Interdisciplinary Indexes and Databases
Depending on your topic, these interdisciplinary indexes and databases may also be useful for research topics in the field of art history.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts for over 9,300 journals as well as books, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Features PDF content going back as far as 1865. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals. Includes an Image search feature. - America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes indexing information abstracted from over 1,700 journals published worldwide. - Annee Philologique This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An international critical and analytical bibliography of ancient Greek and Latin languages and literatures and all aspects of classical studies. Citations and abstracts for books, journal articles, festschriften, and other collections from the mid 1950s onwards, except for the most recent three or four years. Also known as Database of Classical Bibliography. - Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, edited works and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies. - Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of western-language monographs, articles, and book chapters on all parts of Asia and Asian Studies (East Asia, Southeast Asia, South Asia, Indian Ocean) published since 1971. - Critical Collective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online initiative by art curator and critic Gayatri Sinha, working towards building knowledge in the visual and cinematic arts in India. Includes essays, e-books, and other writing about exhibitions, art history, and lens-based arts such as photography and film. - Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (PDFs) of English and foreign language books, pamphlets, broadsides and other ephemera published in the U.K. and the Americas between 1701 and 1800. When complete, more than 33 million pages of material will support full text searching. This is an ongoing project based on The English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC), a list of holdings of the British Library, and more than 1,500 university, private, and public libraries worldwide. - FRANCIS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to European journal articles in the humanities and social sciences. Multiple languages, 1972 to 2015. FRANCIS is no longer being updated. - Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUses the Google search engine to search for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Includes full text and citations.
- International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary bibliography of Europe, North Africa and the Near East for the period 300-1500. Comprehensive current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete back-file for over 200 scholarly journals, including major titles from all subject disciplines. Tabs on the search results pages allow you to quickly display 'Images from Articles' or 'ARTstor Images.' - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
- Periodicals Index Online (PIO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles published in over 7,000 periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences, covering the period 1665-1995. Full text of many articles can be found in Periodicals Archive Online. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to doctoral dissertations from 1637 to the present, with abstracts since 1980. A number of master's theses are also indexed, with abstracts since 1988. Many are available for download in pdf format. UCLA has access to all full text dissertations in the database. Non-UCLA users may use Dissertations Express to purchase digital or print copies of individual dissertations.