Searching for Articles in Journals
There are several ways to search for journal articles. You can start with UC Library Search, using the Articles, Books and more option, which searches all the databases the UCLA Library subscribes to. Or you can go to a specific database, such as APA PsycINFO, Academic Search Complete, PubMed, etc.
In either case, start with a keyword search using words relevant to your topic. When you see some articles that look interesting, click on the title to see the complete citation. If there are subject terms or descriptors, click on those that seem related to your topic to get other articles on the subject.
Los Angeles Public Library
Not all articles are available in databases that UCLA subscribes to. The Los Angeles Public Library (LAPL) has over 250 databases available to anyone with an LAPL library card. You can get an ECARD online-no need to go to a library.
The most useful database to try searching is Research Library (ProQuest), which UCLA does not subscribe to. It has some online journals not at UCLA.
Find a Film in the Library
You can search Kanopy for films to stream. You can look up film titles in the Instructional Media Library that you can view here in the library. Once you view the film, you can then look for reviews, etc., in the databases listed below.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
On-demand streaming video service for educational institutions with thousands of documentaries, training films and theatrical releases across diverse subjects and disciplines. More information on Kanopy access and use is available on this guide.
- UCLA Instructional Media Library CatalogOne of UCLA's central resources for the collection and maintenance of instructional media (film, video, DVD).
Databases that Index Journal Articles
This is a very select list of available article databases. If you want to look for others, go to this page and click through to your discipline (political science, sociology, history, etc.). Here you will find a selection of the most useful databases for each discipline listed.
is your link to full-text! Note that some sources only index journal articles—they don't actually have the full text.
- Use the button to find the full text or search for the journal title in the UCLA Library Catalog.
- Request the article through interlibrary loan if UCLA does not own the full text.
For more tips, see our guide on database searching.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. To search for a movie review, type in the FILM TITLE and select the field PS REVIEWS & PRODUCTS. - Access World News — Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text information and perspectives from over 2400 U.S. and international Blogs, Journals, Newspapers, Newswires, Video, Web-Only Sources. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper. - Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Complete text of independent press and alternative magazines and journals, 1995 to the present. - Economist, The (1997 - current) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Weekly news magazine focused on international politics, business, finance, science, and technology. Click on Weekly edition and then click on Browse all editions. Select the year you want in the pull down menu on the right and search for the issue. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text of over 200 ethnic, minority and Native American publications, 1990 to the present. - HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes 2500 legal journals, the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text and index of core journals in the social sciences & humanities from their starting dates to about 5 years ago. For more recent articles, check Academic Search Complete (see link above). - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text and index of articles in over 5000 newspapers and periodicals for about the last 20 years in a wide range of topics including current affairs, business, law, and medicine. Also includes court decisions, recent legislation, and statistics. - Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1985 to the present. For access to older issues, see Proquest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times. Click on Change databases to add other databases, such as the New York Times and search them at the same time. - New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1980 to the present. For access to older issues, see Proquest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times [1851-2019] - Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes movie reviews. Search for the film title and select Document Type Film Review. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles. - ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Legislative histories with full text of bills, debates, reports, and testimony. Also contains clear explanations of the legislative process and search strategies. - APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for articles in 1300 professional journals, conference proceedings, books, reports and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines. Most citations include abstracts. - PubMed This link opens in a new windowIndex of articles from about 3,900 journals covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the preclinical sciences, dating from 1966 to the present.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for motion picture reviews as SUBJECT and the name of a film. For reviews written since 1982, see Academic Search Complete. - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations for articles from over 2,600 journals, books, conference papers, and dissertations in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. - Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Network evening news broadcasts (more than 30,000) from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary index of scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, including proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Search cited references, authors, titles, subjects. - Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text, from 1984 to present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal [1889-2012].
