News Collections
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searches all ProQuest newspapers to which UCLA subscribes, both current and historical newspapers from major U.S. cities (Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal), international news sources, and alternative press.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
- U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text dating back to the 1980s for five of the nation’s major newspapers, including the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.
- Time Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
The Time Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the prominent weekly news magazine dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
Video Collections/Broadcast News
- Meet the Press This link opens in a new windowIncludes streaming video of the full surviving broadcast run to date for Meet the Press (1947-present).
- Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975: Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest This link opens in a new windowThis online portal explores the period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975. It includes color images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, historical news video, ephemera and memorabilia.
- 60 Minutes: 1997-2014 This link opens in a new windowStreaming video of the CBS news magazine 60 Minutes for the years 1997–2014. Also includes bonus segments from the CBS News program Sunday Morning.
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new windowIndexes network evening news broadcasts from the major US national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989. Includes historical streaming video from NBC (since 1968) and CNN.
- TV News Archive (Internet Archive)Contains 350,000 news programs collected over 3 years from national U.S. networks and stations in San Francisco and Washington D.C. The archive is updated with new broadcasts 24 hours after they are aired.
- KTLA News Project (UCLA Film & Television Archive)Clips from the KTLA Newsfilm Collection of local and national news from Los Angeles, California, circa 1958 to 1981. Subjects include national and local politics, civil rights, and social issues.
- American Archive of Public Broadcasting (AAPB)The collection of 40,000 hours contains thousands of high quality programs that have had national impact. The vast majority of this initial American Archive content, however, consists of regional and local programs that document American communities during the last half of the twentieth century and the first decade of the twenty-first.