Encyclopedias & Other Reference Sources
-
All Things Shakespeare: An Encyclopedia of Shakespeare's WorldA detailed and informative encyclopedia describing Shakespeare's physical environment, including common objects, daily activities, and popular beliefs and attitudes.
-
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new windowEEBO contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
-
The Oxford Companion to British HistoryCovers the history of Britain from 55 BC to the present day. The entries, written and signed by over 100 specialist contributors, provide information on the following aspects of British history: political, economic, social, military, people, events, and institutions.
-
A Dictionary of British HistorySearchable database of information based on the Oxford Companion to British History. The resource is devoted to the history of Britain from 55 BC to the present.
Why Dictionaries?
You want to sure you are using the correct word to express your ideas. If you are not sure, you should check the definition in a dictionary.
-
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowIncludes the complete text of the Oxford English Dictionary, 2nd ed. plus quarterly updates of new and revised entries. Trace the origin and history of words and their meanings in this etymological dictionary.
-
Merriam Webster OnlineA commercial site that has both a dictionary and thesaurus.