Article Databases
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Coverage of the agricultural and environmental sciences, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Includes the AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management, Ecology Abstracts, and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases. Can also be searched as part of the Natural Science Collection. - Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage of the life sciences, including scientific journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Includes the Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases. Can also be searched as part of the Natural Science Collection. - BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citation index for articles in the life sciences. - CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of the applied life sciences including: agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, applied economics, food science and nutrition. - CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text for more than 1,300 English-language nursing and allied health journals and publications back to 1937. Includes access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, Evidence-Based Care Sheets, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. - EMBASE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Embase provides essential biomedical evidence from evidence-based content, along with deep biomedical indexing and search forms to assist in building search strategies. - Faculty Opinions This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Identifies and recommends important articles in biology and medical research publications. Articles are selected by a peer-nominated global 'Faculty' of scientists and clinicians who then rate them and explain their importance. - Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. - APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and dissertations relevant to students, researchers, and professionals working in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Also searches NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system. Note: This link uses a special address which turns on Get it at UC. Without that, PubMed does not link to UCLA's online subscriptions.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index.
Books
- Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to authoritative and current medical data, updated daily. The central resource comprises databases of medical texts covering internal medicine, cardiology, genetics, pharmacy, diagnosis and management, basic sciences, patient care, and more. - SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Immense array of books, chapters, conference proceedings and journal articles in the social sciences and sciences, published by Springer-Verlag. After searching, unclick Preview Only Content, whose materials are not under UCLA subscription. Advanced search enabled at wheel icon to right of search.
- Stat!Ref This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides cross-searching of more than 46 medical texts including Stedman's Medical Dictionary and popular texts from McGraw Hill, Mosby, Lippincott, Williams & Wilkins, and the MEDLINE database. - Taylor & Francis E-books This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
E-books from Routledge, Psychology Press, and Focal Press, mostly in the humanities, social sciences, and behavioral sciences. UCLA subscribes to only a small number of the available titles. Also includes the scientific, technical, and medical reference books formerly contained in CRCnetBASE. UCLA subscribes to only a small number of titles beyond the former CRC collection. - Thieme MedOne Education This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Focused coverage of every clinical and scientific course in the medical school curriculum. Practical two-page units featuring clear, concise text alongside full-color illustrations for easy reference and review Ideal course supplement, study companion, and refresher for students and educators. Formerly Thieme E-book Library. - Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fifteen databases, plus individual journals and e-books. Includes 2011-present IEEE-Wiley books.
Decision Support and Patient Care
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of six databases designed to inform healthcare decision-making: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA), and NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED). It is an important resource for systematic reviews.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers instant access to the most current clinical information and recommendations on patient care and treatment, written by expert faculty from the world's leading medical schools and academic medical centers.
- Lippincott Procedures This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online source for evidence-based procedure guidance at the point of care. With procedures and skills from a wide variety of nursing specialties including allied health, it combines clinical content with online workflow functionality. - Joanna Briggs Institute EBP database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database allows you to search simultaneously, a wide range of summarized and appraised evidence, to inform your practice. This comprehensive range of resources includes over 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports.
- JBI Database of Systematic Reviews and Implementation ReportsJoanna Briggs Institute to promote and support evidence-based practice in healthcare. Access to evidence based resources and tools relating to all the health professions - medicine, nursing and allied health - as well as health policy makers, planners and executives. Articles from 2012 - 2019 are available within this database.
- JBI Evidence SynthesisJBI Evidence Synthesis publishes systematic and scoping review protocols, diverse types of systematic reviews, and scoping reviews covering multi-disciplinary healthcare-related topics that follow methodology and methods developed by JBI. The journal also publishes editorials, letters to the editor as well as original applied research and discussion papers examining synthesis methods.
Protocols and Methods
- Cold Spring Harbor Protocols This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Monographs, technical manuals, handbooks, review volumes, conference proceedings, scholarly journals and videotapes. These examine topics in molecular biology, genetics, development, virology, neurobiology, immunology and cancer biology. - JoVE Science Education This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Video database dedicated to teaching laboratory fundamentals through simple, easy to understand video demonstrations. - Springer Nature Experiments This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reproducible laboratory protocols and methods in the life and biomedical sciences. Includes Springer Protocols, Nature Methods, Nature Protocols, and Protocol Exchange.
- Protocols.ioInterdisciplinary protocol preprint platform
Reference Works
- MICROMEDEX Healthcare Series This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contents: Dosing and therapeutic tools — DRUGDEX — DRUG-REAX — IDENTIDEX — IV index — Martindale Pharmacopaeia — CareNotes — USP MSDS — Drug consults — TOMES system — Reprorisk. Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference — Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) from USP DI — Physicians' Desk Reference — REPRORISK
- Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A database of evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies utilizes a grading system which reflects the level of available scientific data for or against the use of each therapy for a specific medical condition. It contains three sub-databases: Herbs & supplements, condition center, and alternative modalities. For each therapy covered by Natural Standard, a research team gathers scientific data and expert opinions. Validated rating scales are used to evaluate the quality of available evidence. Information is incorporated into comprehensive monographs which are designed to facilitate clinical decision making. Formerly called Natural Standard.
- PsychiatryOnline Premium Package This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes DSM-5 (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders), the American Journal of Psychiatry, and other psychiatric reference sources from American Psychiatric Publishing.
Data Repositories
- NCBI CollectionsIncludes Gene Expression Omnibus (GEO) and other resources
- UCLA Dataverse (former Social Science Data Archive)Raw US Census data from Los Angeles area. Collection of surveys, enumerations, public opinion polls, and de-identified administrative records. Topics of studies include political attitudes and behavior; social and economic attitudes and behaviors; studies of health status and health outcomes; families, children, and women; international surveys of occupational and social mobility; the Los Angeles County Social Surveys; California Polls; and, census data for the United States and other countries.