Contact
Wm. Andrews Clark Memorial Library
2520 Cimarron Street
Los Angeles, CA 90018 USA
Inclusive Cataloging & Description at the Clark
The Clark Library is committed to inclusive and ethical description practices, and is an active partner in the wider UCLA Library's work in this area.
For more information, see the Clark's 2020 statement on cataloging and the UCLA Library's page on Ethical Description.
Finding Collections at the Clark Library
Fine press and artists' books in this collection can be searched and located through UC Library Search, WorldCat, and in certain circumstances, the Online Archive of California.
The Clark Library uses an in-house numbering scheme for the call number of these monographs. They are organized alphabetically by the name of the press/publisher and then numbered within that name. The standard preface for these collections is "Press coll." -- for example, "Press coll. Grabhorn F001" or "Press coll. Schapers 013." The letter F indicates an oversized item; the letters FF represent extra-oversized items (longer than 46 cm).
The Clark Library also collects prints, periodicals, and ephemera by and about these collections. These materials are shelved in various places dictated by their size, shape, and quantity. Depending on their location and housing, the call number scheme varies.
Search Tips:
To find printed books, broadsides, maps, periodicals, bound manuscripts, and other discrete items from these collection, consult UC Library Search. To limit by collection, click on “Advanced Search” in the top right-hand corner and type “Press coll.” in Holding Call Number. Once you have search results, you can limit to the Clark Library by selecting it from the “UCLA Locations” facet on the left-hand side.
Alternatively, by selecting Browse from the top bar of UC Library Search homepage and selecting "Other Call number" from the drop-down menu, you can browse through these collections by entering the term "Press coll." You will see a pre-sorted list of titles by call number. Certain single-sheet or large items are housed in flat files and boxes. These can be browsed as above, but by searching "Clark artwork box" after selecting "Other Call number." The results will not be limited to fine press materials.
For archival collections by and about fine press printers and publishers or book artists, please consult the Online Archive of California (OAC). For guidance on searching and locating material, please see Archival Collections at the Clark Library research guide.