Major OA Publishers
- BioMed Central (Basic Search) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Publisher of more than 200 OA journals covering STM (Science, Technology & Medicine); owned by Springer; peer-reviewed.
- PLoS: Public Library of ScienceNonprofit OA publisher; 7 biomedical journals; peer-reviewed.
Disciplinary and Subject Repositories
Below are links to well-known OA repositories. Additional repositories may be found via OpenDOAR (The Directory of Open Access Repositories) and ROAR (Registry of Open Access Repositories).
- AgEcon SearchOA repository of agricultural and applied economics research; includes working papers, conference papers, and journal articles.
- arXivE-prints from physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics.
- bioRxivPreprint server for Biology launched in 2013.
- CogprintsSelf-archived papers from psychology, neuroscience, linguistics, and computer science.
- PubMed CentralThe U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
- SSRN: Social Sciences Research NetworkAbstracts and full articles from multiple social sciences research disciplines, including economics and law.
How Do I Find Reputable OA Journals?
- DOAJ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This directory guides users to free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals across multiple subjects and languages.
- Open J-GatePeer-reviewed and professional and industry journals across multiple disciplines; indicates peer-reviewed journals.
- Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association (OASPA) Code of ConductCode of conduct for OA publishers.
- Beall’s ListAn up-to-date list of questionable OA publishers and their journals. Beall identifies publishers operating in a suspicious manner and taking advantage of unknowing would-be-editors or authors, but some of his choices are controversial so check his comments for other viewpoints.
- EigenfactorRanks journals in the natural and social sciences according to citation influence; also measures journal price and cost effectiveness
- Journal Citation Reports (Impact Factors)Check if a journal is indexed by Web of Science.
How Do I Find OA Books?
- DOAB: Directory of Open Access BooksThe primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books.
- NASA E-booksE-books from NASA about space history and aeronautics.
- National Academies Press E-booksThe National Academies (National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, and National Research Council) e-books and reports are freely available online. Registration may be required to download PDF versions.
- Open Humanities PressA grassroots response to the crisis in scholarly publishing in the humanities, Open Humanities Press is an international open access publishing collective whose mission is to make leading works of contemporary critical thought freely available worldwide.
- University of Minnesota Open Textbook CatalogAll textbooks in the catalog are openly licensed, complete, suitable for adoption outside the author's institution, and available in print.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Limit to full-view to see freely available books.
Open Access in the Humanities
- Open Humanities PressA grassroots response to the crisis in scholarly publishing in the humanities, Open Humanities Press is an international open access publishing collective whose mission is to make leading works of contemporary critical thought freely available worldwide.
- Open Humanities Alliance Journal IncubatorThe Open Humanities Alliance is a community of people committed to furthering open access to scholarship and learning in the humanities. This incubator site will help scholars experiment with open access publishing.
- Institute for Digital Research and Education: Humanities, Arts and Architecture, Social and Information ScienceIDRE-HASIS is a cooperative of faculty and technologists working to advance the existing body of computing knowledge and expertise at UCLA, especially within the areas of Humanities, Arts and Architecture, Social Sciences, and Information Studies research, education, outreach, and scholarly communication.
- Encyclopedia of EgyptologyAn online, innovative encyclopedia with an open access component. http://repositories.cdlib.org/nelc/uee/ in University of California's eScholarship.