Searching for Articles in Journals
There are several ways to search for journal articles. You can start with UC Library Search, using the Articles, Books and more option, which searches all the databases the UCLA Library subscribes to. Or you can go to a specific database, such as APA PsycINFO, Academic Search Complete, PubMed, etc.
In either case, start with a keyword search using words relevant to your topic. When you see some articles that look interesting, click on the title to see the complete citation. If there are subject terms or descriptors, click on those that seem related to your topic to get other articles on the subject.
Databases for Articles & More
These databases all have results if you use this basic search: "anti-aging" and therap*. Each database has ways to narrow your result list -- by date of publication, limit to scholarly journals, change the search terms to be in the SUBJECT or TITLE field, etc.
Even newspapers might have information you can use -- if you want to see how the subject is presented for the general public. Several links to newspaper databases are at the bottom of this list.
class="box-in-box highlight"> 
is your link to full-text! Note that some sources only index journal articles—they don't actually have the full text.
- Use the button to find the full text or search for the journal title in the UCLA Library Catalog.
- Request the article through interlibrary loan if UCLA does not own the full text.
For more tips, see our guide on database searching.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive business articles database covering more than 8,500 scholarly, professional, and trade periodicals in all areas of business. Coverages dates back to 1886. Content also includes books, case studies, Datamonitor company and industry profiles, conference proceedings, country reports (from CountryWatch, EIU, Icon International, and others), market research reports, SWOT analyses, profiles of the most-cited authors, and more. Sole electronic resource for full text of the Harvard Business Review and California Management Review. - CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text for more than 1,300 English-language nursing and allied health journals and publications back to 1937. Includes access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, Evidence-Based Care Sheets, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. - PubMed This link opens in a new windowCitations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Also searches NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system. Note: This link uses a special address which turns on Get it at UC. Without that, PubMed does not link to UCLA's online subscriptions.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1,800+ serials publications; also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage from 1952-present. - Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations (with abstracts) of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage: 1980-present. - APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and dissertations relevant to students, researchers, and professionals working in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. - Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1985 to the present. For access to older issues, see Proquest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times [1881-2015]. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish. - U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text dating back to the 1980s for five of the nation’s major newspapers, including the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.
Academic Journals
Clues that you're reading an academic article
- Abstract at beginning
- Footnotes or endnotes
- Bilbliography or list of references
Articles in academic (peer-reviewed) journals are the primary forum for scholarly communication, where scholars introduce and debate new ideas and research. They're usually not written for laymen, and assume familiarity with other recent work in the field. Journal articles also tend to be narrowly focused, concentrating on analysis of one or two creative works or studies, though they may also contain review articles or literature reviews which summarize recent published work in a field.
In addition to regular articles, academic journals often include book reviews (of scholarly books) and letters from readers commenting on recent articles.