Searching for Books
A quick introduction to finding books at UCLA and other UC campuses using UC Library Search:
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
This quick tutorial and the accompanying handout (PDF) offer step-by-step instructions for finding and accessing thousands of e-Books.
The Library's online subscription resources can always be accessed from computers and wireless networks on campus. However, off-campus access is restricted to current UCLA, students, faculty, and staff who have set up their computer using one of the following methods.
VPN on Mac with Natalie
"I chose VPN for my mac because I need to be able to access the full text of articles on different browsers." - Natalie, Environmental ScienceDownload a UCLA VPN
VPN on Windows with Michael
"I chose VPN because I like the security it provides and the control it gives me as a user to manually enable or disable it when I'm browsing online." - Michael, Public AffairsDownload a UCLA VPN
Additional Platforms
For more information:
- Bruin OnLine Proxy ServerA browser setting which will automatically divert you to a UCLA logon page when you first access a restricted site.
- Virtual Private Networking (VPN)A program you can download and install, or use the built-in version on many computers or mobile devices. VPN software must be logged on manually before you access a restricted site, but works for all programs on your computer.
Reference Sources
- AccessScience This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full access to thousands of articles, dictionary terms, illustrations and graphics, bibliographies containing literature citations, and hundreds of Research Updates in all areas of science and technology. Updated daily. Also includes biographies of more than 2,000 well-known scientists from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography. Includes the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.
- CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics, Second EditionOnline compendium of mathematical definitions, formulas, figures, tabulations, and references.
- Digital Library of Mathematical FunctionsDigital handbook of mathematical functions with formulas, graphs, and mathematical tables. Managed by the National Institute of Standards and Technology.
- Encyclopedia of BiostatisticsReference to support the development and use of statistical methods for addressing the problems and critical issues that confront scientists, practitioners and policy makers engaged in the life and medical sciences.
- OECD Glossary of Statistical TermsThis OECD Glossary contains a comprehensive set of over 6,700 definitions of key terminology, concepts and commonly used acronyms derived from existing international statistical guidelines and recommendations.
- The Cambridge Dictionary of StatisticsNearly 4,000 terms are defined, covering medical, survey, theoretical and applied statistics, including computational and graphical aspects.
- StatsNETbaseA repository of statistical science e-resources across a wide range of disciplines.