Research Guides: South Asian Studies: Specialized Scholarly Resources

Research Assistance

Research assistance in the social sciences and humanities is available at the Charles E. Young Research Library. See Research Help for complete Library research support options.

Libraries, Repositories and Archives

Bangladesh

National Archives and National Library of Bangladesh
Apart from books, government documents, and records, this archive also contains private documents of the late Khan Bahadur Nawab Ali Chowdhury, a Muslim leader and a former Minister of the undivided Bengal.

Bhutan

The National Library and Archives of Bhutan
A major scriptual repository and research facility dedicated to the preservation and promotion of the rich literary, cultural and religious heritage of Bhutan. This repository holds one of the largest treasuries of Mahayana Buddhist literature in the world.

India

Archives of Indian Labour
The V. V. Giri National Labour Institute and the Association of Indian Labour Historians provides a gateway to rich primary source material on the labour history of India.
CASSIR Cross Archive Search Services for Indian Repositories
This archival database is part of the ongoing project "Development of OAI-Based Institutional Research Repository Services in India" being carried out at the National Centre for Science Information (NCSI) to harvest metadata and provide web-based search and browse services.
GRETIL: Goettingen Register of Electronic Texts in Indian Languages
A collection of electronic editions of books and articles on indological and related subjects. The focus is on older standard works. The collection also contains some indological source materials from Central and Southease Asia, as well as some writings relevant to the history of indological research.
Indira Gandhi National Centre for the Arts
The Kalanidhi library holds personal collections of eminent scholars and artists, including Suniti Kumar Chatterjee, Thakur Jaidev Singh, Krishna Kripalani, Hazari Prasad Dvivedi, Heermaneck, Lance Dane, and Chaturvedi Dwarka Prasad.
Muktabodha Indological Research Institute
The aim of the Digital Library is to secure for future generations first the core texts of Kashmir Shaivism, and then to preserve those texts that form the intellectual context from which Kashmir Shaivism grew and was synthesized. These include the Kaula-Trika, Saiva-Siddhanta, Pancaratra, and Natha Yoga schools.
National Library, India
Under the Delivery of Books & Newspapers (Public Libraries) Act 1954, this national library receives books and periodicals in almost all the Indian languages.
Sound and Picture Archives for Research on Women (SPARROW)
This archive includes oral histories and pictorial materials.
Tata Central Archives
As the first ISO 9001:2000 certified business archive in India, the Tata Central Archives collects letters, documents, images, printed books, group publications, and ephemera of potential historical and critical significance to the Tata Group, one of the largest and most respected business houses in India.
Vidyanidhi Digital Library
This site displays the results of India's premier digital-library initiative to facilitate the creation, archiving, and accessing of doctoral theses.

(Source: Bindu Bhatt, South Asian Studies Curator, Columbia University)

Please pardon our dust! This research guide page is still under construction.

Social Science Data Sets

These data sets are provided by the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR). Access is restricted to UCLA faculty, staff, and students. If you experience difficulties accessing the data, please contact the Data Archive at archivehelp@issr.ucla.edu.

Subject Guides for Scholars

South Asian Studies / Center for Research Libraries