Online Encyclopedias
- Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A good place to start, but note that it is an index to over 15 million articles in 11,000 subject encyclopedias and handbooks, both print and online and does not provide full-text articles. Instead, it will connect you to our catalog so you know where to find the appropriate encyclopedia, dictionary or other reference work. You will be linked to UCLA's holdings for any entries you find.
Print Encyclopedias and Handbooks
Use these print sources to get an overview of your topic, to find out what the major issues are, and to provide general background.
- Berkshire encyclopedia of human-computer interactionSRLF QA76.9.H85; B46 2004 v.1-2
- Cyberculture : the key conceptsSEL/8270 Boelter Hall--Reference T14.5; .C95 2004
- Dictionary of media and communication studiesYRL Reference Reading Room P87.5; .W38 2000
- Editor and Publisher International YearbookYRL PN4709 .E23y
- Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the MediaYRL Reference Reading Room HQ784.M3; E53 2007 v.1-2
- Encyclopedia of Communication and InformationYRL Reference Reading Room P87.5 .E53 2002
- Encyclopedia of International Media and CommunicationsYRL Reference Reading Room P87.5 .E535 2003
- Encyclopedia of PropagandaYRL Reference Reading Room HM263; .E53 1998
- Encyclopedia of New Media: An Essential Reference to Communication and TechnologySRLF QA76.575 .E5368 2003
- Encyclopedia of Political CommunicationYRL JA85 .E65 2008 v.1-2; Also online.
- Encyclopedia of rhetoricYRL Reference Reading Room PN172; .E52 2001; Also online.
- Handbook of Intercultural TrainingYRL GN496 .H36 2004
- Handbook of Political Communication ResearchYRL JA85 .H36 2004
- History of the mass media in the United States : an encyclopediaArts Library Reference P92.U5H55 1998
College Library Reference Wall Collection P92.U5H55 1998
YRL Reference Reading Room P92.U5H55 1998 - Intercultural communication : a contextual approachBiomed Library HM1211 .N487i 2006
- The International Encyclopedia of CommunicationArts Library Reference P87.5 .I58 2008
- The Language of CinemaArts Library Reference PN1993.45 .J23 1998
- Major principles of media lawLaw Library Stacks KF2750 .O9
- Women in Communication: A Biographical SourcebookYRL P94.5. W65W667 1996
Dictionaries
The UCLA Library has dictionaries of all kinds, ranging from the familiar look-up-a-word type like the Oxford English Dictionary or Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary to very specialized dictionaries for particular fields. You can find these dictionaries in the UCLA Library Catalog. Here is a list of online dictionaries helpful for research in communications studies.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete text of the Oxford English Dictionary, 2nd ed. plus quarterly updates of new and revised entries. Trace the origin and history of words and their meanings in this etymological dictionary.
- Acronym FinderDefintions for over 600,000 acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms.
- Dictionary of StatisticsThis dictionary contains over 2,000 entries on all aspects of statistics.