Skip to Main Content

Image Research

This guide is a starting place for image-based research at UCLA.

See Also

Connecting from Off-Campus: VPN & Proxy Tutorials

The Library's online subscription resources can always be accessed from computers and wireless networks on campus. However, off-campus access is restricted to current UCLA, students, faculty, and staff who have set up their computer using one of the methods below. Click on the other tabs to see how four Bruins got their computers set up and ready to go for remote access!

If you still need help, you can contact the UCLA IT Support Center at (310) 267-4357 or help@it.ucla.edu. They provide 24/7 phone support.

VPN on Mac with Natalie
"I chose VPN for my mac because I need to be able to access the full text of articles on different browsers." - Natalie, Environmental Science
Download a UCLA VPN
VPN on Windows with Michael
"I chose VPN because I like the security it provides and the control it gives me as a user to manually enable or disable it when I'm browsing online." - Michael, Public Affairs
Download a UCLA VPN
VPN on Chromebook with Nadia
"I chose VPN because it is really simple to use!" - Nadia, Public Affairs
Download a UCLA VPN
Proxy on Mac with Kate
"I chose Proxy because I prefer logging in through a web browser without having to download any software on my computer." - Kate, Ethnic Studies
Proxy Server

The Top Six

Here are six of the most comprehensive and interdisciplinary resources for finding images. These are great places to start! When you're ready for a deep dive, you can explore dozens more resources in the discipline-specific boxes below.


Arts & Humanities Image Resources

 
Looking for images on a topic in the Arts & Humanities? 

Explore the tabs in this box to discover resources for finding images in Arts & Humanities disciplines, which include: performing arts, visual arts, art history, history, languages, literature, and philosophy.

Open Web image collections are available for anyone to explore, though the images you find may still be subject to copyright and other use guidelines. Always check licenses and terms of use before incorporating images into your academic and creative work.

Searching for image-rich print and ebooks

Print and ebooks are a great resource for finding images. Here is an example of how to find image-rich books using UC Library Search:

1. Enter your search terms in UC Library Search

2. On the initial search results page, locate the "Genre" filter in the left-hand column. Genre terms that typically describe books with images include "Exhibitions," "Exhibition Catalogs," "Pictorial Works," and "Illustrated Works." Select your terms and click "Apply Filters."

3. Your filtered results should now include image-rich items!

 

For more information on using UC Library Search, including how to access and place requests for books, see this guide.


Using print indexes for finding images in books

There are several print indexes that can help locate reproductions of images in books and periodicals for many disciplines. You can locate indexes by searching " pictures -- indexes "  as a subject term in the library catalog. Here are some indexes specific to Arts & Humanities disciplines:

Archival collections, whether digital or physical, are often great resources for finding images.

Here are some digital archival collections specific to Arts & Humanities research:


To locate physical archival collections, try exploring these resources:

Social Sciences Image Resources

Looking for images on a topic in the Social Sciences? 

Explore the tabs in this box to discover resources for finding images in Social Sciences disciplines, which include: anthropology, economics, geography, political science, psychologyand sociology.

Open Web image collections are available for anyone to explore, though the images you find may still be subject to copyright and other use guidelines. Always check licenses and terms of use before incorporating images into your academic and creative work.

Searching for image-rich print and ebooks

Print and ebooks are a great resource for finding images. Here is an example of how to find image-rich books using UC Library Search:

1. Enter your search terms in UC Library Search

2. On the initial search results page, locate the "Genre" filter in the left-hand column. Genre terms that typically describe books with images include "Exhibitions," "Exhibition Catalogs," "Pictorial Works," and "Illustrated Works." Select your terms and click "Apply Filters."

3. Your filtered results should now include image-rich items!

 

For more information on using UC Library Search, including how to access and place requests for books, see this guide.


Using print indexes for finding images in books

There are several print indexes that can help locate reproductions of images in books and periodicals for many disciplines. You can locate indexes by searching " pictures -- indexes "  as a subject term in the library catalog. Here are some examples:

llustration index 

N7525 .V27i 1980 Arts Library Reference, Powell Library Reference Wall Collection, YRL Reference Reading Room
N7525 .A66 1984-1993 Arts Library Reference, Powell Library Reference Wall Collection, YRL Reference Reading Room
N7525 .A66 1998 Powell Library Reference Wall Collection, YRL Reference Reading Room

Archival collections, whether digital or physical, are often great resources for finding images.

Here are some digital archival collections specific to Social Sciences research:


To locate physical archival collections, try exploring these resources:

Sciences Image Resources

Looking for images on a topic in the Sciences? 

Explore the tabs in this box to discover resources for finding images in Sciences disciplines, which include: biology, chemistry, earth science, astronomy, physics, computer science, mathematics, engineering, and health sciences.

While some of these resources are image-only databases, many are primarily article databases that include image search features.

Note that the resources in this list are provided to the UCLA community via paid subscription access. If you are off campus you will need to need to establish a VPN or proxy server connection; see the "Connecting from Off-Campus" box in the left-hand column of this page for more information.


To search within individual journals:

Searching for image-rich print and ebooks

Print and ebooks are a great resource for finding images. Here is an example of how to find image-rich books using UC Library Search:

1. Enter your search terms in UC Library Search

2. On the initial search results page, locate the "Genre" filter in the left-hand column. Genre terms that typically describe books with images include "Exhibitions," "Exhibition Catalogs," "Pictorial Works," and "Illustrated Works." Select your terms and click "Apply Filters."

3. Your filtered results should now include image-rich items!

 

For more information on using UC Library Search, including how to access and place requests for books, see this guide.


Using print indexes for finding images in books

There are several print indexes that can help locate reproductions of images in books and periodicals for many disciplines. You can locate indexes by searching " pictures -- indexes "  as a subject term in the library catalog. Here are some examples:

llustration index 

N7525 .V27i 1980 Arts Library Reference, Powell Library Reference Wall Collection, YRL Reference Reading Room
N7525 .A66 1984-1993 Arts Library Reference, Powell Library Reference Wall Collection, YRL Reference Reading Room
N7525 .A66 1998 Powell Library Reference Wall Collection, YRL Reference Reading Room

Index to illustrations of animals and plants 

QH 46.5 C54 1991 YRL Reference Reading Room  
Z7998.N67 C635i 1991 Biomed Reference

Index to illustrations of the natural world: where to find pictures of the living things of North America 

Z 7998 N67 T37 Powell Library Reference Wall Collection, YRL Reference Reading Room, BioMed Reference

National Geographic index, 1888-1988 

G1 .N27 index Powell Library Reference Wall Collection 
G1 .N21 index YRL Reference Desk

Archival collections, whether digital or physical, are often great resources for finding images.

Here are some digital archival collections specific to Sciences research:


To locate physical archival collections, try exploring these resources: