Finding UCLA Dissertations for Graduates of Specific Departments by Year
For UCLA dissertations, search the UCLA Library Catalog:
- Click on the Advanced Search tab
- Enter dissertations "department name" UCLA in the search box; for example, dissertations physics UCLA
- Keep the middle drop-down menu set at "all of these words"
- Change the right-hand drop-down menu to "subject"
- Sort the results by date
Full-text UC dissertations since 1996 are available from ProQuest Dissertations and Theses.
As of March 13, 2012, UCLA's Graduate Division only accepts electronic filing of theses and dissertations. Theses and dissertations filed after this date will only be accessible electronically. They can be found by searching the UCLA Library Catalog, ProQuest Digital Dissertations and Theses, or eScholarship. Authors may embargo theses or dissertations for up to two years, so the full text of recent theses and dissertations may not be available.
Non-UCLA users can contact the library for advice on locating UCLA dissertations. The UCLA Library does not provide interlibrary loan service to individuals unaffiliated with UCLA. However, dissertations can be lent to institutions; see information for borrowing institutions.
Dissertation Databases
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Formerly ProQuest Digital Dissertations, this database indexes doctoral dissertations from 1861 to the present, with abstracts since 1980. A number of master's theses are also indexed, with abstracts since 1988. In addition to the full text of dissertations and theses from UC campuses since 1997, UCLA now has access to all full-text dissertations in the database. If the full text is not available, UCLA students, faculty, and staff can request non-UCLA dissertations via interlibrary loan. - eScholarship, University of California This link opens in a new window
UC's open access repository. Contains books, journals, working papers, conference publications, postprints, theses, and dissertations.
- WorldCat Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 5 million dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries. Many theses are available electronically, at no charge, directly from the publishing institution. UCLA students, faculty, and staff can request non-UCLA dissertations via interlibrary loan.
- Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Foreign DissertationsSearch the CRL Catalog for dissertations already held at the Center. If a foreign dissertation is not at CRL, UCLA's Interlibrary Loan Service will request that CRL acquire it for your use. This special issue of Focus on Global Resources describes CRL's extensive collection of foreign dissertations.
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and DissertationsThis international organization promotes the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic analogues to traditional paper-based theses and dissertations in order to more effectively share knowledge.
- British Library EThOSThe British Library's electronic theses online service aims to provide a single point of access to all theses produced by UK higher education. It currently contains more than 250,000 records, with 25,000 open-access theses available for immediate download. Researchers can request theses not yet available electronically, which will be scanned and made freely available.
- Dissertations of China This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database of masters, doctoral, and post-doctoral dissertations from China. The database holds full-text, or abstracts and other descriptive information, of dissertations from key Chinese research institutions from 1986 onward. Document delivery service is available upon request..