Selected Reference Entries
-
German Fiction: Nineteenth and Twentieth Century—The Oxford Guide to Literature in English Translation Karl Leydecker. 2001. “German Fiction: Nineteenth and Twentieth Century.” The Oxford Guide to Literature in English Translation. Oxford University Press.
-
German Literature—Oxford Reference Katy Hooper. 2016. “German Literature.” Dictionary Plus Literature. Oxford University Press.
-
German Literature—The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance Gordon Campbell. 2003. “German Literature.” The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance. Oxford University Press.
-
Literatures: Germanic—The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages “Literatures: Germanic.” 2010. The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages. Oxford University Press.
-
Multiculturalism in Contemporary German Literature—Contemporary Literary Criticism Select Paul Michael Lützeler. 2004. “Multiculturalism in Contemporary German Literature.” Contemporary Literary Criticism Select.
Selected Language Dictionaries
-
Deutsches Wörterbuch (DWB) Widely considered to be the most comprehensive German-language dictionary, Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm started compiling the Deutsches Wörterbuch (DWB) in 1838. The first volumes were published in 1854, and the DWB has since been revised and expanded. The digital edition is available for free online. UCLA also has a print copy available at the YRL Reference Reading Room, PF3625 .G7 1999, and a digitized copy is available in HathiTrust.
-
Duden-Werke The Duden Package includes the following dictionaries: Das große Wörterbuch der deutschen Sprache, Deutsches Universalwörterbuch, Die deutsche Rechtschreibung, Das Synonymwörterbuch, Das Herkunftswörterbuch, Richtiges und gutes Deutsch, Wörterbuch medizinischer Fachbegriffe, Recht A-Z, Das große Fremdwörterbuch, Wirtschaft von A bis Z, Lexikon der Vornamen, Wörterbuch der Abkürzungen, Familiennamen, Das große Wörterbuch der Zitate und Redewendungen, Geographische Namen in Deutschland, Das neue Wörterbuch der Szenesprachen, Wörterbuch der New Economy.
-
Duden Wörterbuch "This online dictionary provides you with comprehensive information on the spelling, grammar and meaning of a word. It also shows the correct usage as well as the pronunciation and origin of a word and lists its synonyms."
-
Grammatisch-kritisches Wörterbuch der hochdeutschen Mundart "Grammatical-critical dictionary of the high German dialect."
-
The Pocket Oxford-Duden German Dictionary: English-German "Essential vocabulary, clear translations, usage and grammar help in this English-German dictionary."
-
The Pocket Oxford-Duden German Dictionary: German-English "Essential vocabulary, clear translations, usage and grammar help in this German-English dictionary."
-
Wortschatz Lexikon Deutsch "Portal of the University of Leipzig with a vocabulary database, which currently contains around 9 million different words and phrases in the German language."
Selected Encyclopedias
-
Encyclopedia of German Literature
by
ISBN: 1579581382Date: 2000"A substantial contribution to English encyclopedias of German literature, this authoritative two-volume set features in-depth treatment of the authors, works, topics, and influences of German literary studies. Arranged in A-to-Z format, the articles are both definitive and critical" ("Outstanding Reference Sources," American Libraries, May 2001). -
The Feminist Encyclopedia of German Literature
by
ISBN: 0313293139Date: 1997Today, a multiplicity of feminist approaches has become an integral part of the fields of German literary and cultural studies. This comprehensive reference provides a much needed synthesis of the contribution women have made to German literature and culture. In entries for more than 500 topics, the volume surveys literary periods, epochs, and genres; critical approaches and theories; important authors and works; female stereotypes; laws and historical developments; literary concepts and themes; and organizations and archives relevant to women and women's studies. Each entry offers a concise identification of the term, a discussion of its significance, and a bibliography of works for further reading.
