broadcast news sources.
Other News/Political Opinion Sources
Note that below are supplemental indexes not representing the full political spectrum. We welcome suggestion of online resources for possible inclusion on this research guide.
- Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
A full text database comprising more than 200 newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press, providing an alternative perspective to the coverage of mainstream media. Coverage is from 1970--present.
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new windowIncludes alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines. The index is international and interdisciplinary, spanning the social sciences and humanities, with its central focus on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. 1969 onwards.
- Left Index This link opens in a new windowIndexes the literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Topics covered include the labor movement, ecology and environment, race and ethnicity, social and cultural theory, sociology, art and aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization.
Country Information
- Europa World Plus This link opens in a new windowOnline version of the Europa World Year Book and Europa Publications' nine-volume Regional Surveys of the World series, which cover political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories and provide information on a variety of international organizations.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to the complete 250-plus volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic, and social history, philosophy, and literature of selected countries and subjects. Continually updated with new volumes taken from the print series as soon as they become available.