Article Databases in Physics
Note that many of these sources only index journal articles -- they don't actually have the full text. Use UC elinks or Get it at UC button to do an automated search to find the full text, search for the journal title in UC Library Search, or request through interlibrary loan.
See entire list of Article Databases - Science and Engineering here.
- arXiv.org This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Automated electronic archive and distribution server for research articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computer science, quantitative biology, and statistics.
- BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citation index for articles in the life sciences. - Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and abstracts to over 5000 engineering journals from 1884 to the present, conferences and technical reports in the fields of chemical and process engineering, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics, communications, civil engineering, and mechanical engineering. Coverage is from 1884 to the present; print equivalent is Engineering Index.
- CERN Document ServerOver 900,000 bibliographic records, including 360,000 fulltext documents, of interest to people working in particle physics and related areas. Covers preprints, articles, books, journals, photographs, and more.
- Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage of the earth, atmospheric, and oceanic sciences, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Includes the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA), the Oceanic Abstracts, and the Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA). Can also be searched as part of the Natural Science Collection.
- Energy Citations DatabaseProvides access to over 2 million science research citations and nearly 300,000 electronic documents, primarily from 1943 forward. Made available by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE).
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowSearches articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents, and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites.
- Inspec (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to articles in over 4000 scholarly journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control, and information technology. Most citations include abstracts. Full-text is available for many articles. Corresponds to the print publications: Physics Abstracts, Electrical & Electronics Abstracts, and Computer & Control Abstracts. 1969 to present; Inspec Archive 1898-1968. - IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides Web access to almost 3-million full-text documents published by IEEE and its partners in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
- NIST Physical Reference DataNational Institute of Standards & Technology resource for physics data on the web. Includes data for atomic & molecular spectroscopy, X-ray & gamma-ray phsyics, condensed matter physics and nuclear physics, and various physical constants.
- NTRL: National Technical Reports Library from the National Technical Information Service This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and open access to a collection of more than two million historical and current government technical reports archived by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS). Over 500,000 documents are available in full-text format.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Also searches NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system. Note: This link uses a special address which turns on Get it at UC. Without that, PubMed does not link to UCLA's online subscriptions.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SciFinder-n is the new interface for the most comprehensive index to the chemical literature and related sciences, including chemistry, chemical engineering, materials science, & nanotechnology. Search 52 million article, patent, and conference references, the CAS Registry of 161 million chemical substances (many include property data) & CASREACT database of 126 million chemical reactions and preparations. Search by topic, reaction, or chemical substance (Registry number, structure, substructure). Already registered? Go directly to SciFinder-n.
- SLAC SPIRES — HEP DATABASEThe SPIRES-HEP database has been run by the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center(SLAC) since the late 1960's as a database of particle physics literature.
- SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data SystemA Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 9.4 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-prints.
- SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 275,000 technical papers on optics and photonics from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings published from 1990 to the present. More than 17,000 new technical papers are added annually. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index.
Article Databases in Astronomy
Note that many of these sources only index journal articles -- they don't actually have the full text. Use the Get it at UC or UC elinks button to do an automated search to find the full text, search for the journal title in UC Library Search, or request through interlibrary loan.
See entire list of Article Databases — Science and Engineering here.
- BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citation index for articles in the life sciences. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. - GeoRef This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered. - Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowSearches articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents, and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites.
- Inspec (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to articles in over 4000 scholarly journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control, and information technology. Most citations include abstracts. Full-text is available for many articles. Corresponds to the print publications: Physics Abstracts, Electrical & Electronics Abstracts, and Computer & Control Abstracts. 1969 to present; Inspec Archive 1898-1968. - Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
World-wide literature on meteorology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, and related environmental sciences from 1974 to the present. Updated monthly.
- NASA PubSpacePublic access to the peer-reviewed papers resulting from NASA-funded research, through PubMed Central. Full functioning starting Fall 2016.
- NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS), 1975+Covers astronomy, astrophysics, geophysics, and physics.
- NTRL: National Technical Reports Library from the National Technical Information Service This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and open access to a collection of more than two million historical and current government technical reports archived by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS). Over 500,000 documents are available in full-text format.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index.