Databases in Mechanical Engineering
Note that many of these sources only index journal articles—they don't actually have the full text.
To access full text:
- Use the gold UC-eLinks button to do an automated search to find the full text
- Search for the journal title in the UCLA Library Catalog, or
- Request the article through interlibrary loan if UCLA does not own the full text
For more tips, see our guide on database searching.
See entire list of Article Databases — Science and Engineering here.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers.
- ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers access to the publications of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers including books, journals, and proceedings. - Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and abstracts to over 5000 engineering journals from 1884 to the present, conferences and technical reports in the fields of chemical and process engineering, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics, communications, civil engineering, and mechanical engineering. Coverage is from 1884 to the present; print equivalent is Engineering Index.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowSearches articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents, and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore provides web access to more than five-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly-cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Does not include Draft Standards. - Inspec (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to articles in over 4000 scholarly journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control, and information technology. Most citations include abstracts. Full-text is available for many articles. Corresponds to the print publications: Physics Abstracts, Electrical & Electronics Abstracts, and Computer & Control Abstracts. 1969 to present; Inspec Archive 1898-1968. - Materials Science & Engineering Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Featuring content from 1962 to present, supports numerous areas of both materials science research and engineering. Includes scholarly articles, as well as patents, conference proceedings, and government reports. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
- NTRL: National Technical Reports Library from the National Technical Information Service This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and open access to a collection of more than two million historical and current government technical reports archived by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS). Over 500,000 documents are available in full-text format.
- SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes all Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) publications. Provides the full text of technical papers published since 1906, and journal articles published since 1998.
- Trans Tech Publications (scientific.net)The research reported in these 15 publications reflects high impact global contributions from scientists, engineers and materials scientists in the new areas and applications of these fields, including their intersections and emerging innovations and is among some of the most highly cited literature.
- TRID (Transport Research International Documentation) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Transportation database that combines the records from US TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) and the OECD Joint Transport Research Centre's International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD). TRID provides access to over 940,000 records of transportation research worldwide. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index.
SAE Information
SAE International (formerly Society of Automotive Engineers)
The Society of Automotive Engineers founded in 1905 changed its name to SAE International (History).
SAE papers are published in SAE Special Publications, in SAE Conference Proceedings, in the SAE Transactions, and in various SAE journals. Check SAE Mobilus for online versions or search the UCLA Library catalog for print.
AIAA — American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
The AIAA was founded in 1963, when the American Rocket Society and the Institute of Aerospace Science joined.
All years of AIAA meeting papers are now available online; see AIAA Aerospace Research Central (ARC) Library.
AIAA publications are also indexed in Aerospace Database.