What Are Reference Sources?
Reference sources are authoritative works that you can refer to for quick information. They may contain specific information or introductory articles. Types of reference sources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, handbooks, atlases, bibliographies, etc.
General Online Reference Sources
Use these electronic reference resources to provide an overview of your topic. If connecting from home, make sure your computer is configured for off-campus access.
- Gale E-Books (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedias, dictionaries, and specialized reference sources, primarily in the social sciences and humanities.
- Oxford Reference OnlineContains several searchable interdisciplinary reference works from Oxford University Press.
- Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A good place to start, but note that it is an index to over 15 million articles in 11,000 subject encyclopedias and handbooks, both print and online and does not provide full-text articles. Instead, it will connect you to our catalog so you know where to find the appropriate encyclopedia, dictionary or other reference work. You will be linked to UCLA's holdings for any entries you find.
Selected Online Reference Sources
- The Oxford dictionary of the Middle Ages Covers all key aspects of European history, society, and culture from 500 to 1500 A.D., as well as the Byzantine Empire, Islamic dynasties, and Asiatic peoples of the era.
- New Cambridge medieval history Seven volumes cover 476-1492 C.E.
- The Cambridge history of medieval political thought c.350-c.1450
- The Cambridge history of Renaissance philosophy
- The Cambridge history of later medieval philosophy From the rediscover of Aristotle to the disintegration of scholasticism, 1100-1600
- New Catholic encyclopedia