Skip to Main Content

Cluster 80: Frontiers in Human Aging--Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention

Searching for Articles in Journals

There are several ways to search for journal articles. You can start with UC Library Search, using the Articles, Books and more option, which searches all the databases the UCLA Library subscribes to. Or you can go to a specific database, such as APA PsycINFO, Academic Search Complete, PubMed, etc.

In either case, start with a keyword search using words relevant to your topic. When you see some articles that look interesting, click on the title to see the complete citation. If there are subject terms or descriptors, click on those that seem related to your topic to get other articles on the subject.

Searching for Journal Titles

If the item you find does not have full text online, copy the title of the journal and search for it in the UCLA Library Search. Paste the title into the Search box. Select your title from the list and see if UCLA owns the item you seek. If there is an Available Online link, you can find the full text online. When using these links be sure to check and see if the coverage includes the volume/year that you need.

Databases for Articles & More

These databases all have results if you use this basic search: (cancer epidemiology) AND aged. Each database has ways to narrow your result list -- by date of publication, limit to scholarly journals, change the search terms to be in the SUBJECT or TITLE field, etc.

Even newspapers might have information you can use -- if you want to see how the subject is presented for the general public. Several links to newspaper databases are at the bottom of this list.

class="box-in-box highlight">

  Get it at UC  is your link to full-text! Note that some sources only index journal articles—they don't actually have the full text.

For more tips, see our guide on database searching.