Skip to Main Content

Global Jazz Research

Look here for help with research on Jazz music and Jazz musicians.

About Special Collections

The Performing Arts Special Collections holds many jazz collections available for research. Some items, like the photographs that decorate this guide, are available online. In most cases you have to use the material in the Library.

Jazz material can also be found in the Ethnomusicology Archive, the Chicano Studies Research Center, the Center for African American Studies, the Center for Oral History Research and several other UCLA study centers and libraries.

Jazz Special Collections at UCLA

Some of the significant jazz collections at UCLA.

1. Chaves Collection of Jazz Books.  An extensive collection of books on all aspects of jazz, even fiction and pictorial works. Find these in the UCLA Library Catalog by using a Call Number Search and enter "Chaves" in the Search Box. (These box have to be used in the Performing Arts Special Collections).

2. Green (Bill) Jazz Collection 1950-1996. Performing Arts Special Collections. This collection documents the musical legacy of the saxophone player Bill Green. Rich in Fake Books (real, unpublished fake books).

 
3. Weber (Mark) Jazz Collection 1970-2005.Performing Arts Special Collections. The collection consists of photographs taken by Mark Weber relating to the experimental jazz musicians during the 1970's - 1990's, predominant focus on photos taken in Los Angeles from 1976-1985. Also included are notes, clippings, interview transcripts, correspondence, programs, flyers ... Read More
 
4. Morehead (Howard) Papers 1945-2003. Performing Arts Special Collections. Howard Morehead was a highly regarded Los Angeles still and video news photographer. Over the course of his career, he photographed many of the important jazz musicians of his time, including Ray Charles (album covers), Aretha Franklin, Louis Armstrong, Billie ... Read More
 
5. Tapscott (Horace) Jazz Collection 1960-2002. Performing Arts Special Collections. The collection consists of sound recordings, musical compositions and arrangements of Horace Tapscott and other composers, and the performances of the Pan Afrikan Peoples Arkestra and the Union of God's Musicians and Artists Ascension. The collection is in the midst ... Read More
 
6. Coltrane (John) Transcriptions Collection. Music Library.. This collection consists of transcriptions by Andrew White of sound recordings

7.
Dolphy (Eric) transcriptions. Performing Arts Special Collections. This collection consists of transcriptions by Andrew White of sound recordings

8.
Parker (Charlie) Transcriptions Collection. Performing Arts Special CollectionsThis collection consists of transcriptions by Andrew White of sound recordings of saxophone solos.

9. Manne (Shelly) Collection. Performing Arts Special Collections. This collection consists of sound recordings, photographs, jazz magazines and journals, drumming method books, sheet music, books, tour itineraries, programs and fliers.

10. Fitzgerald (Ella) Collection of photographs and music 1920-1996. Performing Arts Special Collections. This collection consists of photographs, music sheets, folios, and ozalid copies.

11. Van Heusen (Jimmy) Collection of Musical Works and Papers 1920-1991. Performing Arts Special Collections. Collection consists of published sheet music and manuscripts, popular LPs of Van Heusen's and other's songs, and reel-to-reel tapes of LPs as well as home recordings. Includes personal papers, correspondence with Johnny Burke, Sammy Cahn, Bing Crosby, and Frank Sinatra, ... Read More

UCLA Center for Oral History Research

The UCLA Center for Oral History Research holds recordings and written transcripts of interviews, and many of these are online. One of their largest music collections is the Central Avenue Sounds Oral History Project. It contains interviews with Jazz greats like Gerald S. Wilson, Horace Tapscott, Buddy Collette and Marl Young.  

California Based Archives and Special Collections

The Online Archive of California indexes collections of archives and sources in California public institutions. The box below lists a sample of some of the larger jazz collections at UCLA.

In addition to these, jazz source material might be found in the Archive of Popular American Music and the Digital Archive of Popular American Music. Several sheet music collections in various institution provide digital copies of sheet music before 1923 (that is, sheet music in the public domain).

Important jazz collections in California include the Monterey Jazz Festival Collection at Stanford with many online recordings of performances.

Kenny Burrell

This photo is part of the Mark Weber Jazz Collection. To view it and more items in the collection, please visit UCLA Library Digital Collections

Kenny Burrell  is currently the Director of Jazz Studies at UCLA Department of Ethnomusicology. His archival collection is housed at the Ralph J. Bunche Center for African American Studies at UCLA

Cyrus Chestnut

This photo is part of the James Arkatov Collection of Jazz Photographs. To see more photos from this collection, visit the UCLA Library Digital Collections.

Horace Tapscott and Band, UCLA Jazz Festival, 1977

 

This photo is part of the  Mark Weber Jazz Collection. To see a larger version of this picture, or other images from this collection, please visit the UCLA Library Digital Collections