EndNote and EndNote Basic

EndNote is a software program that helps organize your research. It is available as a desktop program (see all the links below) and online as EndNote Basic.

EndNote works with various word processing programs to automatically create and format citations and bibliographies.

Check out EndNote's word processor compatibility (Windows and Mac)

Some files do not automatically load when you install EndNote. You can download additional Output Styles, Import Filters, and Connection Files from the EndNote website. For your convenience we have posted some of the most popular additional files on the EndNote Files tab.

Latest Versions

• EndNote 25 for Windows
• EndNote 25 for Mac
• System Requirements (Windows and Mac)
• Download a free 30-Day Free Trial from EndNote
• Academic discount for current students, faculty, and staff at UCLA Computer Store 

There is a wide variety of Endnote training videos on the Endnote.com website. The two below are a good place to start.

Update your EndNote desktop settings to make sure you can use Find Full Text within EndNote.

Go to Settings, then click "Find Full Text." In the Find Full Text area, check the boxes to help increase chances that full text will be imported into your EndNote library. Enter UCLA's OpenURL path into the OpenURL Path text box: https://search.library.ucla.edu/openurl/01UCS_LAL/01UCS_LAL:UCLA  

There are limits to the Find Full Text feature, as noted on this website: https://support.clarivate.com/Endnote/s/article/EndNote-Optimizing-Find-Full-Text-results-with-X2-and-later?language=en_US

"Find Full Text is not compatible with the following providers:

EBSCO

JSTOR

OpenAthens

Wiley*

ScienceDirect*

* Due to security features implemented by these providers, EndNote is not able to download and attach the PDF automatically, however, it may be able to add a URL to the library reference. If so, this link may bring you to a page where you can download the PDF manually to attach to your library."

To access restricted resources and enable EndNote's "Find Full Text" feature from off campus, use the Virtual Private Networking (VPN) UCLA authentication option.

• VPN Clients

To access restricted resources and enable EndNote's "Find Full Text" feature from your laptop on campus, use either the UCLA_WIFI Wireless Network or the Eduroam Wireless Network.

• How to connect to the UCLA_WIFI Wireless Network

• How to connect to the Eduroam Wireless Network  

Note: Sign into Eduroam using your UCLA Logon ID with @ucla.edu appended (jbruin@ucla.edu) and password.

There are known problems using Direct Export with Chrome and Safari browsers on a Mac OSX system. If you encounter a problem use the Firefox browser on Macs (see EndNote Knowledge base for further developments).