Getting Started
Suggestions to help guide you in your UCLA Library searches.
Library Subject Headings: This is not an exhaustive list of subject headings and is meant to provide examples of search terms.
| Music by Black composers | Hispanic American folk music |
| Music and race | Gospel music |
| Latino music | Indigenous peoples in art |
| African Americans--Music--History and criticism | Music -- South Asia |
| Music -- Asia -- History and criticism | Music -- Latin America |
Resources Licensed for UCLA
- Music Online: African American Music Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
E-book collection of reference books, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies which chronicle the history of African American music. - HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A repository of scanned books contributed from academic institutions across the United States, including UCLA. Books still in copyright are scanned and searchable, but the full text scans will not become available online until their copyright expires. - Cambridge Companions to Music This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Introductions to major composers, instruments, or musical topics. Each "companion" contains a collection of commissioned essays, selected to provide a systematic critical overview of, for example, Bach, Ballet, or Brass Instruments.
Articles and Journals
Licensed for UCLA
Key Article and Journal titles include:
- Black Music Research Journal, available from Ethnic NewsWatch and JSTOR
- The Black Perspective in Music, JSTOR
- CBMR Digest: Center for Black Music Research, Columbia College, ProQuest
- Asian Music, ProQuest
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books. - Music Online: African American Music Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
E-book collection of reference books, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies which chronicle the history of African American music. - Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals. Former database title: International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) Full Text.
Freely Available
- Artists Speak Out About Latinx Identity in Classical Musicby San Francisco Opera Staff
- Black Artists on How to Change Classical MusicInterviews by Zachary Woolfe and Joshua Barone
July 16, 2020, for the New York Times - Inclusive Views: Black VoicesBy Mara Miller
unCLASSIFIED, June 19th, 2020 - Inclusive Views: Latinx VoicesBy Mara Miller
unCLASSIFIED, September 25th, 2020 - Native American musicBy Victoria Lindsay Levine
Britannica - RUMBLE On: More Native American Musicians You Should Knowby Gregg McVicar,
Host and producer of UnderCurrents on Native Voice One
January 3, 2019, PBS
Selected E-books Licensed for UCLA
Anthology of art songs by Black American composers by
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: M1619 .A72Date: 1977Includes biographical notes on the composers.Art Songs and Spirituals by African-American Women Composers by
Call Number: M1619 .A784 1995Date: 1995Contains songs composed or arranged by Betty Jackson King, Undine Smith Moore, Julia Perry, Margaret Bonds and Florence Price.
Includes introd. and biographical notes.
Black American Music by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: ML3556 .R53b 1994ISBN: 0894648705Date: 1994This text introduces the various types of Pan-African music, from Africa to the Americas. With an emphasis upon the African American composer, this survey uses musical examples and illustrations to pinpoint influences, the slave era, the emergence of the black professional, and contemporary trends.
Experiencing Latin American Music by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: ML199ISBN: 9780520961005Date: 2018Experiencing Latin American Music draws on human experience as a point of departure for musical understanding. Students explore broad topics--identity, the body, religion, and more--and relate these to Latin American musics while refining their understanding of musical concepts and cultural-historical contexts.
International Dictionary of Black Composers by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Available online.ISBN: 1884964273Date: 1999First Published in 1999. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Piano Music by Black Women Composers by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: ML128.P3 W3 1992ISBN: 0313281416Date: 1992Proceeding from a desire to use music of black women composers in her piano performance and teaching, Helen Walker-Hill has dedicated herself to uncovering this material, utilizing secondary sources and numerous archives, conducting interviews with composers, and engaging in voluminous correspondence with individuals and institutions. The result is the most comprehensive catalog of music composed by African American women to date.
The Songs of Blind Folk: African-American Musicians and the Cultures of Blindness by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: ML3556 .R68 2009ISBN: 9780472070640Date: 2009The Songs of Blind Folk explores the ways that the lives and careers of blind and visually impaired African American musicians and singers have mirrored the changes in America's image of African Americans and the social positioning and possibilities of the entire black community. The book offers a historically grounded consideration of African American performers and their audiences, and the ways that blindness, like blackness, has affected the way the music has been produced and received.
Organizations and Festivals
- The African American Art Song AllianceFounded in 1997, this is the home of interchange between performers and scholars interested in art song by African-American composers. Here you will find information and links to assist with your discovery of our contribution to song.
- Asian American Arts AllianceThe Asian American Arts Alliance is dedicated to strengthening Asian American artists and cultural groups through resource sharing, promotion, and community building.
- Asia Society - Performing ArtsAsia Society is the leading educational organization dedicated to promoting mutual understanding and strengthening partnerships among peoples, leaders, and institutions of Asia and the United States in a global context. Across the fields of arts, business, culture, education, and policy, the Society provides insight, generates ideas, and promotes collaboration to address present challenges and create a shared future.
- BIPOC ArtsWe celebrate Black, Indigenous, and POC individuals in opera by providing a community for BIPOC opera professionals and serving as a resource for companies, collaborators, and recruiters to engage with a wide range of BIPOC talent in the field.
- Black Opera Research Network (BORN)BORN wishes to serve as a platform for conversations on the history, experiences, politics, and practices of Black opera.
- Black Trans Femmes in the Arts (BTFA Collective)BTFA is a community-based arts organization that builds community and mobilizes resources to support Black trans femme artists (artists who were assigned male-at-birth and now identify somewhere underneath the femme umbrella). We organize programming that centers and highlights Black trans femme artists, executive produce projects led by Black trans femme artists, and provide direct to support to Black trans artists.
- Center for Black Music ResearchThe Center for Black Music Research's mission is to illuminate the significant role that black music plays in world culture by
serving as a nexus for all who value Black music, promoting scholarly thought and knowledge about black music, and
providing a safe haven for the materials and information that document the black music experience across Africa and the diaspora. - Coalition For African Americans in the Performing ArtsCAAPA's vision is to help promote opportunities for Black classical musicians and others in the performing arts through arts performances, education, and outreach.
- imagineNATIVEimagineNATIVE is the world's largest presenter of Indigenous screen content. The organisation is recognised locally, nationally, and internationally for excellence and innovation in programming and as the global centre for Indigenous media arts.
- Institute for Composer DiversityThe Institute for Composer Diversity, winner of the 2018 ASCAP Deems Taylor/Virgil Thomson Media/Internet Award and housed at the State University of New York at Fredonia, is dedicated to the celebration, education, and advocacy of music created by composers from historically underrepresented groups through database resources and programming analysis.
- Jack Dappa Blues Heritage Preservation FoundationOur mission is to celebrate our heritage and preserve Blues music, as we highlight the many events in American History that cultivated our communities and musical expressions. We work to be a source of information about the living history of African American Traditional Musics and the Black Experience. Through most of our projects, content, workshops, and live events, we promote African American Literacy and the support of African American Literature.
- Latino ArtsBased in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, Latino Arts is a nonprofit organization dedicated to providing Hispanic cultural arts programming for our community and beyond.
- Musica BrasilisCreated in 2009 by Rosana Lanzelotte, researcher and PhD in Informatics, Musica Brasilis aims to rescue and broadcast Brazillian repertoires of all times, largely inaccessible due to lack of editions.
- Music by Black ComposersMusic by Black Composers (MBC) was founded in 2001 as a project of the Rachel Barton Pine Foundation, a long-standing, anti-racist organization in classical music. MBC’s mission is to help rectify historic and ongoing racial injustices in the classical music sphere.
- The National Association of Latino Arts and CulturesSince 1989, the National Association of Latino Arts and Cultures has delivered programs that stabilize and revitalize the US Latino arts and cultural sector via funding, leadership training, convenings, research, and advocacy.
- National Association of Native American MusicThe National Association of Native American Music was established in 1998 as a 501c3 to celebrate the rich music heritage of the nation's first people and educate the general public. The Association is responsible for collecting and archiving Native American Music as well as honoring those highly esteemed artists in the music and entertainment arenas into the NAMA HAll of Fame. The Association also responds to Call to Actions from various tribal communities including: suicide prevention awareness, emergency heat, Christmas toy drives, and music instrument donations to veterans with PTSD.
- The Sphinx OrganizationThe Sphinx Organization is the social justice organization dedicated to transforming lives through the power of diversity in the arts. Sphinx’s four program areas – Education & Access, Artist Development, Performing Artists, and Arts Leadership – form a pipeline that develops and supports diversity and inclusion in classical music at every level.
- VidemusWe are a non-profit arts organization committed to educational and collaborative projects on the repertoire of African American, Women and under-represented composers through the promotion and production of recordings, concerts and other programs.
Resources Freely Available
- AfriClassicalHere you will meet 52 composers, conductors and instrumental performers - Africans, African Americans and Afro-Europeans.
- Black GroovesReviews of new Black music releases, hosted by the Archives of African American Music & Culture.
- The Black Music History LibraryThis is a living collection of books, articles, documentaries, series, podcasts and more about the Black origins of traditional and popular music dating from the 18th century to present day. Resources are organized chronologically and by genre for ease of browsing.
- Northwestern University Library - Black Music Reference SourcesNorthwestern University - African American Studies: Guides, Handouts & Tutorials: Music
- Inclusive Early MusicThe Bibliography is a work in progress and benefits from users' feedback. Its main focus is the variety of contexts in which "Early Music" happened, with special attention to people who—because of race, gender, geographical origins, or social status—have been left out of the mainstream musicological narrative. The priority for the Inclusive Early Music Collective is on music before 1600.
Resources for Musicians and Composers
- Local 802 - Advancing Inclusion: Creative Ways Musicians Can Take the LeadOver the past year, orchestras have mobilized in significant ways to create pathways into the field for musicians of color. Orchestras, working together with funders, educational institutions, and professional organizations, have forged strong alliances to solidify pathways towards greater diversity. While these efforts to reach outward are crucial for advancing diversity, it is equally vital for orchestras to look inward at strengthening inclusion.
- Alliance for California Traditional Arts - Living Cultures GrantThe Living Cultures Grant Program seeks to sustain and strengthen traditional arts in the state of California with grants of $5,000 to California-based nonprofits and tribal entities, as well as other organizations who work with fiscal sponsors. Projects involving any genre of traditional art—including but not limited to dance, music, foodways, material arts, and oral traditions—are welcome.
- And We Were Heard Submission FormsIn order to expose more band and orchestra directors to the music of living composers historically marginalized by race or gender, And We Were Heard seeks to match these composers with ensembles willing to rehearse and create high-quality recordings of their work.
- Asian American Arts Alliance OpportunitiesThe Opportunities section is a resource to share and find arts-related opportunities, such as jobs and internships, as well as grants, residencies, fellowships, calls for submissions, auditions, and other creative opportunities. We invite organizations and artists to post and share their opportunities.
- BIPOC Composer and Librettist Development ProgramLoose Tea Music Theatre is pleased to announce a BIPOC Composer and Librettist Development Program. This two-year program supports the development of diverse creators new to opera and music theatre. Two (2) teams of BIPOC-identifying composers and librettists, who have not had the opportunity to explore their creative voices in opera*, will be selected to write a 30-45 minute chamber opera with support from four established composers and librettists throughout the process.
- BTFA Collective Funding ApplicationBTFA executive produces projects led by New York City-based Black trans femme artists and works with those artists on distribution and community engagement around their productions. BTFA Productions funding is only available to projects led by Black trans femmes. Projects with Black trans femmes in supporting or assisting roles only are not eligible.
- Creating in ColorCreating In Color is a meeting place for BIPOC who work in music in the theatre. That includes all musical positions: musical directors, arrangers, pit and session musicians, audio engineers, composers, lyricists, copyists, rehearsal pianists, programmers, etc. Anyone who is a person of color who is involved in the creation of music for the theatre is welcome here.
- D-Composed Remote Music LessonsInterested in beginning or continuing your string music education? Reach out to Danielle@dcomposed.com to connect you to one of our musicians for violin, viola, or cello instructors.
- imagineNATIVE List of FestivalsThe following is a list of Indigenous film/media arts festivals and other festivals that have shown strong, consistent support of Indigenous cinema.
- Musicians United For Social EquityMUSE is committed to creating diversity within the music departments of the theatre industry by providing access, internships, mentorships, and support to historically marginalized people of color.
- Music Inclusion CoalitionWe’re working to get high-quality recording equipment to low-income high schools that have students that would like to audition for music programs. If these students have the necessary resources to audition virtually, we can help remove the cost barriers that limit their ability to audition, which leads to a lack of diversity and multiculturalism within music education. We are also working to provide BIPOC and LGBTQ students with resources and mentorship that can help them grow and develop as musicians and humans.
- NALAC Fund for the ArtsThe NALAC Fund for the Arts (NFA) grant program offers various funding opportunities to Latinx artists, arts administrators, ensembles and organizations in the United States and Puerto Rico.
- Native American Composer Apprentice ProjectSince 1984, the Grand Canyon Music Festival has been dedicated to bringing the world’s finest musicians to Grand Canyon National Park in celebration of the power and beauty of this magnificent World Heritage site.
- The Sphinx Organization - Music Related Job PostingsJobs in the music industry posted to the Sphinx Organization.
Find Composers of Color
These websites are dedicated to composers of color or contain lists of composers.
- The African American Art Song Alliance - List of ComposersList of African-American composers and their biographies provided by The African American Art Song Alliance.
- African Diaspora Music ProjectA repository of concert works by composers of the African Diaspora, including information on works and composer biographies.
- BIPOC Musical Theater WritersList by Brett Ryback
- Black and Brown Composers in Latin AmericaA PDF list of 17th and 18th century composers of color divided by country of origin, including links to find their repertoire and additional bibliography.
- Brent Michael Davids, ComposerThe website of America's most celebrated American Indian Film Composer, Brent Michael Davids.
- Chamber Music America - Composers Equity ProjectA Database of ALAANA, Women, and Gender Non-Conforming Composers. Chamber Music America uses the acronym ALAANA to indicate composers who identify as African/Black, Latinx, Asian/South Asian, Arab/Middle Eastern, and Native American
- Colour of Music FestivalThe Colour of Music Festival offers a musical kaleidoscope highlighting the impact and historical significance of Black classical composers and performers on American and world culture.
- FlutronixFlutronix is Nathalie Joachim and Allison Loggins-Hull, two distinguished flutists and composers known for their “unique blend of classical music, hiphop, electronic programming and soulful vocals reminiscent of neo-R&B stars like Erykah Badu.”
- Hildegard Publishing Company Celebrates Black Women ComposersLearn more about the fascinating lives and music of a selection of these talented composers. Photographs, biographies and works are listed below.
- Jerod Impichchaachaaha’ Tate, ComposerJerod Impichchaachaaha’ Tate (Chickasaw) is a dedicated American Indian classical composer and pianist who expresses his native culture in symphonic music, ballet and opera. All of his compositions have been commissioned by major North American orchestras, ensembles and organizations and his works are performed throughout the world.
- MUSE Directory of MembersMUSE is committed to creating diversity within the music departments of the theatre industry by providing access, internships, mentorships, and support to historically marginalized people of color. We recognize the lack of opportunities particularly for Black and Brown artists looking to pursue careers in this field. Our mission is to cultivate more racial equity in high-level positions such as music direction, arranging, orchestrating, and various other jobs related to the success of theatrical productions.
- Native American ComposersBy Gail Wein - April 8, 2009, for New Music Box
- POC In AudioThis website is a growing directory of people of color who work in audio around the world. You’ll find editors, hosts, writers, producers, sound designers, engineers, project managers, musicians, reporters, and content strategists with varied experience from within the industry and in related fields.
- Resources for Diversity in Early Music RepertoireThis list was initiated by a EMA member as a list of Black composers active before 1850. EMA and the IDEA Taskforce recognizes this is not an exhaustive list of BIPOC composers.
- The Wind Repertory Project - Black ComposersList of Black composers, including biographies and lists of works.
Find Works by Composers of Color
These websites contain lists of works by composers of color. Links to find recordings or scores may be found on these lists, or you may need to search UCLA licensed databases, including the library catalog.
- African-American Organ Literature: A Selective Overviewby Mickey Thomas Terry
- Bassoon Music by Womxn, Transgender & Gender Diverse Individuals, and/or Black, Indigenous, or Persons of ColorWe’ve chosen to highlight those with the least visibility in classical and/or new music in the United States as a starting point: indigenous people, Black men, Black women, and all transgender individuals (which includes non-binary/genderqueer folks).
- Beyond Elijah Rock: The Non-Idiomatic Choral Music of Black ComposersThe following spreadsheet is a working list of the non-idiomatic choral music of black composers. In no way is it meant to be an exhaustive list. However, it serves to provide a starting point.
- BIPOC Arts Member DatabasesBIPOC Arts' lists of Pianists, Composers and Librettists, Conductors and Music Directors, Designers, Dramaturgs, Singers and Voice Teachers, Stage Directors and Producers, and Stage Managers.
- Black Composers ScoresBased on Professor Richard Greene's excellent site, "Classical Music Recordings of Black Composers", here are provided links of composers' names to library holdings of scores of Black composers of classical music.
- Black Opera Research Network List of WorksThe operas listed here provide a glimpse of the wide range of black operatic activities that have been pursued around the world and throughout history. This is not an exhaustive list; instead, we offer a selection of well-known recent works, alongside operas on which some research has already been published.
- Cuarteto Latinoamericano Virtual LibraryThis space has been created by the Cuarteto Latinoamericano with support from the National Fund for Culture and Arts of Mexico, in order to make available to the public a substantial amount of Latin American works for string quartet, in PDF format.
- Database of Music for Viola by Underrepresented ComposersThis is a small volunteer research effort by those of us who are motivated and inspired by a collective effort towards diversity, equity, and inclusion in the world of viola repertoire, and we welcome anyone interested in joining our effort. This is a living document that will continue to be updated as pieces are submitted. We are listening and welcome any errata, comments, criticism, and resources.
- Diverse Brass Composition ListThis resource was created in June 2020 to amplify the musical art of underrepresented composers and artists who have written specifically for brass instruments. As an on-going project, this resource will continually be evolving.
- Flute Music by Black ComposersIndex of flute music written by Black composers.
- Guitar Music by Black ComposersThis spreadsheet will be an ever-updating resource for music written by Black composers for guitar/other plucked instruments, updating both as older works are rediscovered and new works are commissioned.
- Institute for Composer Diversity - Works Diversity DatabaseOur Works Diversity Database allows users to search for individual compositions with numerous search filters from among over 1,600 art songs by women as well as over 2,400 works for large and small wind ensembles and over 11,000 orchestral works by underrepresented composers.
- Latin American Art Song CatalogThe purpose of this web-site is to serve as a resource for voice teachers and students who seek to include Latin American songs in their repertoire. Only vocal works with piano accompaniment are listed.
- Latin American Choral MusicTYPES OF MUSIC: On this web site you will find information about many kinds of choral music. Most, but not all of it relates to “art music” rather than world or folk music. Original compositions and arrangements are included.
- Latin Orchestral MusicThis online catalog contains over 9,000 original orchestral works by over 1,600 composers from 24 countries and territories of Latin America and the Caribbean, and serves as a bridge between the music and the composers or publishers.
- Music by Black Composers - Repertoire DirectoriesWhenever possible, they include links for acquiring the sheet music, links to recordings, and other helpful information to aid in programming.
- Orchestral Music by Women of African DescentOrchestral Music by Women of African Descent (listed alphabetically)
- Organ Works by Composers From Africa and the African DiasporaBibliography list of Organ works by composers from Africa and the African diaspora.
- Percussion Pieces by Black ComposersDatabase of percussion works written by Black composers.
- A Seat at the Piano: Promoting Inclusion in Piano Repertoire (ASAPiano)Spreadsheet of piano music by underrepresented composers.
- Sheet Music by Joseph Bologne de Saint-GeorgesArtaria Editions website to purchase sheet music by Joseph Bologne de Saint-Georges.
- The Sphinx Catalog of Latin-American Cello WorksThe Sphinx Catalog of Latin American Cello Works has been created in order to facilitate the access to information related to the work of Latin American composers centered on the cello. It is the most extensive source of its kind, with more than 2000 entries on the date of its release.
- String Repertoire by BIMOCThis is a working list of pieces for strings by Black Indigenous Musicians Of Color.
- Strings / Chamber Repertoire by BIPOC ComposersUSC's list with categories in order: Violin Concerti, Violin Etudes, Violin Pieces, Viola Concerti, Viola Pieces, Cello Concerti, Cello Pieces, Double Bass Concerti, Double Bass Pieces, Chamber Music, and Double Bass Chamber Music .
- The Wind Repertory Project - Black ComposersList of Black composers, including biographies and lists of works.
Find Musicians of Color
- The African American Art Song Alliance - List of PerformersList of African-American performers and their biographies provided by The African American Art Song Alliance.
- BIPOC Arts Member DatabasesBIPOC Arts' lists of Pianists, Composers and Librettists, Conductors and Music Directors, Designers, Dramaturgs, Singers and Voice Teachers, Stage Directors and Producers, and Stage Managers.
- Castle of our SkinsThrough carefully designed educational workshops and creative concert programs, we aim to highlight the achievements of Black artists and historical figures.
- The Chineke! FoundationChineke! was founded in 2015 by the double bass player, Chi-chi Nwanoku OBE, to provide career opportunities for young Black and Minority Ethnic (BME) classical musicians in the UK and Europe. Chineke!’s mission is: ‘Championing change and celebrating diversity in classical music’.
- Colour of Music FestivalThe Colour of Music Festival offers a musical kaleidoscope highlighting the impact and historical significance of Black classical composers and performers on American and world culture.
- D-ComposedD-Composed is a Chicago-based chamber music experience that honors Black creativity and culture through the music of Black composers. Since 2017, we have created intimate, out-of-the-box experiences that celebrate a mix of genres and sounds of Black music throughout history. We take music out of the concert halls and share it in spaces like art galleries and cafes.
- FlutronixFlutronix is Nathalie Joachim and Allison Loggins-Hull, two distinguished flutists and composers known for their “unique blend of classical music, hiphop, electronic programming and soulful vocals reminiscent of neo-R&B stars like Erykah Badu.”
- The Harlem QuartetHarlem Quartet was founded in 2006 by the Sphinx Organization. The original four members were all first prize laureates of the Sphinx Competition. The Organization wanted to create a group comprised of first place laureates to achieve the overall mission of bringing classical music to inner-city school children.
- Imani WindsCelebrating 20 years of music making, the Grammy nominated Imani Winds has led both a revolution and the evolution of the wind quintet through their dynamic playing, adventurous programming, imaginative collaborations and outreach endeavors that have inspired audiences of all ages and backgrounds. The ensemble’s playlist embraces traditional chamber music repertoire, and as a 21st century group, Imani Winds is devoutly committed to expanding the wind quintet repertoire by commissioning music from new voices that reflect historical events and the times in which we currently live.
- Mexico City Woodwind QuintetBased in the cosmopolitan Latin American capital, Mexico City Woodwind Quintet is the leading wind chamber music group in Mexico today. Like the city it represents, the Quintet’s repertory is a veritable mixture of traditional and modern works with a strong emphasis on contemporary Mexican and Latin American compositions.
- Opera EbonyOpera Ebony is an African-American opera company, which have performed Mozart in Harlem to African-American Heritage concerts in Iceland.
- Quinteto LatinoQuinteto Latino blends the vibrant colors and vigorous rhythms of Latin American music with the sumptuous voices of the wind quintet: flute, oboe, clarinet, French horn, and bassoon. Whether exploring new twists on traditional folk songs or premiering works by living composers, these five musicians perform with impeccable artistry and infectious energy – educating, enriching, and entertaining listeners of all ages and backgrounds.
- The String QueensPraised for its “authentic, soulful, and orchestral sound”, The String Queens (TSQ) is a dynamic trio that creates stimulating musical experiences that inspire diverse audiences to love, hope, feel, and imagine! With an array of repertoire spanning from the Baroque era to the Jazz Age to today’s Billboard Hot 100 Chart, TSQ performs versatile programs that transport audiences through time and a multitude of musical genres.
Audio and Video
Licensed for UCLA
- Avalon This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Avalon houses streaming audio and video collections at UCLA. Content is restricted to UCLA users and requires additional UCLA authentication for use both on and off campus via the "Sign in" link. - Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming audio recordings of mostly classical music from Naxos, Marco Polo, Da Capo, and several other major labels.
Freely Available
- ...And We Were HeardWe are giving underrepresented composers a platform to have their music heard. Composers that submit works to … And We Were Heard are matched with top-notch wind bands and engage in collaborative recording sessions. The resulting audio tracks are hosted on our site along with innovative ideas of how to support diverse voices in music.
- Afrocentric Sounds RadioA free, online radio station featuring classical music written and/or performed by the African diaspora.
- BDPI Sound RecordingsMore than 25,000 sound recordings featuring the wide variety Latin American music genres, gathered for the first time in this collection.
- D-Composed - The Sounds of Black ComposersSpotify and Apple music playlists curated by the D-composed ensemble that feature the music of Black composers.
- Native American Musicians You Should KnowIn tandem with the PBS film RUMBLE, here are more Indigenous musicians and groups that will rock your world.
- The Strachwitz Frontera Collection of Mexican and Mexican American RecordingsOver 125,000 songs celebrating North America’s Spanish-language musical heritage.