Librarian for Digital Research and Scholarship
Research Assistance
Research assistance in the social sciences and humanities is available at the Charles E. Young Research Library. See Reference and Research Help for complete reference service options.
General Online Reference Sources
What Are Reference Sources?
Reference sources are authoritative works that you can refer to for quick information. They may contain specific information or introductory articles. Types of reference sources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, handbooks, atlases, bibliographies, and so on.
Use these electronic reference resources to provide an overview of your topic. If connecting from home, make sure your computer is configured for off-campus access.
- Gale E-Books (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text, cross-searchable online library of several interdisciplinary reference books. - Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Spans 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias. UC subscription allows limited simultaneous users, so if you can't connect try again later. - Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A good place to start, but note that it is an index to over 15 million articles in 11,000 subject encyclopedias and handbooks, both print and online and does not provide full-text articles. Instead, it will connect you to our catalog so you know where to find the appropriate encyclopedia, dictionary or other reference work. You will be linked to UCLA's holdings for any entries you find.
Encyclopedias
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Human Evolution by Call Number: GN281 .C178 1992; GN281 .C345 1992ISBN: 0521323703Locations: Biomed Reference Core; College Library Reference Wall Collection, YRL
Encyclopedia of Evolution by Call Number: QH360.2 .E54 2002ISBN: 0195148649Location: College Library Reference Wall Collection; YRL Reference Reading Room
Encyclopedia of Anthropology by Call Number: GN11 .E63 2006
Dictionaries
These resources are available in print only.
Dictionary of Concepts in Physical Anthropology by Call Number: GN50.3 .S847d 1991ISBN: 0313247560Location: Biomed Reference Core
Research Handbooks
Handbook of Paleoanthropology [electronic resource] by ISBN: 354033761X
Recommend a Reference Resource
Is there a reference resource that you think the library should have? You can recommend a book purchase here or make a comment below.