Skip to Main Content

Anthropology 121C: Evolution of Genus Homo

Librarian for Digital Research and Scholarship

Profile Photo
Zoe Borovsky, Ph.D.
Contact:
phone: 310-825-4954
https://ucla.zoom.us/my/zoepster

Research Assistance

Research assistance in the social sciences and humanities is available at the Charles E. Young Research Library. See Reference and Research Help for complete reference service options.

Connect from off campus

Multidisciplinary Databases

Here are some databases and indexes that should be useful in finding articles related to anthropology.  These resources are licensed so you may need to configure your computer to connect from off-campus.

General Anthropology Databases

Relevant Scientific Databases

Recommend A Journal

Is there a journal that you think the library should have?  You can recommend a purchase here or make a comment below.

How to Find and Evaluate Articles

The UCLA Library subscribes to thousands of periodicals (magazines, journals, newspapers--items that are published at intervals with no end in sight). These periodicals may be in print, online, or both. Online periodicals may be part of broader article databases.  Articles are great resources for research.  Before beginning your research:

Finding Journals

If you know already know the name of the journal, search for it in the UCLA Library Catalog Put the journal title in the search box and select Journal Title or Journal Title (Start of) in the dropdown menu.  Skip any initial articles of the journal title (e.g., A, An, The). The record will give you the call number and location of print journals and/or provide links to the online version. If the UCLA Library does not own the journal, you may borrow it through interlibrary loan.

Finding Articles

If you already have the title of a specific article, search for the journal title first (see above instructions).

Searching Databases

To find the appropriate databases, go to the UCLA Library website. Under the Search and Find menu, select Article Databases and search by database name or subject. Once in a database, start with a KEYWORD search using words relevant to your topic. When you see an article that looks interesting, click on the title to see the complete citation. If there are SUBJECT TERMS or DESCRIPTORS, click on those that seem related to your topic to get other articles on the subject.

Some tips:

  • Not all databases provide the full text of articles.  Some are indexes that only provide citations, and sometimes abstracts.  Use the UC-eLinks icon button to do an automated search for the full text or to search for the journal title in the UCLA Library Catalog.
  • Do not pay for an article. Find out first if the Library has access to the journal or obtain the article/journal through interlibrary loan.
  • You can access these resoures for free while off campus! Set up your browser for the Bruin OnLine (BOL) proxy or VPN. All you need is your UCLA ID and password and an Internet connection.