General Primary Sources
- The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives This link opens in a new window
This searchable database brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. The database covers subjects in arts, music, and leisure, civil rights, counter-culture, law and government, mass media, new left and emerging neo-conservative movement, student activism, Vietnam War, women's movement, etc.
- Non-Alignment Archives at the WIlson CenterThis is a collection of primary source documents concerning the Non-Aligned Movement, also referred to as NAM.
- The Bandung Conference DocumentsArchived documents at the Luxembourg Centre for Contemporary and Digital History
- Empire Online This link opens in a new windowPrimary source manuscripts and secondary essays relevant to Empire Studies. The sections cover Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion & Empire; and Race, Class & Colonialism, 1783-1969.
Multimedia
- African Activist ArchiveThe African Activist Archive is preserving and making available online the records of activism in the United States to support the struggles of African peoples against colonialism, apartheid, and social injustice from the 1950s through the 1990s.
- The Palestine Poster Project ArchivesA web-based archives and curriculum project displaying more than 4,500 Palestine-related posters from 1898 to the present.
- Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new windowStreaming video access to documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. Includes access to the African American Classics collection from California Newsreel.
- Socialism on Film: The Cold War and International Propaganda This link opens in a new windowThis collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba. Browse sub-collections for more on subjects covered.
- LIFE Photo ArchiveGrowing historical photo archive for LIFE magazine, hosted by Google.
News
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
- Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
A full text database comprising more than 200 newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press, providing an alternative perspective to the coverage of mainstream media. Coverage is from 1970--present.
- Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new windowDigitized collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016. The 45 unique titles also include bilingual and Indigenous-language editions, such as Hawaiian, Cherokee and Navajo languages. Previously titled American Indian Newspapers.
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searches all ProQuest newspapers to which UCLA subscribes, both current and historical newspapers from major U.S. cities (Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal), international news sources, and alternative press.
- AP Newsroom This link opens in a new windowAP Newsroom (formerly AP Images) contains millions of photographs dating from 1826 to present day from the Associated Press. Includes thousands of graphics, audio files dating from the 1920s, and news stories and headlines from 1997 to the present.
Library Special Collections
Special Collections’ holdings contain a variety of materials that document the histories of Los Angeles’s varied communities. These materials include personal papers, records of organizations, government records, collections of photographs, oral histories, and various kinds of ephemera.
Finding aids for materials in Library Special Collections can be found in the Online Archive of California.