Ethical Description

Access and rights metadata is important for users to understand what they can and cannot access, either physically or digitally, how they can and cannot (re)use library materials, and who they may need to contact to request certain usage permissions. For example, metadata about access provides information about physical access to materials or digital log-ins and paywalls. Similarly, metadata about accessibility - such as adaptive features, assistive technology, hazards, and other accessibility features - provides critical information for users about their ability to access library content. Without such metadata, users cannot accurately know what resources are actually available to them for the purposes they seek.

Access and rights information can often be recorded outside of a descriptive record, such as within holdings or inventory records. In bibliographic descriptions, this information is often found in notes (see the Notes Element), which offer catalogers many options with regard to what to include and how to record access and rights metadata. The cataloging community has in recent years proposed and introduced new MARC fields to better record accessibility metadata (e.g., MARC 341 Accessibility Content, MARC 532 Accessibility Note) as well as revised national guidelines to remove restrictions on recording such metadata (e.g. PCC Provider Neutral Guidelines.) These developments provide information on an item's open access status, re-use restrictions, or available accessibility features. The absence of this metadata can disrupt the user’s experience in trying to access library materials; it can also render such materials invisible to the catalog’s open access or accessibility search facets, and therefore to users specifically looking for these resources.

• How might existing cataloging standards that guide what rights, access, and accessibility information catalogers should note in records impact our ability to help users understand how they can access and use resources?
• Do we ensure that open access resources that have no paywall barriers are described as such so that they are discoverable by the larger user community we serve? Conversely, are we clear about when resources are behind paywalls or restricted?
• Do we provide accessibility metadata to ensure that users with accessibility needs clearly understand how they may use a resource?
• Are we proactive or reactive in ensuring that URLs for resources remain active and accessible for users?
• Considering UCLA is pursuing federal designation as a Hispanic-Serving Institution (HSI) by 2025, can we ensure that different language users would be able to navigate the UCLA Library Catalog?
• The UCLA Library Catalog includes records for collections that are part of Library Special Collections (LSC) and other units such as the Clark Library, which are sometimes stored offsite. Is the Access/Restriction note (see below) included in these records sufficient?

• Collection Stored Off-Site At SRLF: Open for research. All  requests to access special collections material must be made in advance using the request button located on this page.

• Information and links related to these requests are available in different parts of the catalog record including links to online materials, link to the finding aid, and location where you request access to the collection (by box). See example of the California Ephemera Collection catalog record below.

This non-exhaustive list contains documentation by various communities that address rights/access and accessibility metadata.