Census Bureau Publications
- Historical Statistics of the United States-Millennial Edition Online This link opens in a new windowSearchable updated source of historical data on government statistics, including population, work and welfare, economics, and more.
- ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, from 2013 to the present. Volumes covering 1879-2012 are on the US Census site.
- County and City Data BookProvides demographic, social and economic statistics for regions, divisions, states, counties and cities.
Data and Analysis
- Center for Economic StudiesPublic use microdata and Synthetic microdata available for researchers from the Census Bureau
- Data.census.govData.census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau. American FactFinder has been decommissioned.
- National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)The NHGIS provides aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2012. Funded by the National Science Foundation.
- National Opinion Research Center (NORC): Data AnalysisWeb version of data analysis tool for the General Social Survey (GSS) using NESSTAR from the National Opinion Research Center at the University of Chicago.
- Public Use Microdata Areas (PUMAs)PUMAs are statistical geographic areas defined for the dissemination of Public Use Microdata Sample data. Each PUMA is identified by a five-digit numeric census code.
- SDA: Survey Documentation and Analysis at UCBSDA is a set of programs for the documentation and Web-based analysis of survey data. SDA is developed and maintained by the Computer-assisted Survey Methods Program (CSM) at the University of California, Berkeley. In archives you can find US Census and California microdata from 1990, 2000, 2000-2003, 2005-2007 and 2006-2008.
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowA web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 100,000+ data variables, including: demographic data from the US Census dating back to 1980, the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), and D&B's Premium business directory providing access to over 20 million US business profiles. Additionally, users have access to the MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset, which includes data on over 8,000 brands and 450 categories as well as crosstab functionality with the Simmons NCS data. Premium market segment data is available from the PRIZM, ConneXions, and P$YCLE datasets enabling researchers to identify target market segments based on lifestyle, tech usage, and income. Localized survey data is available from the Nielsen Scarborough dataset, along with detailed financial data from the Financial CLOUT dataset. Data is available down to the Census Block Group level.
- State of the Cities Data System (SOCDS)Data for individual Metropolitan Areas, Central Cities, and Suburbs produced by U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD)
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowDemographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowOnline data and mapping application with access to more than 10,000 indicators for U.S. demographics, housing and real estate, income, mortgages, health, and more. Create custom maps, tables, and reports and upload your own data without expensive software and training. Online access restricted to UCLA.
- Missouri Census Data CenterIncludes census data from 2000 to 2010. Look for population estimates, health statistics, income data, and poverty figures.
- International Historical Statistics, 1750-2010 This link opens in a new window
Online edition of a three volume set, covering the Americas, Europe, and Africa, Asia, and Oceania.
- Atlas of the Historical Geography of the United StatesU.S historical maps, animated to show change over time or made clickable to view the underlying data
- Census.IRE.orgDownload bulk census data into csv or shapefiles
- Census: Relationship FilesText files describing geographic relationships
- CensusScopeEasy-to-use tool for investigating 2010 U.S. demographic trends
- County Business Patterns by NAICSData on businesses by detailed industry for all counties in the United States
- Data Access ToolsAll the data applications available from the US Census Bureau
- DataFerrettDataFerrett is a unique data mining and extraction tool. DataFerrett allows you to select a databasket full of variables and then recode those variables as you need.
- FFIEC Census ReportsUsful to get census demographic, income, population, and housing reports by state, county, and tracts.
- Geolytics/Neighorhood Change DatabaseNeighborhood Change Database. It consists of tract-level data from 1970 to 2010 that's been adjusted, so that the data from the earlier decades fits the geography of 2010, which makes it much easier to do historic analysis.
- Historical Statistical AtlasesStatistical Atlas of the United States, showing the expansion of settlement by plotting the westward encroachment of population density on maps from each census
- Longitudinal Tract Database TutorialThe Longitudinal Tract Database allows one to normalize census tract data from previous years to 2010 census tract boundaries
- US2010 Longitudinal Tract Data Base (LTDB)Allow researchers to analyze census tract data with constant boundaries for the period 1970-2010. Users can import their own data (such as crime or health data for census tracts) and convert it themselves to 2010 boundaries
- Missouri Census Data CenterThe MCDC offers census data for every state in the country.
- Population Estimates: Historical Datapre-1980 Estimates files available at the national, state, and county levels of geography
- ProximityAnalysis of Congressional and Legislative Districts, States, School districts,
- Selected Historical Decennial Census Population and Housing CountsThe US Census Bureau's historical data page.
- US Census Bureau site indexA-Z list of information available from the US Census Bureau
- Historical Overview of the CensusOverview of the census by decade
- Measuring America: The Decennial Censuses from 1790 to 2000Publication by the Census Bureau. Includes information on census questionnaires for each decade.
- US Census Bureau PublicationsList of publications by the US Census Bureau from Agriculture to Transportation
- US Population EstimatesEstimates of the population for the United States, its states, counties, cities, and towns, as well as for the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico and its municipios.
- US Population ProjectionsEstimates of the population for future dates
- United States Federal Government Documents Registry. HathiTrustThe Registry is intended to include item-level metadata for the comprehensive corpus of U.S. federal documents produced from 1789 to the present.
Useful to genealogy research are the population schedules of the census, which lists individual heads of households. They can be found at the UCLA library on microfiche and some digitized copies are available in the Ancestry Library database. The nonpopulation census schedules would be another good source.
- Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new window
An extensive collection of family history research databases, including the US federal census images from 1790 to 1950. Please note there are differences in features and content between Ancestry Library Edition and Ancestry.com subscriptions for individuals.
- Family History and GenealogyOfficial information and services from the US government for genealogists and family historians.
- Nonpopulation Census Records IndexView the index then find the records on microfiche at the UCLA Library.
- One-Step Webpages by Stephen P. MorseTools for finding immigration records, census records, vital records, and for dealing with calendars, maps, foreign alphabets, and numerous other applications.
- Researching Census RecordsHelp with genealogy reasearch using census records from the National Archives.
- California Census Research Data Centers (CCRDCs)Provides secure physical locations for researchers to study non-public microdata collected by the Census Bureau.
- The Institute for Quantitative Social Science (IQSS)The largest collection of social science research data.
- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)One of the largest archives of surveys useful in secondary analysis and quantitative research. Holdings include political and election studies, education studies, population research, economic attitudes and behavior, social indicators, and studies on health status from the United States and many countries worldwide.
- Minnesota Population CenterThe MPC is one of the world’s leading developers of demographic data resources
- Resource Center for Minority Data (RCMD)ICPSR Resource Center for Minority Data
- UCLA Dataverse (former Social Science Data Archive)Raw US Census data from Los Angeles area. Collection of surveys, enumerations, public opinion polls, and de-identified administrative records. Topics of studies include political attitudes and behavior; social and economic attitudes and behaviors; studies of health status and health outcomes; families, children, and women; international surveys of occupational and social mobility; the Los Angeles County Social Surveys; California Polls; and, census data for the United States and other countries.