Research Help
Need more research help? We're here for you.
Chat with us online
Email us your quick questions
Connect with a subject specialist
Additional Resource
- Electronic Theses and Dissertations Bibliography by Charles W. Bailey, Jr.Selected English-language articles, conference papers, and other printed and electronic sources that are useful in understanding electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs).
UCLA Dissertations
Search the Library Catalog for UCLA dissertations by author, title, subject, etc. Many records now have the link to online access. Dissertations have the form subject heading:
Dissertations, Academic — UCLA — department
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
Dissertations Beyond UCLA
Researching a dissertation topic includes checking to see of someone has already written on the topic you are considering. These sources can be consulted as part of your search. Dissertations not owned by UCLA may be requested on interlibrary loan from other institutions.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Index to doctoral dissertations from 1637 to the present, with abstracts since 1980. A number of master's theses are also indexed, with abstracts since 1988. Many are available for download in pdf format. UCLA has access to all full text dissertations in the database. Non-UCLA users may use Dissertations Express to purchase digital or print copies of individual dissertations. - eScholarship, University of California This link opens in a new window
UC's open access repository. Contains books, journals, working papers, conference publications, postprints, theses, and dissertations.
- WorldCat Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 5 million dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries. Many theses are available electronically, at no charge, directly from the publishing institution. UCLA students, faculty, and staff can request non-UCLA dissertations via interlibrary loan.
- Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Foreign DissertationsSearch the CRL Catalog for dissertations already held at the Center. If a foreign dissertation is not at CRL, UCLA's Interlibrary Loan Service will request that CRL acquire it for your use. This special issue of Focus on Global Resources describes CRL's extensive collection of foreign dissertations.
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and DissertationsThis international organization promotes the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic analogues to traditional paper-based theses and dissertations in order to more effectively share knowledge.